We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quaint Cafe”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Backporch Cafe

The Backporch Cafe
Ranked #3 of 14 Bakeries in Fort Collins
Price range: US$7 - US$15
Cuisines: American, Cafe, Southwestern, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Backporch Café, established in 1997 by Mike Cooper, was originally a small pie and coffee shop called "Sweetie Pie." After purchasing "Sweetie Pie," Mike reached out to his regulars for suggestions. The name Backporch Café was the one that stuck out. At the time, the area everyone knows as our main dining room was actually a deck that provided outdoor seating. Our indoor seating was available at our bar top or in the back room by our neighboring shop "Lamb Spun." So the name "Backporch Café" seemed a suitable name. At the Backporch Café, we take pride in delivering to our guests our own homemade bread, cinnamon rolls, muffins, biscuits, pies, hamburger buns, dinner rolls, and quiches from our bakery. Where still to this day, owner Mike Cooper bakes from scratch all of these favorites. We even work tirelessly on feeding and keeping our own starter alive. Aside from bringing you fresh baked goods, we smoke all our own meats from pulled pork, pork chops, and pork ribs to chicken and sometimes salmon. We also make our own breakfast sausage and chorizo sausage. It can be a daily chore, but we find it to be well worth it. Even the green chili everyone loves to smother their favorite breakfast items in is made in house daily. We take pride in what we do and want our guests to have the best we can provide, not only in food, but in service as well. Thank you for dining with us. We hope you enjoy!
Loveland, Colorado
Level Contributor
100 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Quaint Cafe”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2012

Quaint cafe which shares space with Lambspun, a great yarn shop. Visiting is always a well rounded experience, shopping, casual lunch on the patio, Ah...

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Helen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    15
    15
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Laporte, Colorado
Level Contributor
108 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great cafe atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2012

If you like being in a active and bustling place this is for you. The Back Porch has a varied menu and the choice of indoor and outdoor seating in their garden area. Winter would be indoor only. The cafe is part of the same building as the Lambspun store which features knitting and spinning fibers. There is an indoor connection to Lambspun and the wife can go shop while the husband hangs i the cafe. A great arrangement.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank dougp01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rocklin, California
Level Contributor
124 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Popular spot for more than people”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2012

Our hosts recommended and made reservations here on a Sat. morning. There was a line that was forming and demand was growing for tables at 10:30A. Our waiter was friendly, made himself at home at our table and sat down to take our order. The coffee came quickly and was good if not overly hot. Ok, in my world mainly good coffee that is almost hot is better than hot not so good coffee so we are ok so far. The food comes and the portions on the bean and veggie breakfast burritos are enormous. My spinach quiche with fruit salad was close to 9 bucks by itself, no bread came with it so I ordered a side of homemade wheat toast. The quiche was good, yet compared to the burritos small in portion size. The bread was delicious and two slices came as a side. My fruit that day was mainly melons and not very flavorful. The flys that were at our outdoor table were obnoxious! I quietly and politely asked the waiter at one point if he could bring a fan out that could blow on the table to eleminate the flys. His comment was, "I will see if I can round one up." No apology for the fly problem, and sadly no further help or acknowledgement of my request. Everyone of the 6 people at our table spent breakfast batting away flies. I didn't pay for this meal as a guest of friends. If I were to go again, I would make a reservation, sit inside where there is even less charm and a floor that needed vacumning back to the ladies room, just to avoid the fly problem they have and pretend doesn't exist.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sourdoe2u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riverton, Wyoming
Level Contributor
56 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2012

It has been a pleasure over my years of traveling to Fort Collins to watch the Back Porch grow into a highly popular locals' favorite. It is a great little gem and deserves their success. Homemade breads, great juice for breakfast, expresso...never a bad choice on the menu.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Cpyles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napa
Level Contributor
104 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2012

We had a living social coupon so our meal was very reasonable for 3- cost $14. The rye bread is superb and the chicken & red pepper sauce wrap is excellent!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hawk4sea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Backporch Cafe also viewed

 

Been to The Backporch Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing