We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worst place for your family” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Georgetown Mountain Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Georgetown Mountain Inn
Ranked #3 of 6 Georgetown B&B and Inns
Deerfield, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Worst place for your family”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2011

I have three children and upon arrival I and one of the service people (Kristie) agreed upon price for my room, using my AAA for discount. At check in I was informed by different service lady that my price has been changed, raised, without me agreing to that new price because I had three children with me. Room was two double beds and one twin. She also said that if I don't agree to the price I can wait for Kristie to come to work at 3pm.
Inn claims to offer continental breakfast. It is the worst continental breakfast I've ever seen. The only choice is small muffin and coffee, no milk or cereal for children.
NO coffee maker in the room or any hot water / coffee offered throughout the day.
Swimming pool dirty with falling apart towels
My kids cut their feet on uneven concrete of the pool floor.
Pool is covered; however there is only outdoor access to it or to the hot tub. The worst place to stay at for the family. Not recommended.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2Gosia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    50
    27
    17
    14
See reviews for
45
43
15
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2011

Awful Awful Awful! The sheets were dirty and had stains. It was nothing like the pictures that the internet displayed. I didn't sleep for the first three nights I stayed there. After complaining on the third night, I didn't even get an answer back from the front desk. Then the next day I was so upset and the front desk attendant gave us an upgraded room. It was too late. Our vacation was already ruined. If we would have had an upgraded room from the first night it might have been different. I booked this hotel because I initially saw positive reviews. Do yourself a favor and read all the reviews before you stay there. I wouldn't wish this hotel on anyone!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kng0027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Georgetown hotels

Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2010

My girlfriend and I booked a last minute trip to go skiing. We both work as directors for five star hotels, so we have high expectations, just not a high budget. We booked a one night stay with ski pass at the Georgetown on. We expected a sub par room for the price, however, it was perfect! Our room, while a bit dated, was very clean, comfortable and had a king size bed. It is perfect for crashing after long day on slopes and is conveniently located to several mountains. The best thong is that we skied the day we left and for an additional $20, they let us come back to shower before heading to the airport! We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CRhoteltravelors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2010

we came to this place to have a family reunion and it is a very good location to town and you can ride the train and take hikes and walk just about any where in town . they have very clean rooms and the employes are very nice . they have a pool a hot tub that you can relax in after a long day . there prices are very good for being in the mountains and the rooms are very clean and very nice log style rooms they are big enough for familys. to move around in. this is a great place to come to for bussiness or fun or groups or wedding this is th place to have in mind and yo can do louds of things around town. this is a great getaway. the staff is very helpfull. they have wifi they have muffins, coffee orange juice, coco, tea in the morning. it is very nice to have that wen you wake up. i would say to everybody come and try it for yourself and see what i see. i will come back again and stay at this hotel. for any of my travel plans. i love the view the mountains you see are neat you can see animals sometimes and they are pet friendy and kids are also welcome. this is my place to stop when i am traveling threw colorado.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ada025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2010

We were coming from the other side of Rocky mountain state park and after driving over 7 hours, we ran out of steam in Georgetown. This motel was clean, quiet and spacious, and the service and disposition of the owners was welcoming and helpful. Nice continental breakfast too. Rates were reasonable, and the nearby town of Georgetown was a must see. The shops, restaurants and galleries are nestled in breathtaking mountains. The town is a 5 minute walk from the motel through historic homes and footbridges leading you over the stream that runs through the town. It is charming and enchanting during the day and an intriguing ghost town at night. The town was the setting for Dean Koontz's "Phantoms" and other movies as well. This motel is a worthwhile stop on any trip to this area.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elkl0ver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Empire, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2010

A very friendly and helpful staff will asure a return visit from us. The room was clean and all amenities were available at all times. The pool was full, the spa was working, etc. We stayed on a holiday weekend and felt the rates were more than reasonable. A very charming inn in a very charming town.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kandik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centennial, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2010

We booked a block of 12 rooms at Georgetown Mountain Inn months in advance of our daughter's July 4 wedding. The rooms were intended for the bride and groom, members of the groom's family and the bridal party. Working directly with Dawn, the inn's manager, we provided a room-by-room description of who was occupying each of the 12 rooms -- and how many people would be there. As the final week before the wedding approached, we thought we were all set. However, we were thrown off by:
1. Confused and sometimes absent staff. On July 1, a member of the inn's staff called to say that, in one of the rooms where we planned to put four people, they had substituted one king-size bed for two queen-size beds. When I pointed out that four people don't fit in one bed, she simply laughed and didn't seem to understand the problem. I had to make a series of last-minute calls to guests to arrive at a rearrangement that wouldn't involve stacking people four high.
I asked the same employee if members of the bridal party could access one or two of the 12 rooms we had booked before the 3:00 p.m. check-in time, in order to drop off luggage. The idea was to avoid making 24 people drag all their bags to the wedding venue. The employee said yes, and we said we would drop things off starting at 11:00 a.m. on July 4. We arrived at that time on July 4, only to find an empty lobby and no one at the front desk. There was no bell to ring for service, just a sign asking us to wait for someone to return. We'll never know if the two rooms we requested for luggage storage were ready, because after more than 45 minutes of waiting and shouting "Hello? Hello?", no one showed up. We had to leave for the rehearsal, bags in tow.
2. Inappropriate enforcement of the noise policy. Noise is an issue at this inn, as evidenced by "thin walls" comments in other reviews, and a policy for dealing with it makes sense. However, as soon as the bridal party arrived -- even before they had checked into their rooms -- the inn employee at the desk began following them around, apparently assuming that, since they were a large group, noise would be a problem. The employee even hovered around the closed door of the bride and groom's room, (visible through the bedroom window) leaning in to listen for noise -- a practice that's intrusive and creepy. In short, they were not welcoming to large groups.
3) Bugs. Roaches were spotted in the bathrooms of three of the 12 rooms we booked. When the lights were out in the bedroom and guests entered the bathroom and turned on the light, roaches skittered away to hiding places. They moved too fast to make clear photographs possible, although a few guests tried to document their existence with their cell phone cameras. While the bugs were not visible in the next morning's light, they were likely still there.

Don't get me wrong. I love the town of Georgetown and will definitely return. I just won't return to this inn -- particularly as part of a group reservation. And I would recommend that other guests work directly with the manager, if at all possible, since other employees are largely the problem.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LoisLeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Georgetown
19.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Golden West on Evergreen Parkway
19.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Ptarmigan Lodge
15.5 mi away
Alpine Slopes Lodge
Alpine Slopes Lodge
#3 of 6 in Keystone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Silverthorne
12.6 mi away
Winter Park Mountain Lodge
Winter Park Mountain Lodge
#4 of 15 in Winter Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
12.3 mi away
The Vintage Resort Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Georgetown Mountain Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Georgetown Mountain Inn

Property: Georgetown Mountain Inn
Address: 1100 Rose St., P.O. Box 277, Georgetown, CO 80444-0277
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Georgetown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Georgetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Georgetown Mountain Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rooms with king size beds, 2 doubles, 2 doubles and a single, 2 queens, and a suite with a bedroom and a full kitchen. Upstairs and downstairs rooms available. Heated indoor pool, outdoor hot tub. Wireless internet included. Coffee, muffins, and juice included. Pets allowed in designated rooms. 5 Minute walk from Historic Georgetown, and 5 minute drive from the Georgetown Lake. 11 Miles to Loveland, and A-Basin, Keystone, Breckenridge, Copper, Vail, and Winter Park within 60 miles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Georgetown Mountain Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Georgetown Mountain Hotel Georgetown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing