We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such a cool hotel”
Review of Hotel Colorado

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Colorado
Ranked #9 of 24 Hotels in Glenwood Springs
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Such a cool hotel”
Reviewed 5 April 2014 via mobile

This was such a cool hotel. You truly feel like you're stepping back in time when you enter the Hotel Colorado. I typically prefer to stay at places that have a more modern interior, but this hotel just had so much character. It's right across the street from the hot springs and there are tons of restaurants within walking distance.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Lauren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devereux1893, Front Office Manager at Hotel Colorado, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Thank you for your kind words about Hotel Colorado. It is always a great pleasure to hear that we are serving our customers well. We look forward to serving you again soon.
Gratefully,
The Hotel Colorado
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,020 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    327
    336
    164
    116
    77
See reviews for
349
415
23
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (327)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Breckenridge, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

We stayed at HC for a night in March. Other than a somewhat un-inspired greeting at the front desk, the rest of the staff were very friendly and accommodating. The hotel oozes with historic charm, and its proximity to the city center is unbeatable. Being dog owners, we were delighted with their "Sure, we accept pets" policy and it was clear that they meant that; we never felt uncomfortable walking our dogs through the grand foyer, past antique furniture, pump organs and historic photographs. The room was huge by modern-day specs, the bed very comfortable and the bathroom a bit antiquated, but clean and serviceable. Breakfast and location were beautifully elegant. Only caution: HC is not air conditioned, so staying in the summer months might be a bit uncomfortable. Enjoy!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Monique M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Morgan, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We arrived at Hotel Colorado for a four night stay for Spring Break. Had to wait about 20 minutes to get checked in, but the service we received was exceptional. As we didn't plan to spend a lot of time in the room, the standard two queen bed room we had was perfect. Requested a roll away for my son who has difficulty sleeping with anyone else and there was plenty of room for that at night and a great spot to tuck it away during the day. We enjoyed the charm of the hotel, just wish more of the furniture in the room was "vintage." We were able to get the temperature regulated relatively easily by open the windows and using the fan. We rented a car for our visit, but soon discovered that with Hotel Colorado's relatively central location, we hardly used the car at all.

Only complaints we had were we requested additional hangers (only had six for a family of four) and even though we checked on it at the front desk before leaving the hotel for dinner, the hangers were never delivered. Also, they need to increase the bandwidth on the Wi-Fi. The internet connection was spotty at best.

We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephanie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We were able to make reservations at last minute and then extend our visit while there. We were well taken care of.

Breakfasts are great. The dining room has stepped their game up considerably. Great food, great service.

Pet friendly. Call ahead. Rooms on east side best for dogs.

Rooms reasonably quiet even during a very active spring break season.
This is an old hotel with tons of ambiance and everything you would expect in such a structure. Lobby is historically interesting. Rooms are surprisingly updated and comfortable.

Room Tip: Let them know ahead of time you have a pet so they can accommodate you. Pets do cost extra. We con...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pete C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broomfield, Colorado
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

We arrived at the Hotel Colorado in the midst of spring break. We had to wait in line for 15 min to check in- only one person checking in during peak time. However, the rest of the service we received was excellent. The shuttle van drove us to and from dinner with very little wait time. We asked for a mini-fridge for our room, which was promptly delivered. The staff was eager and willing to make our stay as comfortable as possible. The only downside was the heat. When we arrived in our room it was very hot. We turned off the old iron radiator and opened the window. Even though it snowed through most of the night, we roasted. The only explanation we could find was that we were getting heat from the rooms below. When we asked about it the next day the staff said some rooms had too much heat and some had none. In addition to the heat, the rooms were very old. The tub was a bit moldy and very beat up. We found someone's old sock under the bed just before we left (no vacuuming there!). Overall it was acceptable but nothing to write home about.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PB C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ozarks
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed here this time based on previous experience. Last time was in a suite and this time would have been to but we needed two beds. The rooms with 2 queen beds were very small. The bathroom was big,

We love historical buildings and even though our room was small for us I would stay here again no questions.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ozarks_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devereux1893, Front Office Manager at Hotel Colorado, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Thank you for your kind words about Hotel Colorado. It is always a great pleasure to hear that we are serving our customers well. Thank you for your patronage. We look forward to serving you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, CO
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

I have had better deals at nicer hotels. I have had better rooms for the same price. But I have never had the experience of my last stay. First of all, the staff is extraordinary. We love Riahannah (sp?). She was absolutely what you would expect at a hotel like this. She made our stay so much fun. She treated us like we were family. Thank you!!
The best part was the TOUR! Thursdays at 5 and 6. Just do it!! You will learn so much about the Hotel and the town; you won't want to leave!
It is hard to rate a hotel that has so much history and great people that obviously love this place, so poorly. My room had missing floor tile, no lights in the fan that worked, and just looked worn out.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kristin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glenwood Springs hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Denver
Hotel Denver
#1 of 24 in Glenwood Springs
886 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Glenwood Springs
Hotel Glenwood Springs
#2 of 24 in Glenwood Springs
619 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Antlers
Best Western Antlers
#4 of 24 in Glenwood Springs
828 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Glenwood Springs
Hampton Inn Glenwood Springs
#3 of 24 in Glenwood Springs
692 reviews
1.3 mi away
Glenwood Springs Cedar Lodge
Glenwood Springs Cedar Lodge
#13 of 24 in Glenwood Springs
322 reviews
2.2 mi away
Glenwood Suites
Glenwood Suites
#7 of 24 in Glenwood Springs
350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Colorado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Colorado

Property: Hotel Colorado
Address: 526 Pine St, Glenwood Springs, CO 81601-3092
Region: United States > Colorado > Glenwood Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 24 Hotels in Glenwood Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Colorado 3.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Victorian-style resort was frequented by former President Teddy Roosevelt. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, TravelClick, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Colorado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colorado Glenwood Springs
Colorado Hotel Glenwood Springs
Colorado Resort Glenwood Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing