We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The ambiance” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Colorado

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Colorado
Ranked #10 of 23 Hotels in Glenwood Springs
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
97 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“The ambiance”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2013

The ambiance and character of the hotel drew us in at the first glance. Rooms were spacious and well decorated for the period. Bathroom large and well lit. It was very hot when we were there and no a/c but many fans which helped. Do not try and eat here, service slow and disorganized, waited quite awhile and then left and found another place to eat. Over-all a fun experience!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank geraldscard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devereux1893, Front Office Manager at Hotel Colorado, responded to this review, 2 August 2013
Kristin160,

The Hotel Colorado sincerely appreciates your warm compliments. We are thrilled that you had such a “memorable” stay with us, as we truly desire that all of our guests’ experiences are as “great” as yours. We look forward to accommodating and feeding you during your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

931 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    293
    313
    148
    106
    71
See reviews for
316
377
20
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (302)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2013

We recently stayed at the Hotel Colorado and had a great experience. The hotel is charming and full of history, located in a great area of a desirable tourist destination. A fan in the window helped a lot with the lack of A/C and didn't bother us at all. In addition to a great property, we were very impressed with the relatively new Food and Beverage Manager, Paul. We had the privilege of talking to him while he was filling in at the bar on the 4th of July, and he made the difference between a pleasant stay at one of our favorite hotels and a truly memorable one. Even though he was obviously busy, he made time to talk to us and gave special recognition when it came out in conversation that we were military members. We look forward to our next stay especially to enjoy the restaurants and bars under his leadership.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristin160
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devereux1893, Front Office Manager at Hotel Colorado, responded to this review, 2 August 2013
RCCamargo

Thank you for the great review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. It sounds as though you took full advantage of our beautiful courtyard and all that it has to offer. We truly look forward to accommodating you the next time you are in the Glenwood Springs area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013

The hotel is very well located, clean and beautiful. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Don't expect fancy rooms. The hotel was built in the 1890's, and it was kept as a historical landmark, so no A/C in the rooms. But it is a great way to experience overall. They have a restaurant with a patio and Adirondack chairs around a fire pit, which is a wonderful place to relax and enjoy a drink.

Room Tip: The double room is great for families with kids - 2 bedrooms with 2 queen beds each, and a shared ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RCCamargo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devereux1893, Front Office Manager at Hotel Colorado, responded to this review, 2 August 2013
RCCamargo

Thank you for the great review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. It sounds as though you took full advantage of our beautiful courtyard and all that it has to offer. We truly look forward to accommodating you the next time you are in the Glenwood Springs area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
Level Contributor
113 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013

I knew it was going to be old but I didn't know how hot the rooms could get. Easy to check in and out, parking was not easy because of a wedding at the hotel, everything was fine EXCEPT for the room temperature. They need to invest in window fans--at least for July. The outdoor patio was lovely , however I will not go back because I couldn't sleep in that hot room.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelgirl065
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
47 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2013

Looks like the common theme to these reviews is the lack of AC. As our summers get warmer (get used to it) this will be increasingly problematic. Our stay last week was lovely but made bearable with full-time use of the window fan and over-night cooling.

Just the same, this is a wonderfully charming hotel. We'll definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Douglas G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devereux1893, Front Office Manager at Hotel Colorado, responded to this review, 2 August 2013
Douglas G

We are pleased that your recent stay with us was so “lovely.” We are truly appreciative of your kind and honest review. It pleases us to know that you will be returning to our “charming” hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2013

Our family of 4 recently stayed at the Hotel Colorado. We had an amazing weekend. The historic hotel is clean, the staff was great and the food amazing. We ate dinner on the patio. We loved the Adirondack chairs that were out on the patio for relaxing. This was a perfect place to enjoy a drink. We ate breakfast as well, the biscuits and gravy were amazing.
Thanks for a great stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank COfamilyof4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devereux1893, Front Office Manager at Hotel Colorado, responded to this review, 2 August 2013
COfamilyof4

We sincerely appreciate the fantastic review! We are thrilled that your family had such a “fabulous” experience at our venerable hotel. Many thanks for all the wonderful compliments concerning our accommodations, staff, restaurant and food. We hope to see you and your family lounging in our Adirondack chairs sooner than later!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013

This hotel does not have air conditioning (no fun in mid-July). The open windows and smell of the KFC across the street was a bit off-putting. Check-in was quick and the staff was pleasant. Had to iswitch rooms due to an overflowing toilet. They didn't ask questions, but immediately switched us to a new room. Location iof this hotel s excellent and we were able to walk to the spa and dinner. Would not recommend this as a romantic getaway - there were a lot of families with young kids running around. The long, stark hallways reminded us of the movie, The Shining.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bluehighway2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devereux1893, Front Office Manager at Hotel Colorado, responded to this review, 2 August 2013
Bluehighway2013

Thank you for sharing your experience, as well as for the compliments regarding the front desk staff and service. We apologize that you had to move rooms, however we are glad that we were able to resolve the issue in a prompt and efficient manner for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Glenwood Springs hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glenwood Springs hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Glenwood Springs
Hotel Glenwood Springs
#2 of 23 in Glenwood Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 588 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Denver
Hotel Denver
#1 of 23 in Glenwood Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 833 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Antlers
BEST WESTERN Antlers
#5 of 23 in Glenwood Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 747 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Glenwood Springs
Hampton Inn Glenwood Springs
#3 of 23 in Glenwood Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 618 reviews
2.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#8 of 23 in Glenwood Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
0.8 mi away
Courtyard Glenwood Springs
Courtyard Glenwood Springs
#9 of 23 in Glenwood Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Colorado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Colorado

Property: Hotel Colorado
Address: 526 Pine St, Glenwood Springs, CO 81601-3092
Region: United States > Colorado > Glenwood Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 23 Hotels in Glenwood Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Colorado 3.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Victorian-style resort was frequented by former President Teddy Roosevelt. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Colorado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colorado Glenwood Springs
Colorado Hotel Glenwood Springs
Colorado Resort Glenwood Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing