We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Faded glory”
Review of Hotel Colorado

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Colorado
Ranked #8 of 24 Hotels in Glenwood Springs
Reviewed 3 March 2014

It's a grand old hotel that has seen better days. We came for an overnight visit to check out the hot springs across the street from the hotel. The lobby and common areas are quite nice but the rooms leave much to be desired. The furniture was chipped, worn, laminate that is the quality you would see in a cheap roadside motel. The paint is chipped in many places and the carpet worn. I realize it's an old hotel but the renovation was poorly done. There are exposed electrical wires stapled along the baseboard. There was one electrical outlet for the whole room. To give some extra outlets, they plugged a multi-plug surge protector. The doors to the room are an inch too short. As a result, you hear everything that goes on in the hallways. The radiator heat couldn't be adjusted and the temperature was sweltering all night. The pillows and mattress were poor quality. The carpets in the stairway look like they hadn't been vacuumed in a couple of days. It's a beautiful old building in a great setting but the rooms really have the feel of a low end motel chain.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FLguyTampa_FL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devereux1893, Front Office Manager at Hotel Colorado, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2014

We are sincerely sorry that you did not enjoy your accommodations while staying with us. If you would like to discuss your stay further please contact me directly at the hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,070)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Colorado
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

756 - 762 of 1,070 reviews

Reviewed 2 March 2014

We stayed here for Valentine's Day weekend 2014. The hotel property and surrounding area is beautiful with tons of history. The front desk staff and shuttle driver were friendly and accommodated our every request. The hotel is within walking distance to the hot springs pool and the main area of Glenwood which has great restaurants. We really enjoyed the Brew Pub and The Pullman. We plan on staying here again - Great Experience!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
Thank Milton C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devereux1893, Front Office Manager at Hotel Colorado, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2014

We are thrilled that you had such a wonderful guest experience during your recent stay with us. We extend our deepest gratitude for choosing to stay at the Hotel Colorado on such a special occasion. Thank you for all the warm comments and we look forward to accommodating you during your next visit to Glenwood Springs.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014

We got married on the 14th and decided to spend our "honeymoon" weekend in Glenwood Springs. Chose the Hotel Colorado based off of location because we wanted to be close to the hot springs. I booked online and chose the "Penthouse Level" because the online site said "for something extra special". I booked the Valentine's Day package, with a rose and champange in the room and turn down service. When we got to the hotel staff was friendly, but when we went to the room there was no champange waiting (which I wanted due to the fact we had just been married), I had to call front desk to get champange, and a window was open without a screen (which led to a bug problem, that we dealt with all weekend. I even had bugs in my bag when we got home). Room was ok, but for the price not the "extra special" I had expected for our weekend. Also, even though we were on the "Penthouse" floor there was still one room above our with children running around at all hours. I wish I would have known that or I would have booked the top room. We ordered breakfast in room which we scheduled for 915, (because we had an appointment at 1030 for snowmobiling) and they were over 30 minutes late making us late for our appointment. So only order breakfast in room if you have no other plans. Otherwise, proximity to hot springs is fabulous, hotel is very hisotoric, and stay was nice.

Room Tip: If you prefer rooms with no noise, go for top floor, we were on "Penthouse level", and sti...
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heidi V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devereux1893, Front Office Manager at Hotel Colorado, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2014

The Hotel Colorado prides itself in customer service, but we fell short his time. Thank you for your honest review, as it allows us to take implement necessary procedural changes. We are honored that you chose The Hotel Colorado for your honeymoon, and hope to see you in the future so that you might experience the 'true' spirit of our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

We came to the Hotel Colorado for our year anniversary and purchased the splash and crash package. Originally, we were placed in a room that was not quite suited for us. Jesse and Kimberly at the front desk immediately remedied the situation. They placed us in a beautiful room! We were incredibly impressed with the quality of the room. The atmosphere was exactly what we expected from this historic hotel. Thank you so much Hotel Colorado for a wonderful experience!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KellMel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devereux1893, Front Office Manager at Hotel Colorado, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2014

You are more than welcome KellMell. It was our pleasure accommodating you during such a special occasion. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your anniversary while staying at the Hotel Colorado, and we hope to see you next year for anniversary #2!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Very grand and historically significant hotel built in 1893. I was there with co-workers for our annual company meeting, and the hotel staff really helped make our meeting a success, and our dinner party fun! The rooms are clean and comfortable. Located right next to the soothing Hot Springs. Allow time for exploring the hotel and reading all the captions under the old photographs on the walls.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debbie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devereux1893, Front Office Manager at Hotel Colorado, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2014

Well, nothing beats annual business meetings with a mix of pleasure! We are pleased that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay with us, and we certainly look forward to accommodating you next year. Many thanks for sharing your experience along with your compliments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014

We stayed in the large suite on the third floor for a girls weekend... this beautiful HUGE suite has two bedrooms and two bathrooms! Perfect for four girlfriends. There is a lovely balcony that overlooks the center court area and below this balcony is where President Teddy Roosevelt spoke so many years ago. We ate at the restaurant and the food, while pricey, was very good... and the service excellent. Right across the street from the hot springs, it was perfect even in wintertime to walk right across the street!

We will definitely go back to the Hotel Colorado again. If you don't mind an old building with thin walls - be a guest there! Maybe you'll even see a ghost!

Room Tip: We stayed in the large suite - room 326/328. Just perfect for a larger group. The view of the cour...
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shari S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devereux1893, Front Office Manager at Hotel Colorado, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2014

We cannot thank you enough for choosing to spend your girl’s weekend at the Hotel Colorado. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your accommodations, as well as our restaurant. We sincerely appreciate your warm praises and look forward to accommodating you on the next girl’s weekend.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

We were traveling to visit a relative who lives in Colorado, and based upon her recommendation, we booked an evening at the Hotel Colorado. When we arrived at the hotel we were impressed with grand outward appearance of the hotel, and we continued to be impressed by the hotel and its staff during our stay.

The hotel was built in 1893, and has hosted numerous famous, and some infamous guests. The most notable guests were U.S. Presidents Theodore Roosevelt in 1905, and William Howard Taft in 1909. Roosevelt enjoyed his first stay in the hotel so much that he returned year after year.

The hotel has recently been renovated and restored while retaining most of its original grand appearance. We stayed in the Roosevelt Suite, which is quite large, and we were very pleased with the condition and charm of this suite. The suite and the entire hotel are decorated the style of early 1900's and equipped with in period furnishings. Modern conveniences such as an in-room fridge, microwave, and coffee service are tastefully provided. The entire hotel is like a museum, including paintings, photos and memorabilia from its varied and famous guests, that are easily enjoyed as you tour the hotel.

We enjoyed a wonderful and relaxed dinner in the Hotel's Polo Wine & Martini Lounge. The options in the lounge were similar to pub food, but was kicked up a notch. For example, the angus burger was grilled to order, topped with smoky bacon, and served with French fries seasoned with white truffles. Excellent! The food was well prepared and the service was efficient and courteous.

The hotel goes all out each year to decorate for the Christmas season, and during our visit in January, most of the beautiful decorations were still in place.

We will definitely return to this hotel in the future.

Room Tip: The Roosevelt Suite is priced a bit higher, but based upon its location, view, and furnishings, I wo...
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Albert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devereux1893, Front Office Manager at Hotel Colorado, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2014

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. Thank you for choosing to stay at the Hotel Colorado, as well as appreciating all that our venerable hotel has to offer. We extend our sincerest thanks for all the wonderful compliments, and we hope to accommodate you in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glenwood Springs hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Denver
Hotel Denver
#1 of 24 in Glenwood Springs
910 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Glenwood Springs
Hotel Glenwood Springs
#2 of 24 in Glenwood Springs
635 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Antlers
Best Western Antlers
#4 of 24 in Glenwood Springs
878 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Glenwood Springs
Hampton Inn Glenwood Springs
#3 of 24 in Glenwood Springs
711 reviews
1.3 mi away
Glenwood Springs Cedar Lodge
Glenwood Springs Cedar Lodge
#13 of 24 in Glenwood Springs
330 reviews
2.2 mi away
Glenwood Suites
Glenwood Suites
#7 of 24 in Glenwood Springs
355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Colorado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Colorado

Address: 526 Pine St, Glenwood Springs, CO 81601-3092
Region: United States > Colorado > Glenwood Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 24 Hotels in Glenwood Springs
Price Range: £75 - £152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Colorado 3.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Victorian-style resort was frequented by former President Teddy Roosevelt. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TravelClick, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Colorado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colorado Glenwood Springs
Colorado Hotel Glenwood Springs
Colorado Resort Glenwood Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing