We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great old hotel”
Review of Hotel Colorado

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Colorado
Ranked #9 of 24 Hotels in Glenwood Springs
Longmont, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great old hotel”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We love the Hotel Colorado. We stay here every time we come to Glenwood. It is full of vintage charm; maintained to look the way it did at the turn of the 20th Century. Even the rooms maintain their vintage charm, but with all the modern conveniences. It is a short walk over the bridge from the train station and the Glenwood Brewery. And just across the street from the pool

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BoleynMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jon S, General Manager at Hotel Colorado, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind comments and we are truly happy you enjoyed your stay once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,042 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    330
    343
    170
    119
    80
See reviews for
367
419
23
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (332)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
USA
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Recently spent one night in the historic Hotel Colorado, hangout of Teddy Roosevelt. Charmingly vintage and in a grand location, facing the wonderful, giant Hot Springs pool and the CO river. Period charm abounds.
We had brought our little dog which they totally accommodate. I don't know if that determines which rooms are assigned but I would definitely research this when returning. We did have a window air conditioner which made it feel a little closed in.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing south, on the end, or facing the courtyard. Our "penthouse", (AKA...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IrelandfanUsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jon S, General Manager at Hotel Colorado, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us and enjoying the rich history of our Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Slidell, Louisiana
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

The Hotel Colorado has lots of history and ambiance and you have to overlook the condition of the hotel and think of staying here in the early days of presidents, mobsters, and celebrities. The lobby is amazing with space to roam or just sit and relax after a day of exploring the mountains. Our room could use a little updating; however, the bed was comfortable and the room spacious. We ordered breakfast in our room and ate looking at the mountains in the distance. The courtyard dining was delightful. If you want something more modern, stay at another hotel. You stay here for the history of what the West was a hundred years ago.

Room Tip: A courtyard facing room is a little noisy (street noise) but the mountain view is beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cliving549
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jon S, General Manager at Hotel Colorado, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us and enjoying our historic jewel in the Rockies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Littleton, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

The restaurant was wonderful: good food, lovely ambiance on the outdoor patio, friendly and dedicated staff. As far as the hotel . . . we will *not* stay here again. This was possibly the least comfortable bed and the worst pillows I've ever tried to sleep on. The stone benches at the vapor caves were more comfortable! And I know: I was so tired from such an awful night sleep that I actually did fall asleep on the stone bench at Yampah! It is a historic hotel so there are a lot of "modern" touches you can't expect. There is no AC, the water takes a long time to heat up, the floors are creaky. All that is completely fine. But there were holes in the walls and some serious water damage on the bathroom ceiling. It also wasn't particularly clean (there was old, dry snot on the shower wall). Long story short: eat here. Don't stay over night.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LeeRams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jon S, General Manager at Hotel Colorado, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear Guest,

I am glad you enjoyed our wonderful restaurant. Please contact me so that I may investigate the bed. We purchased all new beds for the hotel approx. 2 years ago so we should not have any issues with them. I understand how important a good night sleep is and if we have a defective bed we will definitely replace it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Glenwood Springs hotels

Boulder, Colorado, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

My boyfriend and I came here for an anniversary trip. The rate and the location were great, and while the room was old it still felt very comfortable and light. We ended up getting a room on the end so we had a great mountain view. I loved the lobby and all of the history associated with the hotel. For dinner we went to the Saturday BBQ with live music, first we sat at the bar where the bartender was very friendly and the live music was great. The only part of our stay that was not good was the bbq dinner which was over cooked and the sides were not good. My boyfriend didn't receive one of his sides but the waitress never came to check up on us so we could not let her know. The outdoor space was very nice with flowers and a fountain. Other than the dinner, everything was great and the next day we walked right across the street to the hot springs.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jon S, General Manager at Hotel Colorado, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear Guest,

We are happy you enjoyed your stay at the Historic Hotel Colorado. Our culinary team takes a lot of pride in our food and I apologize that this was not absolutely perfect. I will definitely discuss this with them since we strive for a perfect experience 100% of the time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

This hotel is centrally located. You can get most anywhere from here by walking. You can walk across the street to the Hot Springs Pool. The lobby is beautiful. I was surprised by a free jazz concert in the lobby while I was there. They were quite good. The courtyard is fabulous. You can go to the coffee shop. Grab a cup of coffee and a muffin. Sit in the sun, listen to the birds, watch the butterflies, and relax. The rooms are charming. There is no air conditioning. Every room has a fan. When you open the window, the cool draft of the evening air is adequate. I did not even need the fan. The bed was quite comfortable. The restaurant was good, if pricey. The service was great. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denvergirl3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

"Quaint' comes to mind for both the Hotel Colorado and the surrounding Glenwood Springs area. The hotel itself dates to the late 1800's. It started as a hotel, but has been many other things during its history, but is now back to a hotel. It's a large building, yet it feels very cozy. The lobby and entrance area is quite grand, though not to the extent of the world's truly legendary older properties. The grounds are lovely, but more compact than the pictures imply. The only way to see the grand facade as it is pictured is from a helicopter. Otherwise, the trees and neighboring structures prevent taking in the entire scene. Even so, there is nothing else in the area remotely like it.

And that's the point. The rooms are spacious (we had a single with a king bed). They reek of history with exposed pipes (fire system), tall ceilings, single pane double hung windows (that open), and no air conditioning. Heat is from a steam radiator system. The closet was huge, the bath small; and in the era built, that was normal. Our TV was quite small and very far from the bed (again, the room was enormous), but we didn't come to watch TV.

There is a grand staircase that leads up all five floors. They have managed to sandwich in an elevator, but apart from moving luggage, you won't really want to take it - small and slow. This seems to be a pet friendly hotel as there were several dogs with their owners, which rather enhanced the ambience. Just be cautious if you have pet allergies.

We spent most of our time out and about, but the meals we had in the restaurant and bar were quite good, and the decor was reminiscent of an older time, though still modern in execution.

We enjoyed the staff, and to a person they were very accommodating, friendly and full of suggestions for our stay. The hotel tour is worthwhile as there is quite a bit of history attached to the place. A couple of things are worth note, however.

If you're looking for a quaintly remodeled Hilton with an old atmosphere but otherwise thoroughly modern, this is NOT that. There are basics like internet access (ours was slow and sporadic), but this is more for folks who like history and want to experience life from a slower and less complex time. The location is on a busy intersection (sits between the main town and the only entrance/exit) on I-70. Wince the windows are old, and must be open in moderate to warm weather, noise can be a problem. Best to stay on the opposite side.

However, you almost can feel the presence of Teddy Roosevelt and Molly Brown. It's a short walk to the charming (though newer) town, and the rail station is just across the bridge. It is possible to take Amtrak out from Denver, and we were told it's a very scenic ride. There is much to do in the area, principally seasonal outdoor activities, and Glenwood Springs makes a great base form which to tour the surrounding areas. Elevation is the same as Denver's so weather there can be quite moderate even with blizzards in the mountains (and we had that experience).

Room Tip: The hotel is on 6th and Pine where two major 4 lanes intersect. Best to stay on the Oliver Street si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 94Q45T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jon S, General Manager at Hotel Colorado, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your nice comments. I believe you truly experience the essence of our historic hotel. We completely upgraded our complimentary internet 6 months ago and I would like you to contact me with your room number so that I may investigate what the internet problem was since we have not received complaints about that since the upgrade.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glenwood Springs hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Denver
Hotel Denver
#1 of 24 in Glenwood Springs
890 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Glenwood Springs
Hotel Glenwood Springs
#2 of 24 in Glenwood Springs
630 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Antlers
Best Western Antlers
#4 of 24 in Glenwood Springs
849 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Glenwood Springs
Hampton Inn Glenwood Springs
#3 of 24 in Glenwood Springs
700 reviews
1.3 mi away
Glenwood Springs Cedar Lodge
Glenwood Springs Cedar Lodge
#13 of 24 in Glenwood Springs
323 reviews
2.2 mi away
Glenwood Suites
Glenwood Suites
#7 of 24 in Glenwood Springs
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Colorado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Colorado

Property: Hotel Colorado
Address: 526 Pine St, Glenwood Springs, CO 81601-3092
Region: United States > Colorado > Glenwood Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 24 Hotels in Glenwood Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Colorado 3.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Victorian-style resort was frequented by former President Teddy Roosevelt. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Colorado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colorado Glenwood Springs
Colorado Hotel Glenwood Springs
Colorado Resort Glenwood Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing