We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Salsa supreme”
Review of Tortilla Marissa

Tortilla Marissa
Ranked #100 of 605 Restaurants in Fort Collins
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Fort Collins, CO
Level Contributor
130 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Salsa supreme”
Reviewed 3 February 2012


Great food, Great salsa. Creative. not your average Mexican food. This has been a fsamily favorite for years!

Give it a try!

Helpful?
Thank Gail3207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    22
    3
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
52 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Stopped going here.”
Reviewed 19 January 2012

I used to go to Tortilla Marissa's fairly often, but the last few times I went there, I was struck by the ordinaryness of everything. The food was not bad, but just not good either. The traditional dishes I used to like seemed to have a "metallic" taste that just put me off. It is a cute little restaurant on S. College. The service was always good, but I have basically stopped going there, because I would walk away disappointed.

Helpful?
Thank DoctorRob1223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
26 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Worst Mexican food we've had in Ft. Collins”
Reviewed 27 December 2011

My husband and our two small children ate here about a week ago and we were beyond disappointed. The place was deserted--there were maybe 3 tables full on a weekend night, and it still took our server over 10 minutes to greet us and take our drink order. After we had ordered, he forgot our salsa and chips eventhough our children were screaming because they were so hungry. Once the salsa arrived, we tasted it and were very disappointed. The salsa tasted very old--several days old--and was not good at all. The chips were stale. My husband ordered fajitas and they were terrible. The onions and green peppers did not have a nice char to them like you usually see, and the chicken was obviously pre-cooked, frozen, then thawed and sliced in large pieces. It was obviously not cooked with the onions and peppers because it had no flavor and was tough. Out kids's meals were not good either and their cheese enchiladas were the tiniest thing you've ever seen! My quesadilla was pretty good except it was really greasy. We will NEVER go back there...yuck!!!!!

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wawhite716
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
247 reviews
186 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Chile relleno is money!”
Reviewed 4 November 2011

When we lived in FC this was our place. The food is Very good. The cooked salsa took some getting use too...but it's good.

The chile relleno are absolutely the best. The green chili smothered is awesome. Get the Ole #8...you can't got wrong. We miss this place and FC.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Scissorkickers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westminster, Colorado
1 review
“SORRY...BUT GOOD MEXICAN FOOD DOES NOT EXIST AT TORTILLA MARRISA”
Reviewed 19 October 2011

I cannot believe that this place has been open for 24 years...Really! Who is kidding who? The atmosphere was cute, but totally dated. The staff was friendly and accommodating, but that was it. The complimentary chips appeared to be a bonus and a nice first impression, but then I dipped my chip into a warm tomato salsa. Gross!!!! I don't mean that it was just warm, but they actually heat up the salsa. Weird, and not tasty ay all. I ordered a bowl of green chili & a beef taco and my girlfriend ordered a guacamole tostada and the blue corn tortilla cheese enchilada. The "bowl" of green chili was buried in cheese and who knows what else and about the size of a kittens milk bowl. The taco was just a bit less than disgusting. The dry tasteless meat hung with me for hours after we left. A horrible taco with a small portion of beans and rice will cost you $6.00...but I guess you will get some warm salsa with it. My girlfriend liked the rice, but her guacamole tostada had a layer of beans on the bottom. What? GUACAMOLE is not re-fried beans Marissa! We asked the staff about the combination and they nicely replaced it with another, less the beans. Bottom line...if this is the best Mexican food that Fort Collins has to offer, I would quit eating Mexican food in Fort Collins.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank scott s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tortilla Marissa also viewed

 

Been to Tortilla Marissa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing