We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fascinating History” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel de Paris Museum

Hotel de Paris Museum
Ranked #5 of 15 things to do in Georgetown
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Hotel de Paris Museum, a site of the National Trust for Historic Preservation, is owned and operated by The National Society of The Colonial Dames of America in the State of Colorado. Hours may vary. Call or go online for details.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fascinating History”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013

This is a hotel with a very colorful history and even more colorful prior owner. Definitely worth paying $5 for a personalized guided tour. The museum/hotel is now expanded with the basement open for tour. Combine this venue with the Georgetown Loop Railroad, lunch in town, and you'll have a great day in Georgetown.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Brian E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    16
    5
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Arvada, Colorado
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful museum, unpleasant guide”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013

The museum was beautiful, well preserved and the tour was well throughout the house, and the tour guide was well versed in the history of the museum. However, the experience was tattered by her reaction to questions, her stand offishness and her snapping at the member of my group who was responding to a text (it was not stated previously that texting was not allowed). Although the museum was beautiful, the guide made what should have been an excellent tour less than incredible.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank mesagirl94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Highlight of the day”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2013

Drove over to Georgetown for the day from Denver. I started on the railroad which was ok and then drove down into town. It's pretty small and not much to do but I happened upon this museum and it was great. I was the only person on my tour (not sure tourist season has really started yet). I think my guides name was Sophie, I'm really bad with names but she was awesome. She was a college student from Georgetown and she really knew her history. The majority of the contents are original which is rare for places like this and it was well worth the $5 for the tour. I highly recommend this if you're in town!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank rmt5001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lupton, Colorado
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2013

I would recomend this to any one who enjoys history and tours. I have done tours all over the west and this one was the first were the items in the muesem were actual to the actual owner and not just to the period. it was 90% origianl to the origianl owner. Enjoyed it and would recomend it to any one who enjoys taking tours of american history and buildings.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tshwane, South Africa
Level Contributor
139 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“even our two kids were rapt”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2013

we happened by this museum by chance and it was the highlight of the day. our tour guide was extremely engaged and had lots of stories up his sleeve. everything in "as was in those days" condition, down to pea tins in the kitchen to beds that fold into desks...really an interesting place. don't miss it.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank finny123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hotel de Paris Museum also viewed

 

Been to Hotel de Paris Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing