We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rude and Incompetent”
Review of The Fairplay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Fairplay Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Fairplay B&B and Inns
Reviewed 6 March 2013

If you're looking for the highest level of rudeness and incompetence, you've come to the right place.

Personal recommendation: Find a nice spot behind a dumpster where the rats will treat you better. If you have any sense you'll stay in another hotel or sleep your car.

Room Tip: Try sleeping in your car.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Terrance W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (83)
There are newer reviews for The Fairplay Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

62 - 68 of 83 reviews

Reviewed 15 December 2012

Honestly there is no bad things about this Hotel! Food is fantastic, owner and staff are very polite to EVERYONE. Rooms are always cleaned, they are very cozy and professional looking, the sheets towels and bathrooms are perfect! These rooms have a great price on them one you can't beat. and has for the water there is PLENTY of hot water you just have to follow directions. The bar is amazing good music, awesome drinks, well manered staff. Amazing chefs who know how to cook a good meal. So if your looking for a place to stay in fairplay Colorado this is the one!!!!

Room Tip: Room 110 and 227 our my favorite rooms and I think you will love them too!!!!
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kefwrsejs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2012

If you are a historian, this is a place you would love. Take a step back in time to the 1800s where gold rushers were spending their winnings over gambling tables and other means of entertainment. Beautiful views, conveniently located near the ski resorts. Checked out the town, all in walking distance.

Staff was helpful and responsive to all our needs. Food was very good.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lynda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2012

When you walk into the lobby of this 1920's hotel the decor will travel you back in time to the days of the wild west. Some say the ghosts of previous owners, guests, and area miners still haunt the place! Black and white pictures of the building hang on the wall reminding you that the building is older than your grandparents, this is the real deal. The bar is a beautifully constructed original from the area and period.

The beds are clean and comfortable, the food is great, and the bar is waiting for you. One of the few hotels I've ever been to that offers a few pet friendly rooms for a small fee.

Walking distance to the restored mining town museum and local shops. Only 25 miles to Breckenridge and all of Summit County. Plenty of hiking, biking, skiing, fishing, and prospecting to be had. Quick and easy drive from Denver on 285.

This isn't your resort hotel with a spa and people to tell you your special. This is an owner operated hotel with tons of character. A great option if your feeling more adventurous and don't require the amenities of a big chain hotel. Stay at the Valiton, save some money, and treat yourself to something a little different.

Room Tip: Room 218 has a resident ghost!
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2012

The room i stayed in had no shower head. I was provided with a shower head that "I" had to install. The shower door was broken. The sign on the bathroom wall stated to "leave the water running for 5 minutes" and I would have all the hot water I would need. I left the water on for nearly 45 minutes and the water barely got above the "cold" temperature. I needed a shower so I forced myself under the frigid water for as long as I could stand it (which wasn't long). I exited the shower shivering and a little blue in color.. Not a pleasant experience!!!!!
The television, lamp and alarm clock were all unplugged. I had to trace down the extension cord and plug these items in myself..
The remote for the cable television would not work. I luckily found the box it came in - in the closet. I was able to locate the users manual in the box and had to actually program the remote myself.
I thought I had stayed in some less than desireable places in my time, but this hotel absolutely tops them all..
I was not offered a different room nor any type of discount from the owner for these terrible accommodations. I even left a note for the owner regarding the issues and thought maybe, just maybe I would receive a phone call or something but that call never came.
I will NEVER return to this hotel and will most definitely spread the word in regards to my experience there.
My recommendation is that you don't waste your time or hard earned money at this establishment.

Room Tip: a room at a different hotel is what I suggest
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2012

Spent one night here to be close to a trail head for hiking the next day. It is old which is nice for character but not so nice for amenities such as hot water, and wash cloths. After running the water for over 5 minutes it was just barely warm. We had to ask for wash cloths which the owner said she would have to "dig up". Not a welcome image. The restaurant in the hotel served great food but be prepared for the deafening noise of wait staff walking across the squeaky wood floor. One item we would put on our wish list is either a coffee pot in the room or coffee available early in the restaurant.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with quick delivery of hot water.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank daytrippinghiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2012

If you're looking for all the amenities, this isn't the place for you! BUT, of you want to stay in an authentic old west hotel, you will LOVE this hotel! The staff is friendly and great, many locals work here. The rooms are so inviting and charming! The lobby is beautifully decorated, complete with wooden floors that creak. They have an awesome saloon and a nice restaurant with a good selection. Best of all, they do know how to make real drinks and not just sugared down versions! They do exist in the 21st century and offer wifi and cable tv. My husband and I were delighted to find such an authentic western hotel with good service and good food so near to Denver yet still away from Denver. This is a great choice for a romantic get away!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HeidiRaeH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fairplay
0.7 mi away
A Riverside Inn Hotel
A Riverside Inn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Fairplay
137 reviews
15.6 mi away
Delaware Hotel
Delaware Hotel
#1 of 8 in Leadville
284 reviews
17.6 mi away
The Village Hotel
The Village Hotel
#16 of 23 in Breckenridge
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.4 mi away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#5 of 8 in Leadville
310 reviews
23.9 mi away
Arrowhead Point Campground & Cabins
15.8 mi away
Columbine Inn & Suites
Columbine Inn & Suites
#6 of 8 in Leadville
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fairplay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairplay Hotel

Address: 500 Main Street, Fairplay, CO 80440 (Formerly Fairplay-Valiton Hotel)
Region: United States > Colorado > Fairplay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Fairplay
Price Range: £64 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Fairplay Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your The Fairplay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing