We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“comfortable and charming”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Armstrong Hotel
Ranked #11 of 31 Hotels in Fort Collins
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 September 2014

The Armstrong is in a convenient location, with lots of charm and a very friendly and helpful staff. We liked that it wasn't a cookie-cutter room--had it's own style and vibe. My daughter's room had an issue with a noisy air conditioning unit, but our suite was perfect, comfortable, quite large, and all around a great choice.

Room Tip: Suites are obviously larger, and more comfortable. Ask about A/C unit noise and location (so that it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank drmrwh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (341)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

140 - 146 of 341 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2014

Recommended by a friend that lives in the area. It was nicer than I had expected from website. Clean, modern and I would absolutely stay there again. It is a unique boutique hotel. Awesome restaurant in the basement.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank leahyoung81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2014

A friend recommended this place, primarily based on the location and a good experience he had here. The photos on the website don't make it look like much, but it's quite unique. The stairs alone are really cool, and they had a very friendly pet cat. It's almost like a B&B, but still with the privacy and features you'd expect from a hotel. The rooms are a little sparse looking, but that's kind of the style. They still are plenty comfortable, plenty spacious, and have everything you need. And the best part is my friend wasn't lying -- The location is fantastic! Everybody was super friendly and displayed that vibe that makes Fort Collins such a fantastic town, too. I would not hesitate to stay here again!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Apollo_Diablo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2014

On a very busy weekend, there were no rooms available. As we sat in the comfortable lounge with local papers, an interesting selection of borrowable books, and the usual travel info, we overheard a call at the front desk with a cancellation. We got the room, were welcomed with the desk clerks names (verbally, no on name badges), and started exploring wonderful Fort Collins. This was the best time of our Colo vacation - the town is hip without the down and outers of Boulder and Denver. There's all kinds of stuff to do downtown and we were thankful that we never had to use our car. Will definitely return.

Room Tip: Book well in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EdFoster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

The Armstrong is a historic hotel in the heart of Fort Collins, CO, that has been fully updated with modern amenities. Our room featured two beds (in two separate rooms with a door between them) and an oversize bathroom. The beds were uber-comfortable, the staff was incredibly friendly and accommodating and they offer complimentary bikes for those touring the town (and plentiful local breweries). They even let us keep our car parked in their overflow lot until we had to head to the airport in the evening. Be sure to greet the hotel ambassador Oreo at check in.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Luke S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

I have stayed at the Armstrong Hotel several times over the past few years and this is one of my favorite American hotels. From the super friendly welcome when you walk in the door, to the most comfortable hotel bed ever - I know I'll get a good nights sleep whenever I stay here. Rooms are spacious, comfortable and well appointed. Important to me - the Armstrong also has a great sustainability program. There are literally more great restaurants nearby than you could ever need, and everything is within walking distance - perfect if you drink more cocktails than you should! The Gillette Bar downstairs is also a treat with its frequent live music (don't worry you can't hear it upstairs at all), great cocktails and food.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kiwigalatheart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

This hotel is in the heart of Fort Collins and close to everything. There are tons of restaurants and plenty of night life. We stayed in one of the suites in the hotel and it was by far the best hotel of our whole one-week trip through Colorado. The furniture looked like it might be antique and there were hardwood floors. Our room had a full kitchen. The bed was so comfortable and even though you are on one of the main streets downtown, it was extremely quiet. We also really enjoyed the hotel cat - Oreo. She was always up for a pet and ear scratch when we went downstairs to the front desk. And the staff was superb! They were so friendly and accommodating and made us feel like welcomed guests. I can't recommend this hotel enough.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank K F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Collins hotels
3.1 mi away
Marriott Hotel Fort Collins
Marriott Hotel Fort Collins
#3 of 31 in Fort Collins
491 reviews
5.2 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites
Cambria hotel & suites
#1 of 31 in Fort Collins
419 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hilton Fort Collins
Hilton Fort Collins
#20 of 31 in Fort Collins
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Best Western University Inn
Best Western University Inn
#4 of 31 in Fort Collins
580 reviews
3.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Fort Collins
0.3 mi away
The Elizabeth Hotel, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Armstrong Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Armstrong Hotel

Address: 259 South College Avenue, Fort Collins, CO 80524
Region: United States > Colorado > Fort Collins
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Fort Collins
#5 Family Hotel in Fort Collins
#10 Business Hotel in Fort Collins
Price Range: £116 - £182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Armstrong Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your The Armstrong Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Armstrong Hotel Fort Collins
Armstrong Fort Collins

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing