We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great dinner!”
Review of El Monte Grill & Lounge - CLOSED

El Monte Grill & Lounge
Price range: US$9 - US$18
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Business meetings, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: College and Prospect
Transit: Future development will have the Mason Street corridor at our back door. RTD bus stop with-in 3 blocks.
Reviewed 4 March 2014

El Monte has a fun, relaxed atmosphere, great service Nd delicious food. The margaritas are not my foavorite but the Esteban is spectacular! A great place to enjoy a relaxed dinner.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank SusieQ2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate S, General Manager at El Monte Grill & Lounge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Susan,

We are so happy you enjoyed El Monte as much as we do. We do have a great cocktail selection and you're bound to find something that helps you unwind! Hope to see you again soon!

Kate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (132)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

29 - 33 of 132 reviews

Reviewed 30 December 2013

My girlfriend and I used to be regulars to El Monte. We always sat in the bar and depending on who was working the service was either great or horrible. Whenever Katelyn was working we would sit at our table and wait for ten to fifteen minutes for her to stop as she passed by several dozen times to take our orders. Last time we were in she ignored us for well on 15 minutes when there was only two other tables seated and a couple at the bar. This was not a busy time for the two bartenders working. My girlfriend finally flagged her down to get our order in. She was unfriendly and made us feel like we were inconviencing her. My girlfriend and I always tipped well in the hopes that next time our service would be better. However, after talking to some friends who also eat here, we discovered her poor behaviour wasn't just with us. There are lots of restaurants in Fort Collins and we don't need to put up with rude service.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank JohnTL56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate S, General Manager at El Monte Grill & Lounge, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2014

Thank you so much for your feedback. Everything you listed was shared with our team. We are always looking for ways to be better and show our community how much we value them. Hope to see you again soon and give you the best service in Ft. Collins.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2013

El Monte has quickly taken a turn for the worse. It really used to be something to look forward to, but now, the creativity in the food has vanished and the menu has devolved into the same mediocre, flavorless junk you can get everywhere else for a more reasonable price. They took the ribeye off the menu. I mean, it's as if they're trying to fail now.

The server was a touch absent minded, and the manager appeared to be doing nothing useful. The kitchen looked like it was barely in use, just pulling pre-made items out of warming trays like Chipotle...but with lots less flavor. The rice and beans were terrible, just barely seasoned. Tacos were bland, mahi torta was very dry with only hints of flavor, and the kids' food was just a joke.

That said, the bar is still in full swing, I still like the atmosphere, and they're not slacking on the guacamole. But I can do that stuff myself, so I think we're done here. The quality's just gone.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank BlakKat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate S, General Manager at El Monte Grill & Lounge, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2013

Dear Blakkat,

Thank you for your review and your honest feedback. We always hope to wow and impress you and it seems that we didn't do that for you when you were in here.

El Monte is such a unique restaurant and we hope that everything on our menu impresses you. We apologize that your favorite wasn't on it--but we do have steak and relleno every weekend as a special. What I can assure you of is that El Monte is 100% scratch made kitchen and we do not cook anything until it is ordered, we apologize if something mislead you.

Your feedback was shared to the team and we do hope to see you again. Please come in and ask for a manager and we'd be happy to talk about the menu with you and hopefully share our excitement for what we do with you.


Kate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

The food is wonderful and unique for this area. There is a great atmosphere (it is operated by the same owners as The Rio in town).

Thank Efdmondson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate S, General Manager at El Monte Grill & Lounge, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2014

Thank you- we love to be different from anywhere else in Ft. Collins! We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2013

This is a creative outlet of the Rio Grande restaurant, so food is always creative and very tasty. We liked the very innovative guacamole with strawberries, delicious. Dined with group of 7 people on a Friday night, so it was busy, quite disorganized. The sound system needs a major overhaul as it is very scratchy and the restaurant is quite loud. Service staff must be all new, we had no fewer than 5 mistakes in the delivery of food, which kept being routed to various tables indiscriminately while it got cold on the plate. Drinks came very slowly. Overall it was acceptable, and is worth the effort and cost, need patience. Just number the tables and educate the wait staff on how to serve people properly, then you would have much better results.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank JGA1333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate S, General Manager at El Monte Grill & Lounge, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2013

Dear JGA1333,

First off, thank you for choosing El Monte for your party! We value our customers opinions and we are having the stereo looked at to troubleshoot the sound problems. We will definitely have it fixed by your next visit!

Also, service is incredibly important to us here at El Monte, your opinion was shared to the management team and we are working very diligently at improving our training for those delivering food and beverage and those serving.

We thank you for choosing us and appreciate your time in giving us your opinion.

We hope to see you again soon!


Kate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed El Monte Grill & Lounge also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing