We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not wowed”
Review of Hotel Colorado

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Colorado
Ranked #11 of 23 Hotels in Glenwood Springs
New Mexico
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Not wowed”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

We arrived in Glenwood Springs without a reservation and upon sight I decided to try Hotel Colorado. I was pleased to find a vacancy at a reasonable rate. Checking in, i was told that they had a no pet policy and even signed a waiver that I would not have a pet in the room. Then we went to the car to get our bags and passed an adorable Sheltie and her master. Apparently the no pet policy was for my particular room. I love dogs, So, this did not bother me other than the mixed message I received. The room was clean but 100 years old. The bed was a spring mattress that made me feel that I could bounce my wife out with an abrupt movement. I did love the history of the hotel and appreciate that it was still being cared for. And perhaps I was disappointed that I didn't see a ghost wandering the halls.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Canyongeezer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devereux1893, Front Office Manager at Hotel Colorado, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
We apologize for the confusion with the pet policy. We absolutely accept pets, however you must declare them which is what the registration form states. We are certainly glad that you enjoyed our rich history. We are sorry that you did not have a good experience concerning our mattress, as they are only slightly over 2 years old. Thank you for your comments and sorry that you did not see any ghosts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

969 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    310
    317
    155
    113
    74
See reviews for
328
393
22
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (309)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Augusta, Georgia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Hotel Colorado for two weeks in celebration of our honeymoon. Now that our vacation is drawing to a close, we don't want to leave. As charming and thought-provoking as the atmosphere of the hotel is, it was the hospitality of the staff that won us over. All of the staff members have been warm and welcoming, rarely have I encountered such courtesy in hotel staff. They have repeatedly gone out of their way to make us comfortable. Kimberly, the front desk manager, routinely checked up on us to see how our stay was going. My wife and I are already planning to return for an anniversary. Thank you Hotel Colorado for helping to make our stay in Glenwood Springs an exceptional experience!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChadNBeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devereux1893, Front Office Manager at Hotel Colorado, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
ChadNBeth,

We can't thank you enough for choosing to stay with us on such a special occasion. It was truly a pleasure accommodating you both and we look forward to your return. We sincerely appreciate all of the compliments and warm praises. Please call me directly when you would like to stay with us again. We will be sure to make your 1st anniversary just as amazing as your honeymoon. Congratulations again from the Hotel Colorado!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2013

We chose this hotel as it was closest to the Glenwood activites, the downtown shopping and the Springs Pool. At check in the clerk (Jesse), was extremely friendly and explained what was going on in the community. We have a small dog and the Hotel is PET Friendly for a small fee. The lobby was elegant, two large fireplaces, plenty of seating and easy access to the dining room and the lounge. Our room had a large king bed, with a parlor attached that had a microwave, another TV, refrigerator, a coffee pot and a couch that could have held our two other guests. We noted the room was well appointed and very clean. The 5th floor had many many pictures and articles related to President Teddy Roosevelt and it was easy to meander the halls reading the history of one of the hotels very famous guests. We had room servcie and the server was friendly and the food was excellent. My wife had the tomatoe bisque and I had the Ceasar salad, we both had the strawberry shortcake. During the day and evening there are adirondack chairs throughout the courtyard and two fire pits which were crowded all night. The evening was cool but the fire pits gave enough heat to enjoy sitting out under the stars. The hotel staff were getting ready for the holidays as we saw hundreds of Christmas decorations being place all over the building.

Room Tip: The top floors facing the courtyard offer the morning sun
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank larrywelch613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devereux1893, Front Office Manager at Hotel Colorado, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
We are thrilled that you and your wife had such a wonderful guest experience while staying with us at the Hotel Colorado. Thank you for selecting the Hotel Colorado, as well as appreciating all that it has to offer. We look forward to accommodating you in the future, and please consider the Hotel Colorado your home away from home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mission Viejo, California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

A friend and I stayed here in late Ocober, 2013. The hotel opened in 1893 and has had many famous people stay here including President Theodore Roosevelt and Al Capone.
The rooms are large and the beds are really comfortable.
The staff are very friendly and helpful.
The hotel is withing walking distance to the famous Glenwood natural hot springs and several restaurants. The 'Village Inn' is open for breakfast at 6am.
Our travel plans did not require us to go further east than Glenwood Springs but we took the I-70 east for a few miles to pass through Glenwood Canyon.
I am so glad that we didn't miss seeing this amazing canyon. The freeway is constructed in such a way as to minimize it's intrusion through this beautiful place and has been described as an engineering marvel.
Thank you Hotel Colorado.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank montybush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devereux1893, Front Office Manager at Hotel Colorado, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
A million thanks for choosing the Hotel Colorado. We are fully aware that there are several lodging options in the Glenwood Springs area . We sincerely appreciate all of the compliments and kind praises. We look forward to hopefully accommodating you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, CO
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

The Hotel Colorado clearly delivers on history, charm, and ambience. Think fireplaces in cozy nooks in the lobby perfect for reading or meditating. Think large treed courtyard with fountain and firepits to warm a cool autumn evening. We were lucky enough to find autumn still residing in Glenwood as the foliage was spectacular. One evening as we sat in the courtyard, the leaves began their last dance, touching our hair and shoulders as they fell to the ground.. a lovely moment filled with nostalgia as the season
began its slow drift away. Though the hotel rooms are warm and inviting,they are definitely more sparse than many. There was little storage and the bathroom was on the smaller side with no room for storage either. I don't believe that hair dryers are standard. There was, however, a large new Television, lots of hot water and plenty of thirsty towels. So there are some small inconveniences to stay in a place that shouts history. A guided walk through the hotel is provided by a costumed guide on select days. However, a walk through the hotel on one's own is quite a historical journey through photos and artifacts. Would definitely return to this hotel. The location overlooks the hotsprings and is a short walk to shopping, restaurants and the sweet old neighborhoods of Glenwood Springs. This is a wonderful place for those traveling with dogs, ($25 extra) The bowl of dog bones on the counter assures that they are welcome. Staff is friendly and helpful. Coffee shop opens at 6:30 as there are no coffee pots or fridges in the room

Room Tip: Overlooking the hotsprings and courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeachLovers86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devereux1893, Front Office Manager at Hotel Colorado, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
We are thrilled that you enjoyed your recent stay with us at the Hotel Colorado. It sounds as if you took advantage of the serene ambiance that is synonomous with our venerable hotel. Thank you so much for staying with us, as well as voicing your compliments, comments and concerns. We take all of our guests' feedback seriously and appreciate you sharing your experience at our hotel. We look forward to accommodating you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ozarks
Level Contributor
87 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

We had planned to do a vacation rental in breckenridge but that fell thru at the last minute. We stopped at Gleenwood Springs for dinner and decided to check out the historical hotel. It was beautiful but I really like historical hotels so it did lack a few of the modern amenities. It was there slow time so we were told but there appeared to be people hanging around the bar and the courtyard which was amazing. We stayed in the Roosevelt suite and loved it and all the history behind it. The bathroom was huge. We had a large balcony overlooking the courtyard, a living area, bedroom and several closets. Price was very reasonable for what we got. We ate at the restaurant one of the nights we were there and even though service was slow food was great. Had a few drinks at the bar and ordered room service for breakfast. We did not go to the hot springs but they were just across the street. I would definitely stay there again and loved the suite we stayed in. The only thing I might change is the bed was a little uncomfortable. Other than that perfect!!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ozarks_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devereux1893, Front Office Manager at Hotel Colorado, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
ozarks_7

We are so thrilled that you stumbled upon the "Grande Dame of the West" and enjoyed your time with us. We are pleased that you were able to experience the Roosevelt suite and all the charm and history it has to offer. We do apologize for the less than speedy service in the restaurant. However, we are very happy that you enjoyed the food, drinks and room service. Thank you for sharing your experience at the Hotel Colorado, and we look forward to accommodating you the next time you are in the Glenwood Springs area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Longmont, Colorado
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

We stay at the Hotel Colorado at least once a year. This time we stayed in #405, a suite. it was very pleasant - spacious, with nice views from both large windows. This hotel is a great place to hang out and relax. It is in close walking distance to many restaurants & shops, and of course the hot springs pool. For this visit we chose to eat dinner in the hotel restaurant. The chef is new since our last visit. The food was excellent, offering local & organic choices. Breakfast also was very good.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ColoradoTraveler058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devereux1893, Front Office Manager at Hotel Colorado, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Colorado Traveler…

Thank you for all the kind words. We truly appreciate you patronage to the Hotel Colorado. It is guests like yourself that keep the true spirit of the Hotel Colorado alive. We are thrilled that you enjoyed the new menu and its selections. However, our seasoned Chef Ron Jackson has been with us for quite some time and he will be very pleased to know how much you enjoyed the food. We cannot thank you enough for all the warm praises and truly look forward to accommodating you next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glenwood Springs hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Denver
Hotel Denver
#1 of 23 in Glenwood Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 852 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Glenwood Springs
Hotel Glenwood Springs
#2 of 23 in Glenwood Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 604 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Antlers
Best Western Antlers
#5 of 23 in Glenwood Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Glenwood Springs
Hampton Inn Glenwood Springs
#3 of 23 in Glenwood Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 655 reviews
0.8 mi away
Courtyard Glenwood Springs
Courtyard Glenwood Springs
#8 of 23 in Glenwood Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
1.3 mi away
Glenwood Springs Cedar Lodge
Glenwood Springs Cedar Lodge
#13 of 23 in Glenwood Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Colorado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Colorado

Property: Hotel Colorado
Address: 526 Pine St, Glenwood Springs, CO 81601-3092
Region: United States > Colorado > Glenwood Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 23 Hotels in Glenwood Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Colorado 3.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Victorian-style resort was frequented by former President Teddy Roosevelt. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Booking.com and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Hotel Colorado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colorado Glenwood Springs
Colorado Hotel Glenwood Springs
Colorado Resort Glenwood Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing