We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Slightly above average”
Review of Hotel Colorado

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Colorado
Ranked #10 of 24 Hotels in Glenwood Springs
Reviewed 9 May 2014

We stayed one night on a Tuesday in May. We found both good and not so good at this hotel.

We wanted to stay at the Hotel Colorado after we had a wonderful stay several years ago. We love the historical hotel and all the history with Teddy Roosevelt. The bedding was good and the television variety was nice traveling with a young child. The staff was helpful to us when we had purchased a growler of beer to take home and realized our room did not have a fridge. They stored it for us and returned it upon checkout. That was great of them.

What we found not so good at the hotel was the distance we had to bring our bags. I understand it is a historical hotel and the entrance has many steps. It would have been nice to be able to use a luggage caddy though. The other thing was the bathtub. It looked pretty awful and didn't look so clean. I didn't want to give my son a bath in it. I also felt I was leaving dirty footprints after getting out of it. Our toilet broke and maintenance was quick to respond.

I love the Hotel Colorado but just wasn't as impressed with this visit.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MullyMcCammon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jon S, General Manager at Hotel Colorado, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. I am glad you enjoyed the hotel and the staff. I will review your comments with the staff since we definitely could have assisted with the luggage and we will check out the bath tub. It is through comments like yours that we can improve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,105)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

773 - 779 of 1,106 reviews

Reviewed 8 May 2014

I only knew we wanted to go to Glenwood Springs. A relative suggested the hotel and I did not want any surprises in a very old, historic hotel ! Boy, was I wrong... Yes, some rooms can't have a refridge due to wiring and there are individual AC units that are not the best. But it was so charming, comfortable, and convenient. And the staff is incredible....the nicest in years of travel....all of them. The restaurant is beautiful and the food I would give a strong A minus....I mean consistently far above average and creative and well presented. The mattress was a B minus but so is the Hampton. Stay there as soon as you can, you will be delighted! And this was at least 30 percent less than many other hotels nearby.

Room Tip: Ask ahead for a room with a microwave and refrigerator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jon S, General Manager at Hotel Colorado, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Dear Julia,

Thank you for your kind review. The staff and I take great pride in creating memorable stays and we are happy we could provide that for you. The Chef and his team uses only the freshest products in our restaurant creating a great dining experience. We are aware of some of the drawbacks of an 121 year old building and continue trying to improve that without losing the charm and character of this historic landmark.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Glenwood Springs is a quick escape from the city several times a year and we always stay at Hotel Colorado. It's a beautiful, historic hotel, once the stopping point for President Theodore Roosevelt (there is a suite named after him) and a fine place to stay. The hotel is dog friendly, a plus for us and our dog Horton and is also a non-smoking establishment. The staff is always friendly and accommodating, there is a comfortable bar, a coffee shop, a restaurant, a spa downstairs (La Provence) as well as an adventure shop which rents bicycles and arranges various outings. The hotel is located directly across the street from the hot springs and the courtyard has an outdoor bar open in the summer months. We've stayed here many times and will return as often as we can. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: The suites offer extra space to stretch out. It's an old building so there is no air conditioni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank klong1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jon S, General Manager at Hotel Colorado, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind words. I am pleased that you and your four legged friend continue to enjoy our beautiful setting and friendly staff. They take a lot of pride in ensuring that every visit is a memorable one.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

I stayed here twice in the last 6 months with my husband. During the Holidays the decorations were amazing, they were recognized by travel and leisure as being in the top 15 hotels in the country for Christmas. If you have a chance i would recommend staying. The ambiance of the Grand Lobby made it enjoyable to relax and enjoy a book infront of the fireplace. We stayed again in April for a night and enjoyed their easter brunch. The staff was wonderful and attentive.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ann D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jon S, General Manager at Hotel Colorado, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Dear Guest,

We are so glad you continue to visit us experiencing our slice of Colorado history. Especially in the Christmas season the property transforms into a winter wonderland and the entire property is decorated with approximately 300,000 Christmas lights. We hope to see you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

My conference was in Glenwood springs and we stayed at the Hotel Colorado. The second morning we were at the hotel we were woken up at 8:00 a.m. with some construction going on in the next room. We brought this to the attention of management and all we received was a, 'sorry, nothing we can do about it.' Which they didn't even offer us a free cup of coffee with our 5 day stay. Then after we were woken up early that day, during the night there was a prom going on downstairs to which you could hear the bass in our room until 1 in the morning. We brought this to the attention of management and they didn't care. Had to call room service to install another lightbulb in the bathroom because when we checked in only one bulb was working.

Room Tip: I'd choose a room at a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Awesome S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jon S, General Manager at Hotel Colorado, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for bringing this issue to my attention. It is through these comments that we can improve your experience. It is definitely not our policy to do noisy repairs early in the morning.
I will discuss this with the Engineering Department so that this will not happen again.
Please accept my sincere apology for this inconvenience.

Jon S.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

We used the Hotel Colorado as our home base to ski Vail, Snowmass, Aspen, and Sunlight. The location was only 15 minutes to Sunlight, 1 hour each way to Vail and Snowmass/Aspen. At night we ate in many nice restaurants in Glenwoood Springs, as well as enjoyed the Springs and the Vapor Caves. The location was great, the rooms, while not luxurious, were clean and comfortable, and my three kids and myself were able to stay at a very affordable price. The staff was very friendly and helpful. For the price, it cannot be beat.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jon S, General Manager at Hotel Colorado, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

As you mentioned the Hotel Colorado and Glenwood Springs is a tremendous value for Ski vacations. Nestled in between the very expensive Aspen and Vail it offers our guest some great options. We're happy you and your family enjoyed your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

We had a wonderful stay at this hotel as always. We had company with us from Minneapolis and they enjoyed it too. The rooms are old of course but updated, nicely decorated, no 2 the same and very nice. Loved being able to open the windows to the fresh mountain air and loved looking out into the square towards the pools. The lobby is beautiful and we were fortunate to get to hear live music in the lobby both days we were there. We love staying there and being able to walk to the pool and downtown. We have several favorite restaurants within walking distance also. The staff is very professional and friendly and the price was reasonable.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on an upper level over looking the court yard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KLB2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jon S, General Manager at Hotel Colorado, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

We are so glad that you enjoyed the splendor of our Historic Hotel.

Jon Siebring
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glenwood Springs hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Denver
Hotel Denver
#1 of 24 in Glenwood Springs
929 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Glenwood Springs
Hotel Glenwood Springs
#2 of 24 in Glenwood Springs
646 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Antlers
Best Western Antlers
#5 of 24 in Glenwood Springs
904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Glenwood Springs Cedar Lodge
Glenwood Springs Cedar Lodge
#13 of 24 in Glenwood Springs
335 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Glenwood Springs
Hampton Inn Glenwood Springs
#3 of 24 in Glenwood Springs
731 reviews
2.2 mi away
Glenwood Suites
Glenwood Suites
#7 of 24 in Glenwood Springs
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Colorado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Colorado

Address: 526 Pine St., Glenwood Springs, CO 81601-3092
Region: United States > Colorado > Glenwood Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 24 Hotels in Glenwood Springs
Price Range: £86 - £148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Colorado 3.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Victorian-style resort was frequented by former President Teddy Roosevelt. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Colorado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colorado Glenwood Springs
Colorado Hotel Glenwood Springs
Colorado Resort Glenwood Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing