We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historical Mining Train”

Georgetown Loop Historic Railroad
Ranked #2 of 15 things to do in Georgetown
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Georgetown Loop Railroad was one of Colorado’s first visitor attractions. Completed in 1884, this spectacular stretch of three-foot narrow gauge railroad was considered an engineering marvel for its time. This is a ride to remember! The beauty of the rugged Rocky Mountains surrounds you as our old-time steam locomotive or one of our powerful diesel locomotives winds up the Clear Creek canyon. Pass by remains of gold and silver mines and breathtaking views along the line, in fully enclosed and open cars. Great family fun for kids of all ages.
Conyers, GA
Level Contributor
363 reviews
101 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
“Historical Mining Train”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

It's a short train trip to be sure, but it is rare you can ride a train that is pulled by a 1923 Shay Steam Locomotive. I visited in October when the Aspens had turned yellow. Very pretty. The staff were all very friendly. They call it a loop but technically they go one way and then back, it is not a circle per se. but there is a loop at one end of the tracks (Devil's Gate Station) so it is not inaccurate. You can visit a historic mine if you come during the warmer months (it was closed in October) There is a museum at the other station but you better visit it on your own, the time before the train left is not that long. Coach seats are less expensive, but I found the parlor a great place to view from. It had tables and chairs, and came with a free drink and snack. I did not have a chance to find out if the park had other things to do. Outside the park is the historical town of Georgetown, which is a fun place to walk through. There is also a power museum in the town. Note, there are two stations and it does not matter which one you catch the train at, the ride is the same. The only difference is which car you ride, if you ride the parlor car, you have to catch the train at Devils Gate.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank travelwriter52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

696 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    343
    228
    75
    27
    23
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Alabama
Level Contributor
107 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“good for kids & to see fall colors”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

Nice short ride (1 hr total) on train. Sat in open car so I could take photos. Nice commentary along the way. Good for kids. Was a little disappointed only b/c I have taken the Durango/Silverton RR and it is much longer with much more scenic views. And had time in Silverton to shop and eat. The Georgetown RR is a short trip so not a lot of variation in views. Nice staff but the ticket office was late opening so had to wait around for a while. Had been enjoying my trip with fewer crowds but had 2 tour buses from UK on this trip. No big deal....just so many people.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MountainsLover192
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshunt, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Second Time Lucky”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

I have travelled on this amazing line before, some years ago. It is not only the fact that this line is in itself an amazing engineering feat, but the Shay locos are marvellous. Unfortunately when we arrived for our trip, the steam loco was receiving fitters attention, and so the train was hauled by a diesel loco. However, the journey is amazing, especially going over the Devils Gate High Bridge. The views from the bridge are amazing. On return to Georgetown, we were told by the fitters that the steam loco would be running the next day. So a return visit was made the next day for a steam trip over the line. Great.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ardmore, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
221 reviews
66 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Great fall activity”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

My husband and I flew from Oklahoma to photograph the changing of the Aspen trees and had to pass through Georgetown to get to Guanella Pass. We had no idea there was a 100-year-old narrow gauge steam engine train to ride. It was beautiful passing through changing Aspens and chugging up the mountain. You have a number of choices as far as prices, one involved sitting in a dining car with snacks but we chose the open cars instead so we could get photos.

Before embarking a photographer shot a quick photo of us which they later tried to sell us an 8x10 for $20 when the picture was terribly blurry. Even the employee noticed how bad it was, definitely not worth the price and something we did not buy. The noise from the tracks and train are so loud that if you don't sit right next to the speakers, you can't hear the guide describing the area, history, etc. You also end up at a gift shop half way through and are funneled straight through it. The time there was way too short (15 min.) to go through a railroad museum (the only other thing to see). They did have bathrooms so that was convenient.

This was a good stop but probably not something we would do again unless we had grandkids with us.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Charrie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greeley, Colorado
Level Contributor
52 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“yesteryear train experience a real treat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

Our family and guests took a ride into history on the Georgetown Loop xRailway which departs from either Georgetown or Silver Plume in Colorado. we enjoyed the open air rail car mad the sound of escaping steam as the historic train wound it's way through the pine and aspen forest. Conductors and brakemen gave excellent commentary on the history of the narrow gauge train and of the historic mining town

We took the optional mine tour and went into an actual mine that had produced an abundance of silver. This mine is no longer producing but still has the original mining tools mad machinery inside. The mine is well lit and a walkway makes the going easy. Guides are friendly and tell corny jokes along with mining techniques lessons and historical accounts

Vert reasonably priced at under $40 dollars for adults for train ride and mine tour, less for train ride alone Sept 2013

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Ron S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Georgetown Loop Historic Railroad also viewed

 

Been to Georgetown Loop Historic Railroad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing