We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One the worst experiences we ever had!”
Review of Sanford's Grub and Pub - CLOSED

Sanford's Grub and Pub
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Level Contributor
51 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“One the worst experiences we ever had!”
Reviewed 30 July 2013

We should have known when we walked it - two hostesses and four waitresses were at the front desk, standing there and not saying anything. We had to ask to be seated. We ordered adult drinks, which were woefully lacking in liquor. Our waitress tried to present a pleasant face, but it was clear that the restaurant was NOT performing well. We ordered our entrees, waited 45 minutes and had to ask then what the status of our dinner was. Our waitress was apologetic, it didn't help our orders weren't correct nor good in taste. The manager was not available. We just wanted to get out of there ASAP. When we returned to our hotel, we called back to Sanford's, asking to talk to the manager - it took 15 minutes to get him. We told him of our displeasure, he said he had problem in his kitchen - no kidding. We asked and he refused to reduce our check. We will NEVER go back to Sanford's and were severely disappointed in our experience!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    11
    9
    7
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Milton FL
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Awesome”
Reviewed 17 July 2013

Just a walk from our hotel. The service and food were excellent!!!!! Our server went out of her way to make sure that all of our needs were met. We will come back the next time that we travel through! Thanks!!!!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank JJM1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chicago
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“SUPER EXCELLENT SERVICE”
Reviewed 3 July 2013

My husband and I checked in at comfort suites. We were in a motorcycle and we didn't like to ride our bike to go to the restaurant (we would have stayed in the hotel but they don't have the channel for the black hawks payoffs). Anyway, we were calling the cab but was on hold for so long when my husband called the restaurant and made a request. He said that if someone can pick us up since it's difficult for me to walk (slightly handicap) so we can watch the game and eat at their pub and the manager (Aiden Sinclair) said he was going to pick us up. Less than 10mins. he was there and we handed him a tip for his trouble didn't accept. He said if we are ready to get back to just let him know he will drive us back. Our waiter was very nice too. We enjoyed watching the game, drinking beer and they have a fantastic food. Try the deep fried cheesecake. It's super good! We tell this experience to all our friends. This kind of customer service is off the charts. Good food and good story to tell.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kaksi7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
80 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Nice beer deals, decent food”
Reviewed 27 June 2013

Went here on a Wednesday evening for the $3 beer deals. They have a very wide-selection of beers on tap and in bottles, and the food was decent. Our server was very young and didn't really know anything about the beers, which I thought was an oversight on her training, as FOCO is such a beer-tourist town. Otherwise, a pleasant visit.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank TravelBug777NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johnstown, Colorado
Level Contributor
151 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Food & Service”
Reviewed 16 April 2013

Went for a late lunch. Two big parties being served in dining area by one waitress. Took over an hour & half to get our food. When it finally came it was cold. For money, it was poor food, poor service with not even an apology. I won't be going back anytime soon.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ed50_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sanford's Grub and Pub also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing