We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, do-able ride along the river”

Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Owner description: This bike trail winds through a canyon and offers scenic vistas of the Colorado River.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
130 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Beautiful, do-able ride along the river”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We got to ride 7.5 miles up the river from Glenwood (trail was closed at the Shoshone Power Plant). With just one difficult climb each direction (for me, a beginner), the ride was FABULOUS -- concrete the entire way, beautifully maintained, along the river and next to the mountains and forests. The rest stops are at perfect intervals for water/snack breaks. LOVED it.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank cherylburnside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    253
    67
    7
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
New Bern, North Carolina
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good trail but surprised by locked gate”
Reviewed 3 August 2014

I had been looking forward to this trail and added it to my Colorado vacation. I was enjoying the trail and the scenery when I came upon a locked gate at close to the half-way point. There was no warning of this at the beginning of the trail and it kinda ruined my day. There should have at least put up signs so we would know.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank trlhiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blue Diamond, Nevada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A fun way to get to town and back, or enjoy the Colorado river.”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

This trail is very moderate with only one big climb going each way. Unfortunately the trail is currently shut down at Grizzly due to damage from the river.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phelan, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Pretty good ride”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

This was a very scenic ride, but was closed at mile 5 for repairs of the trail. It paralleled the Colorado River and included those walking or running the trail as well.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank sheryl t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, CO, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Canyon Beauty”
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Sure you've rode your bike on many beautiful trails, probably more difficult than Glenwood Canyon, but none more breath taking. You can't help but stop several times to gaze at the white water rafters, and the majestic heights of the canyon towering above you. How's this overused word, AWESOME!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Anthony T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Glenwood Canyon Bike Trail also viewed

 

Been to Glenwood Canyon Bike Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing