We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hard to make a choice!”
Review of The Chocolate Cafe

The Chocolate Cafe
Ranked #5 of 19 Dessert in Fort Collins
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$10
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Loveland, Colorado
Level Contributor
80 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Hard to make a choice!”
Reviewed 6 October 2013 via mobile

A good friend and I ate here recently, and the hardest part is choosing which meal and which dessert to enjoy! She chose the Chicken Panini, and I chose the Tomato Soup and Grilled Cheese Sandwich. Both were delicious! Then we looked at the 2 pages of desserts on the menu, and chose to share the German Chocolate Cake. It was wonderful! Love the ambience, the music, the wait staff. We left feeling like we'd been treated royally!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank pkc57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    37
    16
    5
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Collins, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“They know their chocolate”
Reviewed 16 August 2013

Went at 8:15pm on a Thursday night. It was packed from inside to the patio seating. Luckily we got a seat. Only 1 server/busser/hostess, essentially she did everything front of house. Service was slow, slow to get menus, she was obviously in over her head. But the Chocolate Noir cake with the raspberry sorbet was to die for. Their Chocolate Martini is worth every penny, my first time ever having one and I could drink 32 oz of it. Besides the poor service the atmosphere was quaint and the dessert made it worth having poor service. Tip: don't go during peak dessert hours. They also serve food as well, but mainly dessert.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Shrimpdoctor121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
79 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Chocolate Heaven”
Reviewed 3 August 2013

If you like chocolate, and who doesn't, this is the restaurant for you. Chocolate and more chocolate whether it is presented through dessert or a drink or candy. This restaurant also has very good salads, sandwiches and soups, as well as more filling entrees. Even though the restaurant looks like a tea room, the guys in our group had no problem eating lunch there. Excellent food and delectable desserts. The only problem is choosing from the vast and varied menu. Staff was very friendly and helpful in helping us decide on which dessert to indulge.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kathy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southcentral Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
108 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Best peanut butter pie in CO for sure ...”
Reviewed 31 July 2013

Went to the Chocolate Cafe after dinner at Enzio's in Ft. Collins and was just amazed by the wonderful, decadent, delicious desserts. Our party had chocolate cheesecake, peanut butter pie, chocolate creme brulee and the signature chocolate cake. All amazing stuff. My favorite dessert in the whole wide world is peanut butter pie, and this is the best one I had on my western trip (the best in the world is in Boiling Springs, PA, but that's another story). Absolutely worth it ...

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ejill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
267 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 264 helpful votes
“great chocolate”
Reviewed 24 July 2013

We were told about the café by a local when we visited. When we checked the website one of the deserts the local loved, Chocolate Bourbon Pecan Pie,was not on the menu. They said they made it but hadn't updated their website. When we got there, they didn't have it and there were a number of other desserts were unavailable. They said they had a busy weekend, but this was Monday afternoon. But the two deserts we did get were absolutely outstanding! Just call ahead to make sure they have what you want. We also called ahead to see if we would need reservations.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Art-Roxanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Chocolate Cafe also viewed

 

Been to The Chocolate Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing