We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fun Place for Kids and Adults”
Review of Fossil Creek Park

Fossil Creek Park
Ranked #23 of 109 things to do in Fort Collins
Attraction details
Corrales, New Mexico
Level Contributor
156 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Fun Place for Kids and Adults”
Reviewed 14 March 2013

Our son, daughter-in-law and granddaughters live in Fort Collins, Colorado. We believe Fort Collins is one of the most family-friendly cities in the US. Whenever we visit from New Mexico we usually take the granddaughters over to Fossil Creek Park. The design is very unique, incorporating the dinosaur them. The play attractions are varied and plenty for little ones and older kids. The setting is very open so kids can run and play without worry they will run into each other. There is plenty of open, green grass space and a very good dog park. Highly recommended.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Dan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    7
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
59 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good dog park and playground”
Reviewed 3 January 2013

We used the park for taking our dogs for exercise. There is also a nice playground area for young children. For older kids, there is a skateboarding area, tennis courts, and baseball fields.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loveland, Colorado
Level Contributor
100 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fossil Creek Park”
Reviewed 30 August 2012

I enjoyed the wide open spaces; There was a lot of peace and quiet which is what I wanted that day. It is in a convenient location.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Helen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arvada, CO
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Peaceful and beautiful!”
Reviewed 21 August 2012

The Fossil Creek Park is a beautiful, secluded bird sanctuary on a lake with the mountains in the background (conveniently located off of I25 at Carpenter/Timberline Roads S of Fort Collins. For walking, biking and just reflecting, it is second-to-none. There are also educational events that looked terrific!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Patricia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Memorable park!”
Reviewed 18 July 2012

We visited this park two years ago on a family trip and my kids have mentioned it many times since. Recently, we were back in Fort Collins and went to Fossil Creek Park again. The playground has unique play structures and the kids can climb on a giant mammoth. There is a long slide that is reached by a staircase. My kids are 3, 7 and 9 and all three had fun at the park. The only downside is the lack of shade in the play area. The play equipment can get hot.

My kids loved running up and down the grassy hills. There is a small splash area that helped the kids cool off after playground time.

There is a path around a pond and we saw many people jogging and walking on the path. The park is well-kept and has decent bathroom and picnic facilities.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank FamilyTrucksterTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fossil Creek Park also viewed

Fort Collins, CO
Fort Collins, CO
 

Been to Fossil Creek Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing