We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (44)
Filter reviews
44 results
Traveller rating
41
1
1
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
41
1
1
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews shepherds hut fresh eggs dolls house wood burner explore the surrounding area hot tub electric heater extra blankets on arrival perfect hosts brecon beacons peace and quiet the main house home made cakes feed the chickens warm welcome grey goose
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 44 reviews
Reviewed 3 June 2017 via mobile

Just arrived home from what has been a fantastic few days at Midland farm. The set up is just perfect..and being a family of gardeners we were thrilled to be given a tour of the beautiful gardens- thank you Charlie. We used Midland farm as a base for a busy few days at Hay festival (25mins away) and so didn't spend as much time as we'd hoped at the yurt- we will have to return! The chickens made us smile- always there when we opened the yurt door. We all slept very well (including our 1year old) due to the cosy, comfortable beds. Delicious eggs for breakfast every day and beautiful cakes on arrival were great touches. Kitchen very well equipped and functional. We couldn't ask for more. Thanks so much for creating such a haven- we will return.
Jennifer, Damien and Haydn Boyle and Carolyn Foster (granny)

Date of stay: June 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Jenfos83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2017

Ideal for exploring the local area offering complete peace and quiet whilst being situated close to roads leading to Hay, Brecon, etc. The yurt is lovely and very comfortable and combined with the facilities in the shepherd hut you have all you need. The large decking area allows you to easily enjoy the beautiful views to the hills in the distance. The owners, Sarah and Charlie, are perfect hosts - welcoming, friendly and helpful without being intrusive.

We walked up the Cat's Back, spent a lazy day in Hay, and went horse riding at the Brwyngwyn riding centre over the course of our long weekend. All were great and recommended.

Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sam F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2017

A great yurt and shepherd's hut with everything we would ever need. Charlie and Sarah were very helpful with lots of ideas for walks and then grooming of Nutmeg and Sam. Kids loved the dolls house, railway line and even a game of scrabble. Lots of food options nearby and Oakchurch farm shop is fantastic and great value. Radiator on a timer in the Yurt was a great idea to prevent waking up to a cold morning. Thank you both for a relaxing stay.

Date of stay: April 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Ian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2017

If you want a perfect get away from it all for a family or just the girls I totally recommend it no wifi no signal just chickens , fresh air the most amazing yurt and warmest of welcomes . On our arrived we were great by Sarah and shown to our yurt set in a perfect location complete with kitchen which our daughters aged 11 and 13 thoroughly enjoyed cooking for us loved the little touches of fresh eggs from the beautiful chickens and tea and coffee . The yurt is amazing get that log burner going it's a perfect place to chill . Our daughters groomed the pony and feed the chickens while we sat enjoying the peace, views and wine . It's a must and can't wait to go back

Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2017

My husband, 6 year old son and sampled quality family time at this well-equipped and charming yurt. Surrounded by fields and farm yard animals, this was the perfect way for me to relax and enjoy my birthday. I loved relaxing on the reclining chairs, watching my husband and son play football. It was a bonus to collect fresh eggs from one of the hens! The brio train set and doll house are also a nice touch for little ones. We'll try to rush back again soon! P.S Thank you for the warm welcome and the brownies!

Room tip: Take ear plugs if you don't want an early wake up call from the animals :-)
Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
1  Thank annaQ5356QV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews