We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (44)
Filter reviews
44 results
Traveller rating
41
1
1
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
41
1
1
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews shepherds hut fresh eggs dolls house wood burner explore the surrounding area hot tub electric heater extra blankets on arrival perfect hosts brecon beacons peace and quiet the main house home made cakes feed the chickens warm welcome grey goose
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 44 reviews
Reviewed 19 April 2017

A great yurt and shepherd's hut with everything we would ever need. Charlie and Sarah were very helpful with lots of ideas for walks and then grooming of Nutmeg and Sam. Kids loved the dolls house, railway line and even a game of scrabble. Lots of food options nearby and Oakchurch farm shop is fantastic and great value. Radiator on a timer in the Yurt was a great idea to prevent waking up to a cold morning. Thank you both for a relaxing stay.

Date of stay: April 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Ian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2017

If you want a perfect get away from it all for a family or just the girls I totally recommend it no wifi no signal just chickens , fresh air the most amazing yurt and warmest of welcomes . On our arrived we were great by Sarah and shown to our yurt set in a perfect location complete with kitchen which our daughters aged 11 and 13 thoroughly enjoyed cooking for us loved the little touches of fresh eggs from the beautiful chickens and tea and coffee . The yurt is amazing get that log burner going it's a perfect place to chill . Our daughters groomed the pony and feed the chickens while we sat enjoying the peace, views and wine . It's a must and can't wait to go back

Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2017

My husband, 6 year old son and sampled quality family time at this well-equipped and charming yurt. Surrounded by fields and farm yard animals, this was the perfect way for me to relax and enjoy my birthday. I loved relaxing on the reclining chairs, watching my husband and son play football. It was a bonus to collect fresh eggs from one of the hens! The brio train set and doll house are also a nice touch for little ones. We'll try to rush back again soon! P.S Thank you for the warm welcome and the brownies!

Room tip: Take ear plugs if you don't want an early wake up call from the animals :-)
Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
1  Thank annaQ5356QV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2016

We have just returned from two nights in the Yurt and we had a fantastic time. Our two boys (aged 3 and 6) loved it - particularly all the animals. Our neighbour - Sam the horse - was especially friendly and would often come and put his head over the gate, hoping for another carrot. The Yurt and the Hut have absolutely everything you could need - peace and quiet, cosy beds, toys, games and cooking facilities. Charlie and Sarah make you feel at home but also leave you to it. Had a great time visiting Hay-on-Wye and some nice pubs nearby. We will be back! Thank you.

Date of stay: October 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank lauraandsimonL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2016 via mobile

What a beautiful spot for a weekend away. The yurt is so spacious and perfect for our two children with a dollshouse and huge basket of train tracks. Gorgeous patchwork throws on the comfy beds. Chickens provided fresh eggs for breakfast. Full tins of tea and coffee was a nice touch too. Sam the horse was a welcome visitor over the fence for the odd apple. We had a fabulous weekend! Charlie and Sarah are so friendly but leave you in peace to enjoy the quiet too. We will be back!

Date of stay: September 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Becs C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah_Emma_Smith, Owner at Midland Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2016

Thank you for a lovely review and so pleased you enjoyed your weekend.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews