We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Damage Scam = Big Horn Rental”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bighorn Rentals - Frisco
Ranked #10 of 21 Hotels in Frisco
Reviewed 20 April 2012

Do not use this agency: You will get badly burned.
I only wish I'd read the other posted comments prior to signing up for a family trip.
Unit was in poor condition, roofers were at it so loudly that we couldn't use unit the first full day.

Dishonest and disrespectful management.

The plumbing went out. We called in to report and attempted to mop up the water. Now Big Horn is trying to get us to pay for water damage caused by plumbing we had nothing to do with!

Read other ratings. BEWARE of SCAMS.

Room Tip: Go Elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank SkiTraveler2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnBighorn, General Manager at Bighorn Rentals - Frisco, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2012

At Bighorn Rentals we do about 1500 reservations per year. As all of the properties we manage are privately owned, our goal is to make both the guest and the homeowner happy with each rental. 999 times out of 1000 this goal is attainable, but there is always that one out there that throws a wrench in the works.

It is true that the plumbing problem was not the fault of the guest. The problem lies in the fact that the guest had water running onto the floor and just let it go uncorrected. Furthermore, they continued to use the sink and dishwasher when they knew there was a leak. When the guests were notified that water was pouring into the unit below that is when they finally contacted us about it. The caller said "There is a leak in the kitchen and water is running into the unit below BUT DON'T COME OVER." Our response was if there is a leak then we were coming over right a way to correct it.

This was very disrespectful to the property, the owner and us. We charged the guest the cost of the repairs to the unit below but nothing more. Since the guest did not cause the leak, we did not charge him for the repair of the plumbing underneath the sink. A 30 second phone call to let us know there was a leak when they first discovered it would have saved everyone a lot of trouble all the way around.

The property this guest stayed in was built in 1998. While it is not brand new, it is still on the newer end and well maintained. This is the only maintenance issue that we've had with the property since we've been managing it. We don't have anything against this particular guest, we would charge any guest that so fragrantly disregarded the well being of the property. Personally, I don't understand why the guest would want to deal with water all over the kitchen floor during their stay when we could have come and fixed it for them in under an hour. We even maintain an emergency, after office hours answering service so that guests can contact us anytime, day or night when situations like this arise.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (15)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 15 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2011

I spent a ski season out in the Dillon/Frisco area 15 years ago and always wanted to check it out in the summer. I found Bighorn on line and initially choose it for the location. Frisco offers easy access to either Keystone/A-Basin, Breck, Cooper or Vail. The town is nice and has some nice family restaurants. I found the staff at Bighorn to be very friendly and helpful when I was planning my daily activities. On their suggestion I took my family on the bike path and the peaks trail from Breckenridge to Frisco. It was a fun adventure. I also liked the selection of different units that Bighorn provided me to choose from.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jmc426
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2010

Big Horn Rentals has been handling the rental of our condo unit at Cedar Lodge. They are a wonderful company to deal with. Everything is always clean and well maintained. We have family and friends who use our unit during the year and they have always had wonderful comments about John and other staff members. We have found John to be very honest and trust worthy. Our unit is 309 at Cedar Lodge and if you are looking for a large studio unit check this one out. We are right off of Main Stree and have a view of Mount Royal from our balcony.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AdamMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2010

We have found the owner of Bighorn Rentals, John, to be unethical, uncooperative, disrespectful, and dishonest. Their office contracts did not parallel the HOA building regulations. An issue was made by a property owner of an adjacent condo in the same building regarding our boat being parked in one of our two underground assigned parking spaces, John (along with the building manager) demanded, tagged and threatened to tow our boat if we did not move it. Our rental contract did not preclude us having the boat there. We had a boat the prior season, without issue, parked in the same space. We incurred inconvenience and additional storage expense as a result. Moreover he refused to give us the full 31 days for our monthly rental which he charged us in full 30 days in advance; we got only 29 days and he would neither issue an appropriate credit for the two days nor make any accommodation. In addition he charged our credit card $100 before contacting us regarding a possible pet violation.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Service
3  Thank PeggyNie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnBighorn, General Manager at Bighorn Rentals - Frisco, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2010

There is a lot going on in this complaint so let me respond to the issues one at a time:

1. Many homeowners associations in our area have rules as to conduct in common areas, quiet hours, parking of specialty items and many other things. These homeowner associatons are separate entities from Bighorn Rentals and any other vacation rental booking agency. As such, we have no control over what they decide is acceptable to park in the garage or not. We did not tell this guest that they could not park their boat in the parking garage, we simply notified the guest that the homeowners association would tow their boat if it was not moved. We did contact several individuals that represent the homeowners association and try to reason with them in an attempt for the guests to keep the boat there. When that failed, we contacted the town and found several places that it was okay for the guests to keep their boat but those places were unacceptable to the guest. We then offered the guest to park their boat in a private garage of another condo that we manage about a block away. That too was unacceptable to the guest.
2. For any guest looking to bring a boat or any other kind of trailer, please contact us before you come and let us know what you plan to bring so that we can confirm it's okay with the homeowner association in advance. This goes for anyone staying with Bighorn or any other vacation rental booking agency. It is not reasonable for us to list in our paperwork every acceptable action and every unacceptable action of every property in every homeowners association that we manage, so if you have any requests that are out of the ordinary, please let us know about it in advance and we will make sure it works for everyone involved.
3. We booked this guests dates months in advance and we booked the dates that she asked for. We then sent her a confirmation letter detailing the dates and rates involved. There was no mention of different dates until the guest was 3/4 through her stay.
4. This guest knew very well that the property did not allow pets and she brought one any way. For any guest that brings an unauthorized pet, extra charges will apply. We use those extra charges to "deep clean" the unit to make sure all traces of the pet are gone.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2010

Five days after leaving this unit, with **no prior notification,** Bighorn attempted to bill our credit card. We would not have even known had it not been for the fact that Bighorn sent an e-mail to us stating there was damage to the unit, our credit card had declined it, and how did we want to pay. They included 2 blurry photographs of a glass shower door, both of which were dated in 2003. (That's nearly 6 years prior to the current date.)

Because of this, we have had to file a fraud complaint with the attorney general/Better Business Bureau, cancel our debit card, put a fraud alert on our credit, and also utilize the services for an attorney because we are now being harassed.

If you stay in this unit, make sure you document everything there. Otherwise, you could be looking at an unwarranted and unverifiable charge when you return home.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank NavigatorOK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnBighorn, General Manager at Bighorn Rentals - Frisco, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2010

At Bighorn Rentals we really do try and be fair with every guest that stays with us. When we entered the condo 15 minutes after this guest checked out and found a broken glass shower door, it seemed logical to us that the guests broke it during their stay. We contacted them only one time via email in an effort to collect payment and when evidence came to light that they may not have broken it, we immediately notified them that we would not pursue the matter anymore and appologized for any hassle that we caused.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2010

I booked a three bedroom condo with Bighorn Rentals through Hotels.com and ended up with 3 three bedroom condos, error on Hotels.com part. Bighorn Rentals refused to refund the two other condos which was over $1000. Greedy people!

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled on business
    • Service
1  Thank Irving44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnBighorn, General Manager at Bighorn Rentals - Frisco, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2010

We fully agree that this guest should have been refunded for the error on the part of hotels.com. As hotels.com made that error, hotels.com should have refunded the guest. We really try to be fair with every guest that stays with us and in this case we contacted several different departments within hotels.com to try and get that refund for the guest but hotels.com refused to do so.

Please reserve directly with us as we cannot control the actions of corporate giants like hotels.com.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2008

We booked our spring break condo rental last March and were very pleased with the condo Bighorn put us in at Keystone Resort. The condo was exactly as it was described in their web-site and the price was great (we even got a night free on our 5 night stay). We are planning to use Bighorn again next spring when we book our planned stay in Frisco to ski Copper Mountain ski resort.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank AZ_Skier_21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Frisco hotels
1.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Lake Dillon
0.3 mi away
Snowshoe Motel
Snowshoe Motel
#6 of 21 in Frisco
152 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Frisco
Hotel Frisco
#5 of 21 in Frisco
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Alpine Inn
Alpine Inn
#3 of 21 in Frisco
318 reviews
1.3 mi away
Summit Inn
Summit Inn
#1 of 21 in Frisco
164 reviews
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Frisco - Breckenridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bighorn Rentals - Frisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bighorn Rentals - Frisco

Address: 110 First Ave, Frisco, CO 80443
Region: United States > Colorado > Frisco
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 21 Hotels in Frisco
Hotel Class:3 star — Bighorn Rentals - Frisco 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Bighorn Rentals - Frisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing