We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pricey for a dessert”
Review of The Chocolate Cafe

The Chocolate Cafe
Ranked #5 of 19 Dessert in Fort Collins
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$10
Cuisines: Cafe, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Fort Collins, CO
Level Contributor
62 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Pricey for a dessert”
Reviewed 10 October 2011

I have eaten here a few times but I always groan a little when my friends want to go again. The Chocolate Cafe has good food and a fun atmosphere but I wish they would offer some smaller portion desserts at a lower price. I think the lowest priced dessert is around $8, for which I could get a full meal (probably two) at another restaurant. The desserts are also extremely rich with scale-tipping calories so it would be nice to have some smaller portions options when you're not in the mood to gorge yourself.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GalxeFortCollins_CO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    37
    16
    5
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Middleton, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Chocolate lovers rejoice !!!!!”
Reviewed 2 September 2011

Great desserts and a nice place to sit. I just wish they had more food items based on chocolate.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank srh1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Mesa, California USA
Level Contributor
70 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Very tasty, charming option in downtown Fort Collins”
Reviewed 1 September 2011

We stopped here for lunch after trying several other dining options in Fort Collins. The decor and style was very fresh and charming and the menu was diverse with sandwiches, pastas, salads and delicious-looking desserts!

I did not have one of the desserts but did really enjoy the vegetable risotto (very flavorful, filling yet also light) and my boyfriend's italian-style sandwich had a great mix of flavors.

Pricing was reasonable, but the service was a little slow, even with the restaurant not very busy. I think they work on a skeleton crew when school is out, so might not be a good choice if you are in a hurry.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LeftCoastTravelGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
53 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“This is a one of a kind place right there in the heart of Old Town.”
Reviewed 29 August 2011

I am a huge fan of romantic date spots to frequent with my husband. I love the one on one time that we can spend together, the adult conversation we can have and all of it over some food that entices our taste buds. When I think of a place like this in Fort Collins, my first instinct is to go to The Chocolate Cafe.

The menu is a long list of mouth-watering desserts, some for those special date nights to get you in the mood, like the sparkling champagne and chocolate covered strawberries ($17). At the first visit there was also a fruit and brie plate, but it's no longer listed on their menu (or at least the website). Pies, bread pudding and brulee descriptions all pop from the menu making it difficult to pick just one. The staff is pleasant and helpful, making it an even more enjoyable experience.

After being in business for two years, I hope The Chocolate Cafe lasts a while because I always look forward to date nights and love coming back. This is a one of a kind place right there in the heart of Old Town.

  • Visited November 2010
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank FeastingFortCollins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great Service, Great Dessert”
Reviewed 28 August 2011

Went back a second time to confirm the good experience and was equally impressed. Server Brenica made wonderful conversation and dessert was great. Decor and music is nice and the place does not strive to be "hip," which I mean as a compliment.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank Pitbull103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Chocolate Cafe also viewed

 

Been to The Chocolate Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing