We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful weekend!”
Review of Wild Horse Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Wild Horse Inn
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Fraser
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, CO
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful weekend!”
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Our family stayed here for a small wedding. We fill the entire inn and the cabins. The inn was cozy and very clean. The staff was helpful, far beyond our expectations. I was amazed by their ability to move furniture to accommodate an indoor wedding and reception. Our family loved the breakfast options and the hot tub as well! The inn made alternatives for family with food allergies. We will definitely go back.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Dogwood which was lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HEIDI654
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    157
    22
    8
    3
    1
See reviews for
38
127
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Keenesburg, Colorado, United States
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

You can not find a better B&B in the valley!!! We stayed here for our Honeymoon, we rented a cabin on the property. Wow how beautiful, surrounded by wildflowers and beautiful views!!

When we arrived we were greeted by the owners and they were friendly and sweet and gave us a bottle of bubbly to start the celebration off right. The food was amazing during our stay, John the owner is an AMAZING cook!! His omelet was like nothing I have ever tasted! So good, fresh and fluffy!!

The service was great, complementary wine and coffee, a wonderful library with and take a book leave a book style. It was the best getaway we had. Plus if you have an event to attend at the Devils Thumb Ranch I suggest you stay here, just a short 2 minuet drive, and better accommodations. Also you can't beat that it cost less :)

Room Tip: We choose the cabins..for us that was they way to go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sadie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loveland, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

We found Wild Horse Inn while searching for somewhere special to stay for our wedding night. We were thrilled to find that the Wild Horse Inn could also assist with our small wedding. Providing a place for our small ceremony, flowers, and a wedding cake; however, we quickly started to feel like an inconvenience. This feeling lasted throughout the planning process and during our stay and was really our most significant complaint. The location is beautiful and peaceful. We saw 5 deer on our wedding day. We stayed in one of the cabins for two nights and while it was very cozy, we did notice a few things. The internet only reached one small corner of the cabin and was a very weak signal. The TV with DVD and VCR was old and we had issues getting the DVD player to work. The fireplace let off a distinct natural gas smell that was present throughout our stay and the water pressure was very weak. On a positive note, the breakfast was delicious. Bella, the resident dog was adorable and very friendly and the flowers that were provided for the ceremony were perfect! The cabin was very clean and very private and had a lot of windows to enjoy the natural surroundings.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Shanna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salida, CO
1 review
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Immediately upon driving in I could see that the place needs exterior staining and washing. Area around the cabins has no landscaping or manicuring. I don't believe $300 a night is a value. The hot tub is very small. We weren't that impressed to find our cabin not ready and the staff sitting around on break. The breakfast was rather simple. I would have expected a few choices of menu and no meat and lack of fruit was not impressive. The coffee was old and the food was not ready on time.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kara F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

we have stayed in Fraser/Tabernash several times, including the Devils Thumb Ranch. We were looking for something close to the area but at a more reasonable rate (DTR was not good value for money in our experience). Wild Horse Inn checked all the boxes for us, nice room, very clean, lovely log cabin feel, quiet location with good access to the Tabernash Inn and The Ranch House at DTR for good food. Breakfast was simple but tasty, particularly Chris's frattata! Cookies, wine, tea/coffee on tap throughout the day is nice touch. Chris and John were great hosts and can help with setting up activities etc, but there is plenty to do and see in the area and good walking/biking directly from the Inn. We are looking forward to our return trip in November!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

This is a LOVELY BnB near Winter Park, Colorado. It is off the beaten path with beautiful views. It is not a cookie cutter condo! This is a beautiful home with a rustic feel but with all the amenities of a high end hotel. The rooms are large and tastefully decorated with en suite bathroom. Very comfortable king bed too! Due to the unusually wet summer, the pine doors are swollen making the bathroom door impossible to close without slamming it. The bedrooms aren't exactly sound proof (we thought that maybe there was an open vent between our room and next door but could not see one). Everything else was absolutely perfect from arrival to checkout.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LoveOurLife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Vermont
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Lovely place, clean and charming. Breakfast is ok, nothing special. The wedding tent is old and falling a part, lucky it did not rain, or people definitely would have gotten wet. The Inn itself is beautiful inside and out. The caters for the Inn really overestimated how much beer, wine, soft drinks we would need. We had a case of opened wine and another not used...really alot of waste. We were told that portable bathrooms were a must, but did not realize we would be billed $300.00 each. Should have been upfront with this.

Room Tip: all room are lovely but not inexpensive
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 988virginia988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fraser
2.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Fraser - Winter Park Area
7.4 mi away
Winter Park Mountain Lodge
Winter Park Mountain Lodge
#3 of 15 in Winter Park
504 reviews
18.5 mi away
Gateway Inn
Gateway Inn
#1 of 7 in Grand Lake
520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
The Vintage Resort Hotel & Conference Center
1.8 mi away
Devil's Thumb Ranch Resort & Spa
14.2 mi away
The Silver Lake Lodge
The Silver Lake Lodge
#1 of 5 in Idaho Springs
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wild Horse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wild Horse Inn

Property: Wild Horse Inn
Address: 1536 County Road 83, Fraser, CO 80442
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Grand County > Fraser
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Fraser
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wild Horse Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering a luxury bed and breakfast and private cabins near Winter Park, Colorado. There are pet friendly options available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Wild Horse Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wild Horse Hotel
Wild Horse Inn Colorado/Fraser

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing