We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Motel in Fort Garland” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lodge Motel

Lodge Motel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Fort Garland
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lodge Motel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Fort Garland
frederick,md
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Best Motel in Fort Garland”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2012

Decided to stay at The Lodge Motel, after being interrogated at the Motor Inn. The Lodge Motel offers friendly, hospitable service provided by Richard and Linda Gabe. The price is a great value for the accomodations, around fifty dollars a night. Our room was clean, had a coffee pot, microwave, mini-fridge. We greatly appreciated having a microwave to heat up our leftovers from the Silver Sage Restaurant...the mini-fridge a wonderful bonus for our hot beer. Linens in the bathroom were fresh, and fancifully folded. We were greeted every morning with a smile by Richard and Linda Gabe walking their two dogs. BEST PLACE TO STAY IN FORT GARLAND!!
Canyan McMinnis

Room Tip: Best place to stay in Fort Garland
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank canyon m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    15
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
10
14
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Highland Village, Texas
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

We laid over one night on our long trip to Colorado. The price was great for the short stay. The owner is very nice and did all she could do to see that our stay was fine. The rooms are basic but clean, especially the bathroom! The beds were a bit soft. My coverlet had a huge stain that looked like coffee but i just removed it from the bed. The A/C was not very effective, in our room and our friends'. That made it hard for some of us to sleep but you can open the window and let in the cool air from outside. If you are just using this motel as a place to crash for a night then it would be fine.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank threepuppies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aurora, CO
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2012

We stayed at this hotel for two nights at the end of March 2012 on our way to the Sand Dunes from Aurora, CO. The prices were a lot lower than Alamosa and we were about the same distance from the Sand Dunes. We would stay here again.

Pros:
Owners are friendly
Owners are accommodating
Pet Friendly
Clean
Low price

Cons:
None

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jeepers6667
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lookout Mountain, Georgia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2012

We drove here from Colorado Springs on the way to Great Sand Dunes NP. We wanted to stay as close as possible to the park to get an early start there the next day. We only stayed one night. Best bargain on our 3 week trip of $50 for one night. It was not a recently renovated, updated room, but for our purposes, it was fine. Parking right next to the door allowed us to reorganize our trunk in our spare time. Since the room was big, we had plenty of space to reorganize our suitcases. Everything worked well. It was clean and quiet. If I were going that route again, I'd be sure to stay here. The lighting could have been better.

Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank JanetonLookout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pueblo
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2011

We were headed back home to Pueblo and the Laveta Pass was closed due to a head on collision. So we had two choiced wait or stay the night. We choose to spend the night in this little gem of a Motel. The owner was superb and he went out of his way to accomodate our family. The rooms are huge compared to the Chain Motels we spend time in early in the week-end. Cleand and Warm and super Fun. The walls are wooden like a cabin,and everything was clean and Plenty of Hot water. We all sleep like a baby. Then in the Morning A great Little resturant down the road for some of the Best Breakfast you could ever want. I think the name of the place was the Wagon Wheel. Right down the street on the same side of the road as the Motel. If you ever find yourself in Fort Garland do your self a Favor and stay here. And for 50 dollars a Night it is a Steal..

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cleveland ohio
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2011

Dog friendly motel in a town where not much else is happening. Dog friendly rooms that don't smell like dog. Excellent price.
Only reason it got four stars instead of five is because of low lighting in rooms. Very nice owner operated motel.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank clevelandtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overland Park, Kansas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2011

We stayed here on our way to Great Sand Dunes Park. Old style motel, satellite TV, microwave and frig. We got stuck with a smoking room, but was not that bad. Owner was nice, over all we would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank schneltalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort Garland
23.2 mi away
Days Inn Alamosa
Days Inn Alamosa
#7 of 13 in Alamosa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
23.3 mi away
Riverside Inn of Alamosa
Riverside Inn of Alamosa
#8 of 13 in Alamosa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
24.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Alamosa Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.0 mi away
Valley Motel
Valley Motel
#9 of 13 in Alamosa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
19.0 mi away
River's Edge Bed and Breakfast at Dodgeton Creek Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lodge Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lodge Motel

Property: Lodge Motel
Address: 825 Hwy 160, Fort Garland, CO 81133
Region: United States > Colorado > Fort Garland
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Fort Garland
Number of rooms: 10

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing