We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing, full of so much history and character”
Review of Hotel Colorado

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Colorado
Ranked #9 of 24 Hotels in Glenwood Springs
Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Amazing, full of so much history and character”
Reviewed 17 October 2013

Loved, Loved, Loved this hotel. The ONLY reason it doesn't get a 5, is because of the noise from the highway, which is no fault of the hotels, but totally kills the mood. The highway runs straight through the centre of glenwood springs, and the trucks racing through and their air brakes are pretty irritating.

Having said that, you can't hear them in your room - only if you're outside or on the balcony.

Now, the things I loved about this hotel - the history, the fires burning out the front with adirondack chairs around them, the traditional decor, the awesome staff, the location to the springs and, the completely fabulous views!

Would love to go back to this place at christmas time! Think it would be phenomenal.

If you are someone who needs all the latest updated mod cons, this hotel may not be for you. if you can appreciate the beauty of the 4 poster beds, traditional wallpaper, and a feeling that smacks of 'boardwalk empire', then you'll love this place.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kylie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devereux1893, Front Office Manager at Hotel Colorado, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
We sincerely thank you for staying with us during your visit to Glenwood Springs. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your time with us as it seems as you took full advantage of all the wonderful things our hotel has to offer. Thank you for all the warm compliments. We will be sure to make your next experience at the Hotel Colorado even better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,042 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    330
    343
    170
    119
    80
See reviews for
367
419
23
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (332)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Huntington, New York
Level 6 Contributor
208 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Carol Townsend, at the front desk was great and let me check in early. I wish I knew before going to the Vapor Caves that I could have gotten a discount with my room key. They say this hotel is haunted, but we had no visitations. The walls are thin and had it been crowded, it could have been noisy. We had to ask for a hair dryer and the wi-fi was very slow. Small TV, but you stay here only if you like old, grand hotels with history.

Room Tip: Rooms on the East side are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dede A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devereux1893, Front Office Manager at Hotel Colorado, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Thank you for staying with us at the Hotel Colorado, as we know there are many options for lodging in Glenwood Springs. We are pleased that we were able to accommodate your early check-in. We do apologize that you had trouble with the wi-fi, and have since updated our wireless (literally last week). Again, thank you for staying with us and we appreciate all of your comments. We sincerly hope to accommodate you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thornton
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

I've stayed at this Hotel many times over the past 30+ years and will keep coming back because I value character and charm over so-called "perfection." This hotel is beautiful and big, but because it is over 100 years old, the rooms themselves have quirks and wear-and-tear. The main lobby has various seating with fireplaces and swing jazz playing. We had a great time grabbing a coffee at the coffee/gift shop and sitting, people watching and reading. The hotel also has a wonderful courtyard with seating and a fountain. We ate a breakfast, a lunch and a dinner in the hotel restaurant(s) and each were very good if not great. Everything was fairly clean. Be aware that the hotel does not have air conditioning, so the rooms can get warm, especially in the summer. However, the rooms have ceiling fans and ours also came with a box fan that we put in the window, so the two together resulted in a nice breeze that made sleeping easy (however, we did come in 60 degree weather). Our bed was comfortable and the linens were nice. The bathroom had little counter top space, but we made do. The hotel is across the street from the hot springs and a few minute walk to shops/dining downtown. Also, we got our king-bed room for under $100 per night, which beats most nice-ish hotels in the area. They also have 2 spas in the basement.

Room Tip: Come in cooler months.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StephRobertCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devereux1893, Front Office Manager at Hotel Colorado, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Thank you for staying with us time and time again. It is patrons like yourself that keep the true spirt of the Grand Dame of the West alive. We are thrilled that you enjoyed the ambiance, food, courtyard and our cozy grand lobby. We sincerely appreciate all of your suggestions and feedback and look forward to accommodating you sooner than later.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

I love historic hotels, which is why I booked the Hotel Colorado. The location is great - just a short walk over the bridge to downtown Glenwood Springs, and the hot springs are right across the street. The lobby of the hotel and its courtyard are gorgeous, with all of the historic charm you could hope for. However, the rooms are in dire need of updating. The rooms are small, with popcorn drywall and peeling paint everywhere, unsightly plumbing and heating elements, and the lighting itself is dark and dreary. Our toilet did not work in our room when we arrived, so our first experience with the hotel required a visit from maintenance. The rooms use forced gas heat, which smells awful, but if you open the windows for ventilation, the traffic from the nearby highway is very noisy. The bathrooms are small, and all of the finishes are quite dated. We needed a hair dryer, and the first one they gave us was broken, and the second one was a "mini" travel dryer that did not work well. I hate to say it, but unless they do some major renovations to their guest rooms, I would not stay there again. There are much nicer places to stay in Glenwood Springs.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katherine714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devereux1893, Front Office Manager at Hotel Colorado, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
We thank you for staying with us and are pleased that you enjoyed the beauty of out lobby and courtyard. However, we are disheartened that you did not enjoy your room accommodations, and we apologize for the issues you experienced. We appreciate your feedback, as we take all of our guests' comments and suggestions seriously to improve all aspects of our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Glenwood Springs hotels

Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

If you are looking for old world charm with great location right next to the Glenwood Hot springs. This is the place to be. Has outside fire pit to sit around and enjoy a glass of wine. The lounge has great food. Wonderful old time pictures of the area. Great place to stop and rest on a long trip or overnighter from Denver.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colorado2Connection
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devereux1893, Front Office Manager at Hotel Colorado, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
We are pleased that your enjoyed your stay at the Hotel Colorado. We truly appreciate that you stayed with us, and we sincerely look forward to accommodating you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Our stay for 2 days at this hotel Sept., 2013. was great. As you can imagine with a hotel close to 100 years old, everything is not modern. History abounds, with a museum like halls showing the life and times of Teddy Roosevelt, and more. Food is quite goo at their restaurant as well. Staff is just superb. Very informative and attentive.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaumont, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013 via mobile

If you like grand, historic hotels like I do, you have too try this one out. It is like walking back in time. The room was very comfortable. You can open the window and let the fresh air blow in while you sleep. Great pictures around the first floor of historical people who have been guests there ranging from Teddy Roosevelt to Al Capone.

The staff was very accommodating and the location is excellent. Walk across the bridge to a great selection of interesting restaurants.

This is a must stay if you are in Glenwood Springs.
.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mikesn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glenwood Springs hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Denver
Hotel Denver
#1 of 24 in Glenwood Springs
890 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Glenwood Springs
Hotel Glenwood Springs
#2 of 24 in Glenwood Springs
630 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Antlers
Best Western Antlers
#4 of 24 in Glenwood Springs
849 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Glenwood Springs
Hampton Inn Glenwood Springs
#3 of 24 in Glenwood Springs
700 reviews
1.3 mi away
Glenwood Springs Cedar Lodge
Glenwood Springs Cedar Lodge
#13 of 24 in Glenwood Springs
323 reviews
2.2 mi away
Glenwood Suites
Glenwood Suites
#7 of 24 in Glenwood Springs
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Colorado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Colorado

Property: Hotel Colorado
Address: 526 Pine St, Glenwood Springs, CO 81601-3092
Region: United States > Colorado > Glenwood Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 24 Hotels in Glenwood Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Colorado 3.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Victorian-style resort was frequented by former President Teddy Roosevelt. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TravelClick, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Colorado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colorado Glenwood Springs
Colorado Hotel Glenwood Springs
Colorado Resort Glenwood Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing