We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super cute!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Armstrong Hotel
Ranked #6 of 30 Hotels in Fort Collins
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
85 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Super cute!”
Reviewed 14 September 2013 via mobile

Loved these rooms. I felt like I was in a B&B. Antique furniture was beautiful. I loved that it was right on top of some great restaurants (with access from inside of the hotel). The cat lounging at the front desk makes the whole experience that much more unique.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mandabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    170
    122
    18
    5
    8
See reviews for
61
137
22
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviewed 8 September 2013 via mobile

We held a day and a half business meeting at the Armstrong Hotel with a large group. The hotel staff was very helpful and were a tremendous support for our meeting. The rooms were comfortable and well appointed. The food was also very good. I plan to return for a leisure visit. Well done

Stayed September 2013
Helpful?
Thank William G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Illinois
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

We love the Armstrong! This is our second time staying there and I swear I wanted to go back to Ft. Collins just so we could stay there again. It's a beautiful, classic hotel that has been restored perfectly. We had a great room with an extremely comfortable king-size bed. The linens were first class and the pillows so comfy, all very high quality. It was very clean and just had a good feel about it.
The people at the front desk were very friendly and helpful and more than willing to make our stay as comfortable as possible.
We ate both breakfast and lunch at the attached deli and both meals were delicious. And the lounge/cocktail bar downstairs was fantastic. We spent the evening down there having classic cocktails, great small plate appetizers and listened to sultry jazz with piano and bass. A step out of time.

Room Tip: You can view all the rooms online before booking which allows you to choose exactly what you want...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KittyPaws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Historic hotel renovated to be more modern with a modern design, a stylish kitchenette. We had a nice, clean and bright room in the month of October. Seemed very secure with a friendly cat inthe lobby.

A little noisy since it is downtown where the college students and all ages hang out, but not too bad, really.

Good restaurants nearby and great coffee shop next door.

Highly recommended for the slightly adventure-ish type, who don't want the usual corporate hotel experience and don't mind a little noise.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tsain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
70 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2013

I loved my stay at The Armstrong Hotel!
The rooms are quaint and well appointed...I stayed in room 203 and it was just the right size for 1 person. The bathroom was spotless and I really appreciated the environmentally conscious soap and shampoo/conditioner dispensers. The toiletries smell fantastic!
I always make sure to carve out some gym time on trips and was disppointed to hear that there were no facilities on site. However, The Armstong has partnered with The Old Town Athletic Club and offers free passes for its customers. It was a short walk away and it was awesome! You can get a great workout if you go here, but you will also surely get a feel for how friendly the city is. I chatted with some locals who offered great breakfast recommendations, there were free samples of homemade hummus, coffee, and other treats. I loved this gym as much as the hotel itself.
Only issue I had staying here was the in-room AC unit that got disconnected. The front desk was more than happy to fix the problem, but the room had already gotten pretty toasty.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JessZoladz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zionsville, Indiana, United States
Level Contributor
264 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

My family and I spent three nights at the Armstrong Hotel while visiting a group of friends for a long weekend in Fort Collins. We had two rooms - a 2 room suite as well as single queen room. The rooms were fairly sparse but certainly comfortable and clean - although we spent most of our time enjoying the many activities, restaurants and breweries in the area. The hotel is more of a large boutique hotel with a certain endearing quirkiness (friendly cat wandering around the lobby, restored from an old historic building, historical signs, bikes to loan/rent and free pixie sticks for the kids on the front counter, etc.) The location was excellent within easy walking distance of all kinds of shops, restaurants, etc. in the Old Town area. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MJN63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, MO
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2013 via mobile

Our family of four stayed at the Armstrong Hotel for two nights and we had a great time. It really was close to everything which made eating and looking around Ft. Collins very easy and laid back. The kids loved greeting Oreo, the cat every time we came and went through the lobby. Really we don't have any complaints other than mentioned in other reviews. The walls are thin, the floors are squeaky, and there is a train that passes rather close. Fortunately, no one in our family is a really light sleeper so this wasn't a problem, but if you are a light sleeper keep those things in mind. I also felt like it was a bit pricey, but not so much so that I wouldn't stay there again.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Collins hotels
0.7 mi away
Best Western University Inn
Best Western University Inn
#5 of 30 in Fort Collins
534 reviews
5.2 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites
Cambria hotel & suites
#1 of 30 in Fort Collins
378 reviews
3.1 mi away
Marriott Hotel Fort Collins
Marriott Hotel Fort Collins
#2 of 30 in Fort Collins
451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hilton Fort Collins
Hilton Fort Collins
#19 of 30 in Fort Collins
907 reviews
1.6 mi away
Best Western Kiva Inn
Best Western Kiva Inn
#12 of 30 in Fort Collins
449 reviews
3.6 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#4 of 30 in Fort Collins
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Armstrong Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Armstrong Hotel

Property: The Armstrong Hotel
Address: 259 South College Avenue, Fort Collins, CO 80524
Region: United States > Colorado > Fort Collins
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Fort Collins
#5 Family Hotel in Fort Collins
#10 Business Hotel in Fort Collins
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Armstrong Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Armstrong Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Armstrong Hotel Fort Collins
Armstrong Fort Collins

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing