We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Eck!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mason's High Country BBQ

Mason's High Country BBQ
Ranked #7 of 20 Restaurants in Fairplay
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout
Jackson, Wyoming
Level Contributor
35 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Eck!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

Save your time and money if a smoker ain't going prolly shouldn't call it a bbq restaurant. Bad Poole. Pretty sure sides came from grocery store down the road.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mtchef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    23
    5
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
71 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Stop Here!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

This is a mom and pop operation (literally, mom makes the sides and takes orders, dad cooks BBQ and plates the food). The meat is perfect. It is tender, it isn't overspiced, the brisket has beautiful smoke rings. The sides were also amazing. You must try the greens. I never thought I would write that, but they are amazing. The prices are a touch high, but the quality of food matches the price. My daughter loved the Orange Dream float for desert, we loved the cobbler.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank balldred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
251 reviews
153 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Good Barbeque in Fairplay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

Located just east of the intersection of 285 and Hwy 9, this 'mom 'n pop' Barbeque serves very good sandwiches (pulled pork, beef, sausage, etc.) and the side dishes are good too. Not the cheapest (sandwiches for 2 + sides rand $22), consider getting the 'family portions' if you have several people. Also, the seating area is fairly limited inside but they have a couple of picnic tables outside if it's a nice day. One of the owners was serving the day we went - she's a very outgoing personality and strikes up a friendship with everyone coming in - makes you feel very welcome. Since barbeque places are hard to find in Summit county, we'll keep this one in mind for next time.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CC C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arapaho
Level Contributor
432 reviews
218 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“"Holy Smokes"”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

What a great place for BBQ, we stopped in for lunch and were really surprised by the quality of the food. The pulled pork was very tender and had a great flavor, the German sausage was some of the best we have had in a long time. We have never had cole slaw like this, it had a mustard mayonnaise sauce on it that was really good. If we are in the area again we will stop.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Larry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakewood, Colorado
Level Contributor
129 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Unique Mountain BBQ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

Stopped in here on our trip back to Denver from Breckenridge. Yeah, you can get off the beaten path and avoid I70 to see some "real" Colorado.

I'm assuming it was the owners who took our order and prepared the food and they were wonderfully friendly and nice. They made us feel very welcome and chit-chatted with us. Ours was a group of four and two of us ordered the pulled pork sandwich, one the brisket sandwich, and I got the ribs. All of the meat was done to perfection. The Pork and Beef was melt in your mouth tender and the ribs almost fell off the bone.

My wife and I immediately disagreed about the BBQ sauce. The sauce seemed to be an east-coast style, vinegar based, sauce which my wife LOVED. I'm not quite as much a fan of vinegar based sauces so for me it wasn't as good. The sauce did, however, make the side of beans (home made with three different types of beans) taste delicious! The slaw was also homemade and very tasty.

If you're in Fairplay and want some BBQ, this place has some great food, especially if you like vinegar-based BBQ Sauces.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank FlyingSux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mason's High Country BBQ also viewed

 

Been to Mason's High Country BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing