We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I am addicted to this river”

Ranked #2 of 106 things to do in Fort Collins
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Colorado's only designated National Wild and Scenic River provides thrilling whitewater and paddling adventures.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“I am addicted to this river”
Reviewed 3 August 2014

I have been running the Poudre for 12 years now and I still look forward to every trip to it as much as the first one. It has been through floods and fires and always returns to it's majestic beauty. Would be happy to spend the rest of my life here.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Doug50266
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    212
    45
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
midwest
Level Contributor
61 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Stunning Drive Up the Canyon”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We stayed in a beautiful cabin (another review) in May of 2014. Even during a rainy week, the canyon was BEAUTIFUL! The drive along twisting roads along the river was exhilarating and relaxing all at the same time. The drive up into the canyon past Mishawaka Amphitheater into Rustic is positively stunning. We hiked a short distance from the Hewlett-Gulch Trailhead. It was definitely worth a few hours of the day. Didn't have an opportunity to raft or camp due to storms and high water during our visit, but will definitely go back our first chance. The area left such an impact, that we are planning a move to the Ft.Collins/Boulder area in the future. Not to be missed!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank MWsogetthis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
448 reviews
93 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Great Motorcycle Route”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

This is a great area. Roads are nice and twisty following the river through the canyon. There are some areas where you can pull off and take pictures or watch people rafting in the river. Watch after a heavy rain there can be sand and gravel at the corners. Enjoy.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank CS P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Coast, Florida
Level Contributor
500 reviews
105 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
“What a beautiful canyon”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Rafting in July ...water is really high..you can also tube on lower parts of the river. Not to be missed

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Patrick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sioux City, Iowa
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Whitewater fun!”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We booked a level II-III whitewater trip down the Poudre through Wanderlust - it was a good choice both for the guides and the level of experience needed. We had a great guide, Pedro, and he was friendly and helpful. The river was pretty high, but he guided us first-timers through the rough spots without a hitch! This river winds through some beautiful country, and there was enough calm water to enjoy that, with plenty of whitewater to stay engaged in the paddling! Highly recommended for a family group or group of friends!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank dannolisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cache La Poudre River also viewed

 

Been to Cache La Poudre River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing