We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best in Fo Co”
Review of Cafe de Bangkok

Cafe de Bangkok
Ranked #36 of 601 Restaurants in Fort Collins
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: This is a great small restaurant with the best Thai i've found in Fort Collins area. Their address and phone is as follows 1232 West Elizabeth Street Fort Collins, CO 80521-4567 I think other will enjoy this place as much as we did on our visit! (970) 672-8127
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
55 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Best in Fo Co”
Reviewed 24 February 2014

We loved this place it was fantastic! We ordered a lot of apps and soup and 2 entrees! Everything was great and came out fast and hot. It's a hole in the wall place in a strip mall so you know it's gunna be great! We will be back!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rossSavannahGa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    19
    7
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
52 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great Hidden Gem”
Reviewed 20 February 2014

I've never had anything less than a great meal here. It was recommended to me by a Malaysian friend (who eats here at least once a week), and the dishes are always fresh, hot, and delicious. Over time, I've also introduced this place to several friends (some of whom are picky eaters), and everyone agreed that they loved the food, too. The restaurant is rather tiny, so I always try to go during a non-peak time to avoid the crowds, but the food is worth a wait. Definitely the best Thai in the FoCo area.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JMB1209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
99 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Classic "hole in the wall" local excellence!”
Reviewed 5 October 2013

We've heard a couple good remarks about CdB and decided to put it up against our usual Thai hangout, and we were not disappointed! My go-to dish is a Massaman Curry (gang massaman), and this one was wonderful! Beef, potatoes and peanuts in a thicker peanut sauce was absolutely delicious. A "moderate" spice level was equivalent to a jalapeno-based sauce, and had just the right "burn" to bring out all the different flavors in the dish. A slightly different mix of flavors was in the Pineapple Fried Rice, which included bell pepper, pineapple, raisins, and cashews. "She" ordered it mild, but the dish is incredibly flavorful anyway. And the menu is long, presenting the conundrum of deciding how often to return to try more dishes, versus enjoying our usual place.
Be aware that there are only 9-10 tables, seating about 35 diners, but if you arrive at the wrong time, it's worth waiting. Service seemed a little slow at first, until we realized that only a few tables had been served - we were last in a line of people who had arrived right at Friday dinnertime. And, it appeared that the Thai couple in the kitchen were giving individual, loving attention to each dish. No mass production here!
We also noticed a Scene magazine award on the wall, for "Best Serving Size." Initially we were curious what was up with that, but then saw that the "entrees" being served to other tables were huge and being shared across two plates. The presentation of the entrees is lovely as well.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank doulos8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St.Cloud, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
68 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Fantastic Thai food at a great price”
Reviewed 29 August 2013 via mobile

I am always in search of good Thai food in central USA., and they are hard to find. This has to be one of the best I have tasted. The information in the restaurant speaks of the owner/ head chef having a great deal of experience cooking a variety of Thai food.

We had Pad Thai and a curry, both well deserving of the 5 stars I have given. Everything was very fresh and obviously freshly cooked. Very relaxed atmosphere and great service. Average price was about $11 an entree. If you like Thai food I would highly recommend a stop at this resturaunt.

It was about 5 miles off of I-25.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Aron-UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Level Contributor
32 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Best Thai Food in US? Definitely a contender! Surprised? Me too.”
Reviewed 28 August 2013

While traveling through Fort Collins with cycling buddies, we were in search of something other than typical roadside diners. Cafe de Bankok was a great find!
Restaurant was filled with people who appears to be passionately enjoying their food. We opted for Beef Salad, Pad Thai, Red Curry w/chicken, and Basil stir fry w/pork. Each dish had unique and well-rounded flavors. This is not some chain that churns out blah. These dishes were amazing!
This is the best Thai food I've had outside of SF. Better than anything I've found in Boston, DC, or NYC.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank DiscerningTraveler10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe de Bangkok also viewed

Fort Collins, CO
 

Been to Cafe de Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing