We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We checked out early!”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Colorado

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Colorado
Ranked #10 of 23 Hotels in Glenwood Springs
Berkhamsted, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“We checked out early!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2013

We stayed here in July. It is unbearably hot. The location is great, the springs are great.... but the service and the hotel leave quite a lot to be desired... It took forever to check in, the rooms were average. Personally, I quite liked the 'authenticity' about the place - If Abraham Lincoln had passed in the corridors, you wouldn't have questioned it - but the heat is stifling. The ice machines didn't work. Nor did the cold drinks vending machine. I tried to get some iced water from Reception, but (even though there were staff there) they don't do service until 6am. We checked out after a day and continued on our journey.

Room Tip: I'd recommend the Hotel Denver!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Squarepegparent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devereux1893, Front Office Manager at Hotel Colorado, responded to this review, 29 December 2013
Thank you for sharing your comments regarding your stay with this past summer. We extend our sincerest apologizes for this issues you experienced with the vending and especially concerning the level of customer service you received. Every employee is expected to go above and beyond, and we apologize that our staff did not provide this level of service to you. If you ever plan to be in the area again or would like to discuss your stay further please contact me at the hotel directly. Thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

954 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    303
    316
    152
    110
    73
See reviews for
323
386
22
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (306)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2013

The room was unbearably HOT. The front desk told me to turn off the radiator and open the window, which I did. At 3 am it was still HOT. I had a meeting the next morning and wasn't able to sleep.

The rooms are in need of updates.

Room Tip: Check out the Hotel Denver or Courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Weyout77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devereux1893, Front Office Manager at Hotel Colorado, responded to this review, 29 December 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Hotel Colorado. We are very disheartened that you did not have a comfortable stay with us. We are unsure as to why your room did not cool down as this is not a common issue. However, we sincerely apologize for the inconvenience and appreciate your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Glenwood Springs hotels

Colorado
Level Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2013

My hisband and I visited the hotel 12 Dec 2013 thru 15 Dec 2013. The place is historic and they try to keep it that way. If you are looking for a modern facility, please go elsewhere. Dont come here then write a rude review later. Do your research. I saw that someone had complained about the lack of a hairdryer in the room. Well honey, no where on their website does it say they provide one, so if you were unsure if they did (if you couldn't be bothered to visit their website) call and ask.

The staff was polit and pleasant and went out of their way to make us feel welcome. They will do that if you treat them with respect. Just saying. The room was exactly what we signed on for. It was very warm, so we turned off the radiator, left the window open and used the fans. Again....old building...but not a dealbreaker or anything I would come here and unfairly complain about. The place is all decorated for xmas was is just lovely. They are dog friendly as well, and we managed to meet one sweet, well behaved little pup.

Per usual, there were some jerky parents there with their equally jerky offspring who refused to follow the rules and let their kids run wild. I'd be way more apt to yank these people's choke chains if I worked there. This is a historic, beautiful, elegant place. If you want to act like a Motel 6 customer, please, on behalf of all of us who have some common human decency, go there and knock yourselves out. Lots of drunks roaming the halls and yelling. Lots of people out in the courtyard smoking (since you cant smoke indoors) which is fine. I was a former smoker myself. The hooting and hollering and drunken shenanigans (when your very young kids are with you-yes, we all saw you) were a little much at times, and I am pretty surprised the hotel doesnt try to curtail that a little better,

Lots of cool history....look for it....ask to see it....We happened to be walking by the Roosevelt Suite and were allowed inside by a very pleasant employee just by asking nicely. We did not get a chance to see the Molly Brown Suite (I heard it is very nice) so maybe next time. The staff were attentive and friendly. We only asked for one item the entire time we were there (an extra pillow) and it was at our door within 2 minutes after asking. Heres hoping that the trashy people who insist on coming here dont destroy this marvelous piece of history.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JenniferGrimm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franklin
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2013

It was an easy walk from The Hotel Colorado (or they wd take you). WE loved the steamy springs on the -10 degrees days. It was awesome. Next time, I will swim laps in the other pool. Most enjoyable, and nice changing / shower rooms too.

Helpful?
Thank DorothyLouise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franklin
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2013

Magnificent!! This is the word that comes to mind when I think of our recent stay (12/5-12/11/13) at The Hotel Colorado. Just entering the Hotel made us feel wrapped up in the Christmas Spirit. The decorations were unbelievable...it seemed like no matter how often I walked around the hotel and grounds, I always found something new! The rooms were impeccably prepared and the beds, oh, so comfy for us. The food in both the restaurant and Legends was scrumptious. We enjoyed every bite. I especially appreciated that they offered special "Juice" drinks for those of us who 'juice' at home. They were yummy and very reasonably priced. I had one every morning for breakfast. My husband had everything from cereal to eggs, and it was all delicious. The Front Office Staff was most engaging and helpful. EVERYONE was so kind and went out of their way to make us feel welcome and meet our needs. Kimberly, the Front Office Manager is a real jewel. She was always busy tending to the needs of all that she encountered. Marion and Kathy from Legends were so nice to greet me each morning, as I came down for coffee or tea to sit in front of the fire. The other staff all were equally as nice...just too many to name here.

We travel a great deal. Customer service means a lot to us. This hotel staff goes to all lengths to make your stay pleasurable, restful and memorable.

I would recommend that you put The Hotel Colorado on your list of "to go" places. We plan to come back annually. It is a real treasure, and so reasonably priced.

Thank you, staff, for a trip that will not be soon forgotten!!

Room Tip: The suites on the 5th floor are awesome, especially if you have a family or two couples. The views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DorothyLouise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2013

Many years ago my husband and I stayed across the river at the Hotel Denver and after walking through the foyer of the Hotel Colorado we vowed to come back and stay. Well last night we did just that with our 14 month old daughter. Our room was part of a AAA incentive package and was the KING room. We arrived and the foyer was beautifully decorated for Christmas so we were so excited, and then rapidly DISAPPOINTED.
Our room was stale and overheated to the point of dehydration. We had no fan and the window had to be proppsed up with a Coca-Cola bottle. The fly screen was broken, there was no tv remote, pulling down the bed covers we found human hairs all over the sheets. The bathroom had horrible scratchy towels that were not completely clean and there were barely any toiletries- certainly not enough for the two adults we were paying for.
We had the window open all night in the dead of winter up in the Colorado mountains and yet it remained that hot that our daughter had to sleep in her diaper just to get sleep and now has a heat induced diaper rash.
In the morning we complained and advised we were checking out immediately, although the hotel refunded the nights accomodation (we had planned to stay three nights- not likely!) we were not offered an upgraded stay and our meal from the previous night was not comped. They advised they would have the heating checked out but did not mention the cleanliness issue.

I would definately not recommend the Hotel Colorado to anyone- dont get fooled by the pretty foyer!

Room Tip: Do not request a room here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank COAussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steamboat Springs, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2013

Our family gathered in Glenwood Springs this year for our Thanksgiving Holiday. There were 9 of us plus 2 dogs and we were so glad we decided to stay at the Hotel Colorado. The staff was so helpful, nice and personable! Kimberly, the front office manager, really took good care of all our needs including arranging for an extra room upon our arrival and, finding a lost beloved stuffed toy animal. We enjoyed 2 wonderful breakfasts and a great Thanksgiving feast in the dinning room. The hotel is so historic that it is like staying at a museum - everyone learned something. We also enjoyed the holiday decorations.
The location is perfect since it is across the street from the hot springs pool and right on the Glenwood Canyon bike path which is great for walking dogs and people! We even saw a large herd of bighorn sheep on Thanksgiving Day just past the tunnel.
Thank you to all the staff for making this a great holiday for our family!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ExploreTravel123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devereux1893, Front Office Manager at Hotel Colorado, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
You are more than welcome and it was a pleasure assisting you during you recent holiday stay. Many thanks for choosing to stay with us, and we sincerely appreciate all the warm praises. We look forward to accommodating you and your family in the future. Happy Holidays!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glenwood Springs hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Denver
Hotel Denver
#1 of 23 in Glenwood Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 844 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Glenwood Springs
Hotel Glenwood Springs
#2 of 23 in Glenwood Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 596 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Antlers
BEST WESTERN Antlers
#5 of 23 in Glenwood Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Glenwood Springs
Hampton Inn Glenwood Springs
#3 of 23 in Glenwood Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 635 reviews
0.8 mi away
Courtyard Glenwood Springs
Courtyard Glenwood Springs
#8 of 23 in Glenwood Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
1.3 mi away
Glenwood Springs Cedar Lodge
Glenwood Springs Cedar Lodge
#13 of 23 in Glenwood Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Colorado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Colorado

Property: Hotel Colorado
Address: 526 Pine St, Glenwood Springs, CO 81601-3092
Region: United States > Colorado > Glenwood Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 23 Hotels in Glenwood Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Colorado 3.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Victorian-style resort was frequented by former President Teddy Roosevelt. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Colorado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colorado Glenwood Springs
Colorado Hotel Glenwood Springs
Colorado Resort Glenwood Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing