We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Armstrong Hotel
Ranked #6 of 31 Hotels in Fort Collins
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Being in old town was great. Centrally located close to restaurants shopping etc. there are two restaurants located in the hotel accessible from inside and outside. The heat was pretty intense had to leave a window open a crack and the heat off. But very nice choice better than one of the chains.

Room Tip: 305 was smallish but overlooked college ave with all the lights which was just beautiful
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carlsil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (337)
There are newer reviews for The Armstrong Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

168 - 174 of 337 reviews

Reviewed 26 December 2013

We stayed in room 313 in December. The room was spacious and had everything we could want and/or need. We felt like we could have spent a month in the room as it even had a small kitchen. The hotel was very quiet, which we appreciated. I did not have any run-ins with the ghost, but maybe next time! We were able to walk to the local brewery and multiple restaurants from this location. Parking is free, but it's very tight and often hard to find a space (located behind the hotel). Once we found a spot, we didn't move the car. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We will definitely recommend this hotel and visit again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank englishteacher_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2013

Located near the middle of town and close to several bars and diners this Hotel looks as if it might have been around for a while, certainly the lift has. I was in room 310 and this was more of a suit with TV fridge, Micro wave and sofa in one room and the largest bed I have every seen in another, off of which was a large twin shower. Not sure if the decor was looking a little old or the owners were going for "shabby chic" either way it worked. The staff were friendly the bed comfy the recommended diner just down the block was excellent. Only small draw back was teh train running by at 3am which was a bit on the loud side.

Room Tip: Beware of trains
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

This refurbished funky hotel opened in 1923 as a hotel and then was a "rooming" house for many years. Now it has comfortable modern furnishings while retaining the design and feel of the past. Rooms are clean and quiet. The location is excellent. Many restaurants and bars are within walking distance and the CSU campus is only a few blocks away. Would highly recommend if you are visiting in Fort Collins.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

Stay at the Armstrong Hotel. All of the 45 rooms/suites seem clean and neat and you can preview all of them in advance on their site (http://www.thearmstronghotel.com/roomsandsuites.php) I stayed in room 204, which faced S. College Ave, and it was a bit noisy at times because there's a lot of activity on the street below, but this wasn't a big deal. The overall charm and style of the place made it worthwhile. There a jazzy little bar downstairs and, of course, "Oreo" the hotel cat that wanders around and lets you pet her.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Four of us were traveling to Ft Collins on business and we elected to stay our three nights in a boutique hotel (over the usual business hotel) to experience the town. Our rooms were 309, 311, 206 and 219. Two of rooms had modern decor and two were decorated with antiques. All had great beds with luxurious bedding! Two soft and two firm pillows were provided so you can choose. The shampoo, gel, etc were Essential Elements and smelled delicious!

Yes, the trains can wake you in the night -- they woke me four times the first night, but I slept with the window open. The next night, with the window closed and the white noise machine on, I heard the train only once. The third night, I was awoken once, not by the train, but by the hotel ghost. It was 3am. I turned on the light, walked around on my hardwood floor (!), and he quieted down. Didn't hear from him again.

We loved the rooms and would stay again for sure. The college-age front desk staff were fun, helpful and friendly. Parking was easy. Oreo, the cat, was friendly and LOVED attention. The loaner umbrellas really came in handy one evening!

Several quirky things with the hotel you just get used to --- the goofy instructions on the elevator, the controls on the radiator and on the individual air conditioner, the minimal number of outlets in the room, and minimal counterspace around the sink (some rooms).

Kudos to the owners who transformed a building destined for demolition into a gem.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 3rd floor have less chance to experience noise from the jazz club -- I recommend 309...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MaryMcCrary873
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2013 via mobile

Loved these rooms. I felt like I was in a B&B. Antique furniture was beautiful. I loved that it was right on top of some great restaurants (with access from inside of the hotel). The cat lounging at the front desk makes the whole experience that much more unique.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mandabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Collins hotels
0.7 mi away
Best Western University Inn
Best Western University Inn
#4 of 31 in Fort Collins
565 reviews
3.1 mi away
Marriott Hotel Fort Collins
Marriott Hotel Fort Collins
#3 of 31 in Fort Collins
482 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hilton Fort Collins
Hilton Fort Collins
#18 of 31 in Fort Collins
966 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites
Cambria hotel & suites
#1 of 31 in Fort Collins
402 reviews
3.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Fort Collins
3.6 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites University
Quality Inn & Suites University
#2 of 31 in Fort Collins
355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Armstrong Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Armstrong Hotel

Address: 259 South College Avenue, Fort Collins, CO 80524
Region: United States > Colorado > Fort Collins
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Fort Collins
#5 Family Hotel in Fort Collins
#10 Business Hotel in Fort Collins
Price Range: £121 - £214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Armstrong Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Ebookers so you can book your The Armstrong Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Armstrong Hotel Fort Collins
Armstrong Fort Collins

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing