We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasantly surprised!”
Review of Himalayan Cuisine

Himalayan Cuisine
Ranked #41 of 59 Restaurants in Frisco
Cuisines: Indian, Nepalese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Come and try our authentic Indian/Nepalese cuisine and our excellent wine list and exotic beers that compliment the complex flavors and aromas of the Indian/Nepalese cuisine at Himalayan Cuisine. Conveniently located on the 409 Main Street. Our casual interior creates a variety of spaces, allowing us to create an intimate dining experience for two, or more. As well as for larger groups, with over 30 seats in both secluded and open areas. We're sure to find the right table for you. Lunch Buffet We offer an extensive daily lunch buffet reasonable price. Our selection of buffet items include a combination of Chicken, Meat, Vegetables, Curries, fresh Naan, Rice, Condiments, and Dessert. Some items change daily.
Golden, Colorado
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised!”
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Another great restaurant in Frisco. The food was much better than we had expected and we thought that it was very high on our lists of best Indian/Nepalese. The naan bread was a little dry but that was my only negative.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MrWilly2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    31
    23
    12
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“An alternative to the norm”
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Visiting from Scotland where curry houses are almost the national fare and in the main really tasty, it was good to find an alternative eating experience from the normal American fare.
We had a mix of starters and main meals : vegetable pakora (good and spicy), chicken pakora (ok), tandoori chicken salad (ok), chicken bhuna (ok) and chicken Kathmandu (ok). The star of the show was the garlic naan breads - really tasty. They had Indian beer which was a treat for the boys! It was a busy evening in the restaurant and the service we received was attentive.
My expectation for the quality of food served would have been less cost so that was a bit disappointing.
Overall quality of food was ok'ish (for us) but not somewhere we'd rush back to even although it was nice to have a 'change' from the traditional American menus.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jasp1818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“tasty indian/Himalayan”
Reviewed 7 March 2014

Recently dined here and had a great dinner. The service was attentive without being annoying. Really good samosas, large and delicious. We share 4 mains between 4 people with really good garlic naan and rice. The Himalayan dumpings were great, would maybe order them to start. The sizes look abit small to start but we only just managed to finish the meal, so perfect.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank suzontour00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
253 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 269 helpful votes
“Tasteless.”
Reviewed 9 February 2014

This is the worst Indian food I've ever had. Everything was tasteless. Service left a lot to be desired.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Atalanta8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taos, New Mexico
Level Contributor
71 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“After eating here many times we were disappointed the last visit”
Reviewed 8 February 2014

We loved this restaurant in Frisco and always considered it a hidden gem with great food, fair prices, and very cordial owners. However, the last meal we had was a Huge disappointment. Three of us had dinner and each ordered a different dish with lamb. The lamb was tough, chewy with gristle and ended up on the side of all our plates. One of our party had the incorrect meal served to him. The server realized it and quickly made the change. But it was a damper from the start to the finish of the meal.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JHD421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Himalayan Cuisine also viewed

 

Been to Himalayan Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing