We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I am glad we stayed”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Colorado

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Colorado
Ranked #9 of 23 Hotels in Glenwood Springs
ozarks
Level Contributor
87 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“I am glad we stayed”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013

We had planned to do a vacation rental in breckenridge but that fell thru at the last minute. We stopped at Gleenwood Springs for dinner and decided to check out the historical hotel. It was beautiful but I really like historical hotels so it did lack a few of the modern amenities. It was there slow time so we were told but there appeared to be people hanging around the bar and the courtyard which was amazing. We stayed in the Roosevelt suite and loved it and all the history behind it. The bathroom was huge. We had a large balcony overlooking the courtyard, a living area, bedroom and several closets. Price was very reasonable for what we got. We ate at the restaurant one of the nights we were there and even though service was slow food was great. Had a few drinks at the bar and ordered room service for breakfast. We did not go to the hot springs but they were just across the street. I would definitely stay there again and loved the suite we stayed in. The only thing I might change is the bed was a little uncomfortable. Other than that perfect!!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ozarks_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devereux1893, Front Office Manager at Hotel Colorado, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
ozarks_7

We are so thrilled that you stumbled upon the "Grande Dame of the West" and enjoyed your time with us. We are pleased that you were able to experience the Roosevelt suite and all the charm and history it has to offer. We do apologize for the less than speedy service in the restaurant. However, we are very happy that you enjoyed the food, drinks and room service. Thank you for sharing your experience at the Hotel Colorado, and we look forward to accommodating you the next time you are in the Glenwood Springs area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

956 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    303
    316
    153
    111
    73
See reviews for
323
388
22
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (306)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Longmont, Colorado
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

We stay at the Hotel Colorado at least once a year. This time we stayed in #405, a suite. it was very pleasant - spacious, with nice views from both large windows. This hotel is a great place to hang out and relax. It is in close walking distance to many restaurants & shops, and of course the hot springs pool. For this visit we chose to eat dinner in the hotel restaurant. The chef is new since our last visit. The food was excellent, offering local & organic choices. Breakfast also was very good.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ColoradoTraveler058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devereux1893, Front Office Manager at Hotel Colorado, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Colorado Traveler…

Thank you for all the kind words. We truly appreciate you patronage to the Hotel Colorado. It is guests like yourself that keep the true spirit of the Hotel Colorado alive. We are thrilled that you enjoyed the new menu and its selections. However, our seasoned Chef Ron Jackson has been with us for quite some time and he will be very pleased to know how much you enjoyed the food. We cannot thank you enough for all the warm praises and truly look forward to accommodating you next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, Colorado
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

My sister and I stayed at this hotel for a few days in October. Wonderful ambience of the hotel, close to town, beautiful historic hotel, lovely room, friendly staff, good food in the hotel restaurant -- we had a lovely time!

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the courtyard are quieter than ones overlooking the streets. Close the door to th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiona L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devereux1893, Front Office Manager at Hotel Colorado, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Fiona L

We are so pleased that you and your sister enjoyed your recent stay with us. Thank you for all the warm praises. We truly look forward to accommodating you the next time you are in Glenwood Springs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakewood, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

This has been our go to place for a Christmas Celebration with friends. We have been there many times during the Strawberry Festival in the summer. But for the last two years a group of our friends met in Glennwood to celebrate Christmas. The hotel went all out to make sure our stay and our celebration was the very best. At the time Paul Vallejos was the food and beverage manager and Megan Cole was the Executive meetings and Catering Coordinator. Any thing we asked for they were there to make sure it was perfect. Any thing we needed for our comfort was immediately brought. We had a catered meal in our room which was the very best, if we needed more of any thing it was there in a instant. From the front desk staff, to the members listed above they bent over backwards to meet our every need. There is something special in spending the holiday season in the Hotel Colorado. The Christmas decorations are not to be missed. All over the hotel, in every hallway and on the grounds the Christmas spirit is in the hotel and with the staff. It has been so great we will again spend the Christmas season with our friends at the Hotel Colorado.

Room Tip: Select one of the suites and really enjoy the Hotel Colorado
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DocNelson2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devereux1893, Front Office Manager at Hotel Colorado, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Thank you for such a wonderful review! Words cannot express how much we appreciate patrons like yourself. Thank you for choosing the Hotel Colorado and making it a tradition with your friends and family. The holidays are just around the corner, and the decorating has already begun. It truly is a winter wonderland inside and out of the Hotel Colorado during the winter holiday season. We sincerely look forward to accommodating you again this season.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
82 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013

Loved, Loved, Loved this hotel. The ONLY reason it doesn't get a 5, is because of the noise from the highway, which is no fault of the hotels, but totally kills the mood. The highway runs straight through the centre of glenwood springs, and the trucks racing through and their air brakes are pretty irritating.

Having said that, you can't hear them in your room - only if you're outside or on the balcony.

Now, the things I loved about this hotel - the history, the fires burning out the front with adirondack chairs around them, the traditional decor, the awesome staff, the location to the springs and, the completely fabulous views!

Would love to go back to this place at christmas time! Think it would be phenomenal.

If you are someone who needs all the latest updated mod cons, this hotel may not be for you. if you can appreciate the beauty of the 4 poster beds, traditional wallpaper, and a feeling that smacks of 'boardwalk empire', then you'll love this place.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kylie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devereux1893, Front Office Manager at Hotel Colorado, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
We sincerely thank you for staying with us during your visit to Glenwood Springs. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your time with us as it seems as you took full advantage of all the wonderful things our hotel has to offer. Thank you for all the warm compliments. We will be sure to make your next experience at the Hotel Colorado even better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntington, New York
Level Contributor
198 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

Carol Townsend, at the front desk was great and let me check in early. I wish I knew before going to the Vapor Caves that I could have gotten a discount with my room key. They say this hotel is haunted, but we had no visitations. The walls are thin and had it been crowded, it could have been noisy. We had to ask for a hair dryer and the wi-fi was very slow. Small TV, but you stay here only if you like old, grand hotels with history.

Room Tip: Rooms on the East side are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dede A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devereux1893, Front Office Manager at Hotel Colorado, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Thank you for staying with us at the Hotel Colorado, as we know there are many options for lodging in Glenwood Springs. We are pleased that we were able to accommodate your early check-in. We do apologize that you had trouble with the wi-fi, and have since updated our wireless (literally last week). Again, thank you for staying with us and we appreciate all of your comments. We sincerly hope to accommodate you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thornton
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

I've stayed at this Hotel many times over the past 30+ years and will keep coming back because I value character and charm over so-called "perfection." This hotel is beautiful and big, but because it is over 100 years old, the rooms themselves have quirks and wear-and-tear. The main lobby has various seating with fireplaces and swing jazz playing. We had a great time grabbing a coffee at the coffee/gift shop and sitting, people watching and reading. The hotel also has a wonderful courtyard with seating and a fountain. We ate a breakfast, a lunch and a dinner in the hotel restaurant(s) and each were very good if not great. Everything was fairly clean. Be aware that the hotel does not have air conditioning, so the rooms can get warm, especially in the summer. However, the rooms have ceiling fans and ours also came with a box fan that we put in the window, so the two together resulted in a nice breeze that made sleeping easy (however, we did come in 60 degree weather). Our bed was comfortable and the linens were nice. The bathroom had little counter top space, but we made do. The hotel is across the street from the hot springs and a few minute walk to shops/dining downtown. Also, we got our king-bed room for under $100 per night, which beats most nice-ish hotels in the area. They also have 2 spas in the basement.

Room Tip: Come in cooler months.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StephRobertCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devereux1893, Front Office Manager at Hotel Colorado, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Thank you for staying with us time and time again. It is patrons like yourself that keep the true spirt of the Grand Dame of the West alive. We are thrilled that you enjoyed the ambiance, food, courtyard and our cozy grand lobby. We sincerely appreciate all of your suggestions and feedback and look forward to accommodating you sooner than later.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glenwood Springs hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Denver
Hotel Denver
#1 of 23 in Glenwood Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 844 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Glenwood Springs
Hotel Glenwood Springs
#2 of 23 in Glenwood Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 596 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Antlers
BEST WESTERN Antlers
#5 of 23 in Glenwood Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Glenwood Springs
Hampton Inn Glenwood Springs
#3 of 23 in Glenwood Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 638 reviews
0.8 mi away
Courtyard Glenwood Springs
Courtyard Glenwood Springs
#8 of 23 in Glenwood Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
1.3 mi away
Glenwood Springs Cedar Lodge
Glenwood Springs Cedar Lodge
#13 of 23 in Glenwood Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Colorado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Colorado

Property: Hotel Colorado
Address: 526 Pine St, Glenwood Springs, CO 81601-3092
Region: United States > Colorado > Glenwood Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 23 Hotels in Glenwood Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Colorado 3.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Victorian-style resort was frequented by former President Teddy Roosevelt. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, TravelClick, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Colorado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colorado Glenwood Springs
Colorado Hotel Glenwood Springs
Colorado Resort Glenwood Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing