We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great outdoor pool”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Best Western Kiva Inn
Ranked #12 of 30 Hotels in Fort Collins
GreenLeadersBronze level
Iowa City
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great outdoor pool”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Fantastic time in Ft. Collins, as usual. I recently started staying at Best Western hotels and I am always impressed. The Kiva Inn has nice beds and wonderful staff that were very helpful. We loved having an outdoor pool and it was also nice to have the indoor hot tub. This hotel is next door to a nice restaurant, Charco Broiler, which has really good food and is open until 10:00 PM. Overall, extremely nice hotel!!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank 762beverlyh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kivainn, Manager at Best Western Kiva Inn, responded to this review, 21 September 2014
We are happy to see your response to your stay at the Best Western Kiva Inn in Fort Collins. It is great to hear that you enjoyed our facilities, friendly staff and nearby restaurant.

Thank you for taking the time to complete the survey and we are looking forward to your return.
We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.

Sincerely,
Raj Sarda
MANAGER
BEST WESTERN Kiva Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

439 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    171
    148
    61
    29
    30
See reviews for
141
147
37
77
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

We booked this room through Priceline and chose it because it was the best deal even though we would have liked to stay closer to Estes Park. Unfortunately, upon check-in, the staff told us they were going to charge us an additional $30 for a room with 2 queen beds instead of one King bed, even though we selected 2 queen beds on the website. Then when we went to check-out, they said no its not $30, its actually a $40 fee. Our room was clean except there were lots of stains on the bed skirts and some gross crusty stuff on the table. Our room had a view of the trailer park out back. We had lots of problems with getting our door to latch and lock, when we shut it, it just wouldn't lock, anyone could just push it open. The free breakfast was nice but their dining area was not nearly big enough so you have to squeeze yourself through people and have people bumping your chair while your eating. Overall, it was disappointing.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Erin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kivainn, Manager at Best Western Kiva Inn, responded to this review, 22 September 2014
Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. We are in the process of replacing the carpets and up-dating the furnishings. I am sorry that you were not happy with your stay. BEWARE: When making reservation online, especially when you are trying for the cheapest rate, you will be receiving (generally) a bed for the number of individuals, unless you want to sleep 2 in a bed, you need to indicate so. If you have a problem with the accommodations, you may always call whomever you made the reservations with and they will most likely get a change made to your reservation, and once again, you will be charged more.

If you a problem while in the motel, please contact the front desk to get the problem taken care of.

If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at 970-484-2444.

Thank you again for taking the time to complete the survey.


Sincerely,

Raj Sarda
MANAGER
BEST WESTERN Kiva Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loveland, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We bid for this hotel on Priceline's "name your own price", marking only 3 star hotels and above. If this hotel is a 3 star, I am Princess Diana resurrected. Upon registration, the hotel clerk "in the know" looked frazzled and a new trainee had to wait for him to get off the phone multiple times to get all answers. The area behind the desk was a worn out mess. When we got the keys we weren't even told our hotel room # but were asked to provide our car model and license # and sign a form saying we'd be charged $10 for each key we did not return. Two other customers were asking for room assistance, one with a toilet that was leaking on their hotel room floor and one wanting a "better room", whatever that may have meant.
When we returned to the hotel for the evening, parking was full in front so we drove around back where there is a rear parking lot. Adjoining the parking lot is a trailer park of seemingly permanent residents in mobile homes (I mean the mobile homes that hook up to a truck, not the kind meant to be a permanent home - they seemed permanent because they had porches built on them!). There was NO barrier of any kind between these and the parking lot. You would literally be parking at their front door. Meanwhile, there was a small mobile home on the side of the parking lot with lights on and door open and people outside who sounded drunk and about to get into a fist fight, dropping the "F-bomb" every other word at the top of their voices.
I was happy to see that the rear door to the hotel required a key to access the hotel. I do not feel especially excited leaving my car parked there for the night.
Our room is adequate. We received an accessible room which often means more space and a walk in shower but this one means enough bars on the shower to lock someone away for life.
The bed seems nice. There is a microwave and small frig - not items we needed but some might like- and the furniture was basic two star hotel stuff. Not offensive.
We paid more for this room than we did for the lovely and nearly perfect Marriott in Fort Collins and it is definitely only because demand superseded supply.
Try the Courtyard by Marriott if you don't want full Marriott prices. We stayed there as well and it was cleaners with better service and in a much, much nicer location.
While the room in this hotel was basically clean and adequate overall, the hotel staff and environment left a great deal to be desired. I would not stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a front room and be sure to get in early to park out front, if you have to stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Molly K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kivainn, Manager at Best Western Kiva Inn, responded to this review, 27 September 2014
Thank you for taking the survey, by telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a great experience for guests in the future. We will be working on getting our staff trained before the summer season hits next year. We have been working on a facelift for the inside of the Best Western Kiva Inn. I am sorry that you weren't happy with your visit. It is a security issue to not announce to all in the lobby your particular room. You should have been given a small card with you room number on it and other details about your visit with us.

If you should make reservations ahead to time, with we will do all we can to attend to your requests, please keep in mind for the future, anywhere you should stay.

If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at 970-484-2444.

Thank you again for taking the time to complete the survey. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.


Sincerely,

Raj Sarda
MANAGER
BEST WESTERN Kiva Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laramie, United States
1 review
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Since this motel was not in the location I normally expect to find quality accommodations in Fort Collins, we were pleasantly surprised to find it quiet and comfortable. The pool was nice. The indoor and outdoor hot tubs were great. We would definitely come back.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Annmarie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kivainn, Manager at Best Western Kiva Inn, responded to this review, 21 September 2014
Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.
It is nice to read that you enjoyed our facilities.
We look forward to your return and we appreciate your loyalty to our brand.

Sincerely,
Raj Sarda
MANAGER
BEST WESTERN Kiva Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Collins, United States
1 review
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Beds are comfortable,the breakfast was good and the rooms were clean. But the bathroom needed updating...squeaky, scary tub and leaning vanity countertop. The hot tub has room for two.. The outside pool is okay. It was close to our relatives and to Interstate 25.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Floyd W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kivainn, Manager at Best Western Kiva Inn, responded to this review, 21 September 2014
Thank you for taking the time to fill out the survey.

We are pleased that you enjoyed the cleanliness, beds and breakfast. We are looking into the problem with the bathroom (thank you for letting us know of your concern) and have been doing some internal up-dating of our facility.

If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at
970-484-2444.

Thank you again for taking the time to complete the survey.
We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.

Sincerely,
Raj Sarda
MANAGER
BEST WESTERN Kiva Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
113 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

In the past we've tried more economical motels but recently have look for something better on our road trips, Best Western seem to be the often choice. After one stop at a BW then a stop at a lesser place, the Kiva Inn was a good choice, clean room with nice bed, slept well and was nice and rested in the morning.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RonInAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kivainn, Manager at Best Western Kiva Inn, responded to this review, 21 September 2014
Thank you for taking time to fill out our survey. We are excited to hear that you were happy with your choice to stay at our facility and enjoyed your stay. We hope you will return to the Best Western Kiva Inn in the future.

We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.

Sincerely,
Raj Sarda
MANAGER
BEST WESTERN Kiva Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joliet
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

The beginning of my stay was a little rocky because when we checked in they had us swipe my debit card for a $50 even though we already paid online beforehand. I would be fine with that because they said it would go back on my account at the end of the stay, except when I checked my account I found that $160 had come out. I had to call my bank and then the hotel had to fax them my information to get it off my account. It ended up taking a few days until the day before I left for the money to go back onto my card. The receptonist was apologetic about it and I do not think it was her fault. Other than that, the stay was great. The room had a minifridge and microwave and the hotel offered complimentary breakfast. There's an outdoor pool, hot tub and exercise room. Also it's a couple of miles from Old Town which was nice, but I needed to take a taxi. There's Fort Fun across the street which offers mini golf, lazer tag, arcade games and more which is great for everyone. The price is great also compared to the hotels around. It's about $100 a night. I would come back here but I wod be careful about giving them my debit card again.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Akralie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kivainn, Manager at Best Western Kiva Inn, responded to this review, 27 September 2014
Thank you for taking the survey, by telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a great experience for guests in the future.

I am sorry about our error with the debit card. We always striving to train our personnel before the summer season hits, but unfortunately, we aren't always able to accomplish it. We do hope you will come back and try our Inn again and accept our apologies.

If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at 970-484-2444.

Thank you again for taking the time to complete the survey. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.


Sincerely,

Raj Sarda
MANAGER
BEST WESTERN Kiva Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Collins hotels
1.6 mi away
Best Western University Inn
Best Western University Inn
#4 of 30 in Fort Collins
4.0 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
4.3 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites
Cambria hotel & suites
#1 of 30 in Fort Collins
4.5 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
2.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Fort Collins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Marriott Hotel Fort Collins
Marriott Hotel Fort Collins
#2 of 30 in Fort Collins
4.5 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
3.8 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#5 of 30 in Fort Collins
4.5 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Armstrong Hotel
The Armstrong Hotel
#6 of 30 in Fort Collins
4.5 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Kiva Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Kiva Inn

Property: Best Western Kiva Inn
Address: 1638 E. Mulberry Street, Fort Collins, CO 80524-3522
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Fort Collins
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Fort Collins
#10 Romantic Hotel in Fort Collins
#12 Family Hotel in Fort Collins
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Kiva Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at this Fort Collins, Colorado hotel offering comfortable accommodations convenient to Colorado State University and Poudre Valley Hospital. Whether traveling for business or for pleasure, the BEST WESTERN Kiva Inn has it all! Nestled into the beautiful Rocky Mountains in the heart of Fort Collins, Colorado, this hotel offers guests incredible value, unbeatable amenities and a convenient location to businesses, area attractions and points of interest. The southwestern style BEST WESTERN Kiva Inn offers beautifully appointed guest rooms fully equipped with a refrigerator, microwave, LCD televisions with cable satellite television and high-speed Internet access. Junior suites and rooms with spas and mountain views are also available. Every morning guests are greeted with a complimentary deluxe continental breakfast served in the beautiful glass atrium room providing beautiful views of the sunrise. Guests will also enjoy the convenience of a steakhouse and lounge located adjacent to the hotel. Located at the gateway of the Rocky Mountains, guests staying at the BEST WESTERN Kiva Inn will enjoy spending the day exploring all that Estes Park and Rocky Mountain National Park have to offer. Nearby is the unspoiled Poudre Canyon with its renowned "Trout Route" USA. Shopping enthusiasts will enjoy this hotel's proximity to the old town shopping district. Colorado State University and Poudre Valley hospital are only five minutes from the hotel making the BEST WESTERN Kiva Inn ideal lodging for visiting family and friends. This Fort Collins hotel frequently hosts guests in town attending the Cheyenne Frontier Days and Greeley Stampede. Traveling for business? There are also several corporate locations and medical offices nearby in the corporate business corridor and industrial airpark area. The friendly, helpful staff at the BEST WESTERN Kiva Inn is ready to ensure a comfortable and memorable stay in Fort Collins, Colorado. Make a reservation today and save! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Kiva Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Kiva Hotel Fort Collins
Best Western Fort Collins
Fort Collins Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing