We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Visited Hotel Colorado at night because it's haunted”
Review of Hotel Colorado

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Colorado
Ranked #8 of 24 Hotels in Glenwood Springs
Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

We decided to walk through Hotel Colorado late one evening after reading "Haunted Hotel Colorado in Glenwood Springs" on the Internet. The 3rd and 5th floor apparently have the most activity and some of the rooms are so haunted they had to lock the rooms up and they cannot be rented. We didn't hear or see any activity but regardless the hotel is beautiful and they have a bar and a very nice patio where you can sit and enjoy the evening.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank xxxMaryxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jon S, General Manager at Hotel Colorado, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Many guest have their own experiences in the Hotel and we are glad you enjoyed it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,069)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Colorado
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

697 - 703 of 1,070 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

It must be the location and overall historical coolness of the courtyard and the lobby. We've been coming here for 20 years. This years room was shabby, the towels shredded, no coffee pot or hair dryer. So glad I brought my own. Will I return? Maybe.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lora E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jon S, General Manager at Hotel Colorado, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your honest input. We have all new linens in the Hotel and you definitely should not have had a towel that was shredded. I will speak with the Housekeeping department and make sure that damaged towels are discarded.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

This hotel is amazing. As a historic hotel, they provided a nice stay. The hotel was clean, staff was kind and food was great. We've been there before and will go back again. We stayed in the King Parlor and it was beautiful.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank COfamilyof4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jon S, General Manager at Hotel Colorado, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for your comments. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We were expecting a nice stay at the Hotel Colorado. Unfortunately, this is not the place to stay in the summer. The main level was hot and musty smelling upon check in. We were given a room on the fourth floor (the top floor, excluding the "pent house"). While I didn't have a thermometer, I can say that the fourth floor must have been hovering around 90 degrees and had no air movement.

We entered our room and the window was open and had a fan. The screen was falling out of the window and had been tinkered with several times in the past without being able to properly secure it. The beds were quite old and had developed big bowls in the center from the years of guests sleeping on them. The bathroom was a good size. The toilet seat was in bad shape (didn't realize that could be possible) and the shower was less than desirable. The fourth floor and our room along with the heat made me feel very much like we were in prison, only we were paying good money to be there. I immediately started calling other hotels in the area but everything in the area was booked solid that night.

This experience was laughable. I can't speak for the whole building but from what we experienced, it was quite run down and incredibly hot. It was interesting to hear the other guests arriving on the same floor and hearing them also complain out loud at the condition of the rooms and the intense heat. The common consensus heard among the guests on our floor was "it's just one night. We'll make it through."

We stayed just one night and we did make it through but keep in mind, this was part of our vacation and it certainly took away from the fun we were having up until our arrival. I felt the need to share this so that other potential guests could at least be informed of the conditions and will then have the appropriate expectations prior to arrival. The other part of our vacation included several nights in Crested Butte at the Elevation Hotel & Spa. CB is an awesome town and the hotel was excellent all around.

Room Tip: To find a good room, look elsewhere
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank kwiggit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jon S, General Manager at Hotel Colorado, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Dear Guest,

I apologize that you did not enjoy your stay. As a historic hotel without A/C we understand that there are some summer nights that can be very hot. Normally the evenings cool off in the mountain climate but we have had some very hot weeks on the Western slopes of Colorado.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

Really enjoyed our stay. Great service and a terrific dinner on the patio. A wonderful, historic place. But please stay away if you demand the sameness of chain hotels. The lack of air conditioning here was a non issue for us...an open window and stout overhead fan kept us quite comfortable.

Stayed: July 2014
2  Thank Alco251
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jon S, General Manager at Hotel Colorado, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind remarks. We are truly happy that you enjoyed your stay at the Historic hotel Colorado.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

I want to thank Paul, the Beverage Service Manager for our wonderful bottle of champagne in recognition of our wedding. We had an afternoon wedding then drove to Glenwood Springs. We didn't arrive until late. We sat outside and had a wonderful meal and then received a gift of champagne! Thank you for recognizing our wonderful day.

Room Tip: Because there is no air conditioning I would recommend a room facing north in the summertime. There...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jon S, General Manager at Hotel Colorado, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Dear guest,

I am glad that you took up the drive to Glenwood Springs after your wedding. Our culinary staff takes great pride in what they do and I am happy you enjoyed the experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

My boyfriend and I went on a 2 day getaway to Glenwood Springs. On the morning of our trip to the Hot Springs pool we decided to stop by the Legends coffee shop, located in the Hotel Colorado, based on the recommendation of the hotel clerk we were staying at (not the Hotel Colorado). When we entered the shop there was one customer being helped. The barista and he were engaged in a conversation that went on for some time. We waited for about 10 minutes. In this time the barista never acknowledged or greeted us, she just continued her conversation, in her british sounding accent, with the current customer. A few more people came in at this point, giving us hope that this might prompt her to be more efficient in providing us service and some much needed coffee. Then the wife of the current customer comes in and walks to the front desk and gives her order of an "iced americana" to which the barista promptly begins preparing for her. Needless to say, we left in disgust and with no coffee.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
2  Thank TrishaCastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jon S, General Manager at Hotel Colorado, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Dear Guest,

I am sorry that you were not recognized immediately. I will address this issue with her so that it may not happen again. She is normally known for great customer service but fell obviously short of that on that day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glenwood Springs hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Denver
Hotel Denver
#1 of 24 in Glenwood Springs
910 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Glenwood Springs
Hotel Glenwood Springs
#3 of 24 in Glenwood Springs
635 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Antlers
Best Western Antlers
#4 of 24 in Glenwood Springs
876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Glenwood Springs
Hampton Inn Glenwood Springs
#2 of 24 in Glenwood Springs
710 reviews
1.3 mi away
Glenwood Springs Cedar Lodge
Glenwood Springs Cedar Lodge
#13 of 24 in Glenwood Springs
329 reviews
2.2 mi away
Glenwood Suites
Glenwood Suites
#7 of 24 in Glenwood Springs
355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Colorado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Colorado

Address: 526 Pine St, Glenwood Springs, CO 81601-3092
Region: United States > Colorado > Glenwood Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 24 Hotels in Glenwood Springs
Price Range: £76 - £156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Colorado 3.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Victorian-style resort was frequented by former President Teddy Roosevelt. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TravelClick, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Colorado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colorado Glenwood Springs
Colorado Hotel Glenwood Springs
Colorado Resort Glenwood Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing