We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Did everything to make us happy!”
Review of Hotel Colorado

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Colorado
Ranked #11 of 24 Hotels in Glenwood Springs
Reviewed 21 February 2014

We came to the Hotel Colorado for our year anniversary and purchased the splash and crash package. Originally, we were placed in a room that was not quite suited for us. Jesse and Kimberly at the front desk immediately remedied the situation. They placed us in a beautiful room! We were incredibly impressed with the quality of the room. The atmosphere was exactly what we expected from this historic hotel. Thank you so much Hotel Colorado for a wonderful experience!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KellMel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devereux1893, Front Office Manager at Hotel Colorado, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2014

You are more than welcome KellMell. It was our pleasure accommodating you during such a special occasion. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your anniversary while staying at the Hotel Colorado, and we hope to see you next year for anniversary #2!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,093)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

782 - 788 of 1,093 reviews

Reviewed 18 February 2014

Very grand and historically significant hotel built in 1893. I was there with co-workers for our annual company meeting, and the hotel staff really helped make our meeting a success, and our dinner party fun! The rooms are clean and comfortable. Located right next to the soothing Hot Springs. Allow time for exploring the hotel and reading all the captions under the old photographs on the walls.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debbie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devereux1893, Front Office Manager at Hotel Colorado, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2014

Well, nothing beats annual business meetings with a mix of pleasure! We are pleased that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay with us, and we certainly look forward to accommodating you next year. Many thanks for sharing your experience along with your compliments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014

We stayed in the large suite on the third floor for a girls weekend... this beautiful HUGE suite has two bedrooms and two bathrooms! Perfect for four girlfriends. There is a lovely balcony that overlooks the center court area and below this balcony is where President Teddy Roosevelt spoke so many years ago. We ate at the restaurant and the food, while pricey, was very good... and the service excellent. Right across the street from the hot springs, it was perfect even in wintertime to walk right across the street!

We will definitely go back to the Hotel Colorado again. If you don't mind an old building with thin walls - be a guest there! Maybe you'll even see a ghost!

Room Tip: We stayed in the large suite - room 326/328. Just perfect for a larger group. The view of the cour...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shari S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devereux1893, Front Office Manager at Hotel Colorado, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2014

We cannot thank you enough for choosing to spend your girl’s weekend at the Hotel Colorado. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your accommodations, as well as our restaurant. We sincerely appreciate your warm praises and look forward to accommodating you on the next girl’s weekend.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

We were traveling to visit a relative who lives in Colorado, and based upon her recommendation, we booked an evening at the Hotel Colorado. When we arrived at the hotel we were impressed with grand outward appearance of the hotel, and we continued to be impressed by the hotel and its staff during our stay.

The hotel was built in 1893, and has hosted numerous famous, and some infamous guests. The most notable guests were U.S. Presidents Theodore Roosevelt in 1905, and William Howard Taft in 1909. Roosevelt enjoyed his first stay in the hotel so much that he returned year after year.

The hotel has recently been renovated and restored while retaining most of its original grand appearance. We stayed in the Roosevelt Suite, which is quite large, and we were very pleased with the condition and charm of this suite. The suite and the entire hotel are decorated the style of early 1900's and equipped with in period furnishings. Modern conveniences such as an in-room fridge, microwave, and coffee service are tastefully provided. The entire hotel is like a museum, including paintings, photos and memorabilia from its varied and famous guests, that are easily enjoyed as you tour the hotel.

We enjoyed a wonderful and relaxed dinner in the Hotel's Polo Wine & Martini Lounge. The options in the lounge were similar to pub food, but was kicked up a notch. For example, the angus burger was grilled to order, topped with smoky bacon, and served with French fries seasoned with white truffles. Excellent! The food was well prepared and the service was efficient and courteous.

The hotel goes all out each year to decorate for the Christmas season, and during our visit in January, most of the beautiful decorations were still in place.

We will definitely return to this hotel in the future.

Room Tip: The Roosevelt Suite is priced a bit higher, but based upon its location, view, and furnishings, I wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Albert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devereux1893, Front Office Manager at Hotel Colorado, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2014

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. Thank you for choosing to stay at the Hotel Colorado, as well as appreciating all that our venerable hotel has to offer. We extend our sincerest thanks for all the wonderful compliments, and we hope to accommodate you in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

One of Colorado's great historic hotels, but really needs way more attention to detail. We've stayed many times, and just wish they would get it all together, make it the wow experience it should be. Like other reviewers, we've stayed at many historic hotels, and understand the fine line between charm and shabbiness. For example, scratched-up toilet seat and tubs just look dirty and can easily be touched up or replaced. Stain marks and paint peeling off the ceiling in the bathroom, shower curtain ripped off last grommet, easy fixes that would make a big difference. The management says the furniture is dated to the 1800's but no, in our room the dressers were cheap fabricated plastic-y stuff you'd find at a yard sale (and not buy). As far as cheapness goes, there was one single sheet of notepad paper by the phone. The toiletries included one shampoo, one conditioner, 2 soaps, none of which were replenished the 2nd day. The carpet was not vacuumed after our first night, which was just noticeable b/c of all the snowy weather and was not pleasant to not have cleaned. The in-room book needs to have instructions as to how to work the radiator (many have said it's too hot or too cold and so please give tips on how to regulate for best results) and it's the only heat source for the room, which doesn't reach into the sitting area or bathroom. Stifling near it, chilly as you move away. Also how to work the TV; it took several minutes for us to figure out how to even get a picture. We tried to get a soda from the vending machines and the ones on the 2nd and 3rd floors did not work; I notice a previous review saying same, and they still weren't fixed. So, little things maybe, but it's these attention to detail things that make a huge difference in what is supposed to be the nicest place around. Beds were very comfy, I will say. Go for the atmosphere, and the staff we encountered were all pleasant, but be warned the standards don't seem as high as other historic hotels. I notice the management responds to some reviews, which shows they do take some interest; maybe they'll take some suggestions to heart. We'd love to recommend the Hotel C unreservedly.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CatLoverColorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devereux1893, Front Office Manager at Hotel Colorado, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2014

We too want you to recommend our hotel unreservedly as well. Thank you for all of your suggestions and comments, as we do take all of our guests' input to heart. We will use your review as a tool to improve the overall quality of our hotel as we continually strive to do. Thank you for staying with us and we truly hope to accommodate you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2014

We stayed here in January and attended a fabulous wedding. The rooms were comfortable and beautifully decorated. Housekeeping did a fantastic job and the staff was very attentive to our needs. Dog friendly, so bring them along! The wedding we attended was in the Devereux room. Gorgeous barrel vaulted ceiling, great lighting and a very grand and romantic feel to the entire place. The food was amazing and the banquet service staff was very efficient and professional. I would highly recommend having an event here. They have many other ballrooms and meeting rooms to choose from and we were given a tour by one of the Catering Managers. Everything was handled with attention to detail and great care. Will definately stay here again!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lynnie63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

A group of us came here in January 2014 and we immediately fell in love with the Hotel Colorado.

The staff was friendly and attentive.

The history of the hotel is amazing. And they have pictures, articles and artifacts spread throughout the hotel that will keep you busy reading about the likes of past guests such as Teddy Roosevelt, Doc Holliday, the unsinkable Molly Brown and more.

We found the rooms to be in great condition with outstanding maid service.

We ordered room service and each time everything was handled perfectly.

We came in the winter and the radiator heating provided plenty of warmth. The courtyard to the hotel is wonderful with trees lit up at night to create a magic vibe.

The location of the hotel is excellent - kitty korner to a fantastic Polish restaurant, liquor store and market. Across from the hotel is a Kentucky Fried Chicken and Fiesta Guadalajara restaurant, so food offerings were plentiful near the hotel. And of course in the hotel is Baron's restaurant which served us fantastic meals.

Down the street is a gas station with mini mart which we used to stock up on cheap bottled water, sodas, and chips for the upcoming Super Bowl game we watched.

We were able to walk around both sides of Glenwood Springs with the excellent network of sidewalks leading from the hotel.

We had originally booked our stay at the Hot Springs Lodge, but when we did further research into Hotel Colorado we realized that for the same price we could get nicer rooms and incredible ambiance.

You should give this historic hotel a try. It's not well-suited for those who want the contemporary vibe with new plastic and acrylic furniture and electrically automated mini-blinds. However, it is a FANTASTIC hotel for those who want well-appointed traditional luxury, with fireplaces in the lobby, gorgeous chandeliers, wooden ceiling fans, antique furniture, and a history-rich environment that will transport you back to a time where luxury and service involved a relaxing and tasteful experience.

Room Tip: Balcony rooms overlooking the courtyard offer the most enriching experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joe W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glenwood Springs hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Denver
Hotel Denver
#1 of 24 in Glenwood Springs
921 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Glenwood Springs
Hotel Glenwood Springs
#2 of 24 in Glenwood Springs
642 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Antlers
Best Western Antlers
#4 of 24 in Glenwood Springs
893 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Glenwood Springs
Hampton Inn Glenwood Springs
#3 of 24 in Glenwood Springs
723 reviews
1.3 mi away
Glenwood Springs Cedar Lodge
Glenwood Springs Cedar Lodge
#13 of 24 in Glenwood Springs
334 reviews
2.2 mi away
Glenwood Suites
Glenwood Suites
#7 of 24 in Glenwood Springs
362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Colorado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Colorado

Address: 526 Pine St, Glenwood Springs, CO 81601-3092
Region: United States > Colorado > Glenwood Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 24 Hotels in Glenwood Springs
Price Range: £84 - £150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Colorado 3.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Victorian-style resort was frequented by former President Teddy Roosevelt. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Colorado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colorado Glenwood Springs
Colorado Hotel Glenwood Springs
Colorado Resort Glenwood Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing