We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Okay, but would stay elsewhere next time” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN University Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
BEST WESTERN University Inn
Ranked #4 of 30 Hotels in Fort Collins
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Cody, Wyoming
Level Contributor
82 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Okay, but would stay elsewhere next time”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2012

The good: Rooms were clean, bed was comfortable, pool and hot tub was nice, staff was polite and helpful, and this was in a safe area. The bad: Rooms are very small, somewhat older, traffic noise is high from 6 lane road in front and parking is tight. Doors are old and show some daylight around and under them and cannot be closed without slamming them hard. Thus, everytime someone goes in or out, you get a big ka-boom that shaked the whole building. Train tracks nearby and they really lay on the horn. The hotel web site shows the road in front of the hotel with no traffic on it. That is a joke and must have been taken like at 7am on Christmas morning or something, because it is non stop traffic, motors racing, tires squealing, etc. If you leave in your car in the early morning, you will not be able to park near your room when you come back as when the day staff comes in, they all park in front of the rooms.

Room Tip: Looks like older rooms are in the back, but it will be somewhat noisey too as there is a main street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ReasonableCharlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWUIHotelManager, General Manager at BEST WESTERN University Inn, responded to this review, 8 March 2012
Aron,

Indeed there will be no getting away from the train horns from any location in Old Town Fort Collins... we do offer free ear plugs to accommodate light sleepers.

Pro tip: our east building is not on a main street, and for a nominal $5 upgrade you get a quieter room with an indoor entrance, larger bedroom, twice the bathroom, and a muted train horn.

Ashley Tennison
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

502 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    242
    158
    67
    23
    12
See reviews for
183
95
50
118
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2012

Affordable, clean and comfortable. Across the road from the awesomeness of Colorado State University. Complimentary breakfast is great.

The laundry fiasco involved trying to use the washing machines at 8pm and staying up til 2am. There was something wrong with the water pipe, because it just made our clothes slightly damp (and more stinky), and the cycle didn't start. (The door locks and doesn't unlock for half an hour so we had to wait each time.) After trying it repeatedly on different cycles, I asked the guy in the lobby for help. He came in, pushed start and left. Of course I had to wait 30 minutes again before the door unlocked, to access my laundry. In the end we washed the clothes in the bathtub, carried the sopping clothes to the dryer (and because they were so wet), took several cycles to get them dry enough to hang up in our room.

This is a kind-of funny holiday story, if it weren't for the fact that we planned to get up at 5am to go hiking in the Rockies the next day!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DebbieSteph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2012

The hotel has a good location within walking distance of Old Town. The rooms are clean and adequate for the price. The pillows are terrible. I ended up having neck ache. The rooms are also very small and you don't get enough towels. The TV reception was terrible.
On the positive side, we weren't ever disturbed by outside noises and slept in. Lovely. The complimentary breakfast set us up for the day and was perfect. A great mix - boiled eggs, toast, muffins etc

Room Tip: Stay in the back end of the hotel for a great room and on the top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Honey A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2011

My wife and stayed here in august of 2011 for two nights. The location was great, right across the street from the CU campus, and walking distance to many restaurants. We found the breakfast too be good for what you would expect from a Best Western hotel. Free internet in the lobby was also very helpful. The hotel had four bikes that could be rented for free. This turned out to be the unexpected best part of our trip to Fort Collins as we were able to bike all over town on the many bike lanes and trails. Also was a great way to get to the various breweries in town: Fat Tire, Odell, Fort Collins Brewery, etc. If you aren'ta biker, the hotel also had a complimentary shuttle to help you get around town. Didn't try the pool, but it looked nice and clean.
Tip: When in town check out the newer lesser known breweries to avoid the crowds, and try some really great beer that your friends back home have never heard of. I highly recomend stopping by FunkWerks, and Equinox breweries.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank salparadise33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mountains of CO
Level Contributor
52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2011

If you want to be close to the CSU campus and don't mind a mediocre hotel, then this might work for you. The rooms were small but clean and we were only there one night so not too bad. The bed was comfortable. Nothing to shout about; nothing to tear down either.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank magnolia1e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2011

I visited my daughter in Colorado State U. I tried to use HHonors points to stay in the Hilton, but they had no room for award stay. I serached via tripadvisor and found this hotel. The hotel is just across the street from the university campus, best for visitors to CSU. The room is not so big, but clean and handy enough. I am a smoker, and it is nice that I can just open the door, one step out, and catch a smoke ;-)
The hotel has just sufficient facilities, in-door swimming pool (small, though), and coin operated laundry. The breakfast is served in the reception building. Again no fancy foods, but enough to live with. If you consider the cost, this hotel can be a good choice.

Room Tip: The hotel is 2 story. The location is safe enough, and if available I recommend the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AnonymousTraveller66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2011

My 3 kids and I stayed here recently while in town from Denver for a wedding. Most of the wedding party was staying at the Hilton, so we scoped out the competition a bit after we arrived. Well, for about $25 more per night all we would have gotten was a glass elevator and a stupidly expensive breakfast buffet. Whoop dee do! Instead we saved our $$, got a delicious free breakfast, (kids LOVED making their waffles!) a sparkling pool, a clean, updated room with a super comfy bed, and close proximity to Old Town where the rehearsal, wedding, and reception were taking place. The only problems we had were that the room was undergoing maintenence when we checked in...a repair man was installing a new ironing board holder and drilling into the drywall. Well we checked in with moments to spare before having to leave for the rehearsal and with two preteen daughters trying to change into formal wear with a repair man in the room, let's just say it was a little awkward. But he finished his job and left quickly, he wasn't a bother at all. They were also working on the vents outside our room during the day and it was awfully loud, glad I wasn't trying to sleep during the day. The other issue which wasn't even really an issue, just worth mentioning for sake of comparison, is that we did have to cross the parking lot for both the pool and breakfast. Not a problem, really, but in November it made for a chilly walk. The hot tub was also a few degrees too hot to be enjoyable, had I been staying a longer time I might have mentioned it and asked for the heater to be turned down.
Overall I really enjoyed our stay here and would certainly return. The lobby and pool were bustling with university students and their parents, which made me feel comfortable to see lots of activity. (Bad sign if there is no one but you at your hotel! Especially for a female traveling alone with little kids!) The staff we encountered were all very friendly and the front desk was helpful with finding my way around town.
I am loyal to the Best Western chain...Wherever I go, I usually find them to be the best combination of style, amenities, and affordability, and University Inn definitely did not disappoint.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jonessegrc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Collins hotels
4.6 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites
Cambria hotel & suites
#1 of 30 in Fort Collins
4.5 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
2.5 mi away
Marriott Hotel Fort Collins
Marriott Hotel Fort Collins
#2 of 30 in Fort Collins
4.5 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hilton Fort Collins
Hilton Fort Collins
#19 of 30 in Fort Collins
3.5 of 5 bubbles 874 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Kiva Inn
BEST WESTERN Kiva Inn
#15 of 30 in Fort Collins
4.0 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
3.0 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#5 of 30 in Fort Collins
4.5 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
3.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Fort Collins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN University Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN University Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN University Inn
Address: 914 S College Ave, Fort Collins, CO 80524-3303
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Fort Collins
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Fort Collins
#5 Romantic Hotel in Fort Collins
#9 Family Hotel in Fort Collins
#11 Business Hotel in Fort Collins
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN University Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our cozy Best Western located in old town Fort Collins across the street from CSU's main campus. We offe bicycle rentals for our guests for $15.00 a day, please inquire at the front desk after check in. Walking distance from many restaurants, shops, nightlife & the university campus. Biking distance to Fort Collin's famous breweries, nature trails and much more. We are pet friendly in half of our rooms (additional nightly fee), and our property features a beautiful year round pool house with hot tub and fitness center. We can offer group discounts and meeting space for up to 100 people, please inquire directly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN University Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western University Hotel Fort Collins
Best Western Fort Collins
Fort Collins Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing