We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not so good”
Review of Dorothy's Homemade Tamales - CLOSED

Dorothy's Homemade Tamales
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
314 reviews
195 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 265 helpful votes
“Not so good”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

These are overrated tamales. Very few options were available and were not that great. And the restaurant's tables are in the lobby of a bowling alley. Would not return.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 2462skiing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    5
    3
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado, United States
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Nothing special this trip....”
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Reviews are too kind. We stopped for carry-out at lunch. The tamales are nothing special and the green chile soup was gelatinous with stringy pork....very strange! Service was poor. RD's Diner in Buena Vista has much better green chile than Dorthy's!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KimboMax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton Colorado
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Great Tamales, Service Not So Much”
Reviewed 29 August 2013

The tamales were great and my husband liked his breakfast burrito. This appears to be a family operation and I think everyone is trying hard to get everyone served, but I think they need more help.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank coloradopolitico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Tamales: excellent. Breakfast: not so much”
Reviewed 17 July 2013 via mobile

Have been to Dorothy's many times for tamales (the BEST!), but had breakfast today for the first & last time. Over cooked, rubbery eggs, under cooked home fries, & burnt toast. We'll be back, but only for tamales.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank DanaPointMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alma, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“unbelievable tamales! service ok last time finally!”
Reviewed 17 June 2013

I've been a repeat customer for years (even when it was in Hartsel) because you can't beat these tamales. We get the spicy chz tamales with vegetarian sauce or pork/green chili. My husband is a chef--these recipes are impossible to re-create! This is one of the few restaurants we happily go to on a regular basis. We never dine in--service too slow and crappy. To go orders are always successful and timely :-) last time, they were even friendly enough for small talk!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lindsay L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dorothy's Homemade Tamales also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing