We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The caves were amazing and beautiful and well worth the trip”

Glenwood Caverns Adventure Park
Book In Advance
More Info
US$54.00*
and up
Glenwood Caverns Adventure Park with Tram, Two Cave Tours and All Attractions
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Located in historic Glenwood Springs, Colorado, Glenwood Caverns Adventure Park offers a unique mountain-top adventure that's fun for the whole family. Ride the Giant Canyon Swing-featured on "Good Morning America" and the Travel Channel show, "Bert the Conqueror"-as well as the longest Alpine Coaster in Colorado, the Glenwood Canyon Flyer, the Soaring Eagle Zip Ride, the Cliffhanger Roller Coaster, the GiddyUp, the Mine Wheel Ferris-wheel-style-ride and the Wild West Express Coaster. You can race through the Fort Where-Am-I Maze, play laser tag, conquer the climbing wall and enjoy films in our 4D Motion Theater. Some rides are seasonal; a list of which attractions are open can be found on our website. Great for groups, family reunions and birthday parties. Your visit to the Glenwood Caverns promises a unique, mountain-top adventure and memories to last a lifetime. The wholesome fun of nature-based educational activities combined with attractions to please die-hard thrill seekers makes this the perfect place to spend a day with family and friends.
Reviewed 20 August 2011

USE THE 1/2 off coupon for the tramride available in the Parents Handbook/Coupon book from the Glenwood Springs Visitor center on Grand Ave. It saved us $36 for the ride up for 2 adults and 3 kids. They have a lot to do at the top like an alpine slide and a bungee jump and a swing but it's all really expensive. We spent $10 and did the cave tour with our 10 year old and 1 adult. We had previously visited Jewel Cave and Wind Cave in South Dakota which are national parks and so we didn't expect anything "new" here on this privately run cave tour. We were completely wrong. It's actually a very beautiful cave tour (reasonably priced, too). Our guide, Jerry, was amazing and knew quite a bit about the history and geology of the cave. I thought it was going to be a bit boring but it turned out really interesting. The cave has a lot of water in it (bring a hat) and it drips on you (called cave kisses). Lots of stairs, be prepared for walking up and down a lot. Well worth the visit and I highly recommend it. I think this was one of the best cave tours we've seen. Tour is about 70 minutes and it's about 52 degrees inside so bring a jacket (feels good if you are visiting in 90 degree weather but after a while you will eventually get cold)

2  Thank isthatyourdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlenwoodCaverns, Public Relations Manager at Glenwood Caverns Adventure Park, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2011

We are so glad that you utilized the tram coupon! It's great to hear that you enjoyed your cave tour so much and that Jerry was so informative. Thank you for the wonderful review and for sharing so many great tips to make the experience better. We hope you can come visit again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,652)
There are newer reviews for Glenwood Caverns Adventure Park
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,544 - 1,548 of 1,652 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2011

I took my friends from Denmark to Glenwood Springs and we visited the Adventure Park. The kids rode most of the rides including the 75' (25 meter) bungee jump and had a ball. You don't need to spend a lot of time up here because there's not that much to do unless you tour the caverns (which we didn't this trip), but the kids really enjoyed it. The bungee jumping and swing were the highlights, as was the alpine slide. And the views alone are worth the $12 ticket to the top on the gondola. There is not much in the way of food up here, but still a lot of fun and not too crowded.

1  Thank txinswiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlenwoodCaverns, Public Relations Manager at Glenwood Caverns Adventure Park, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2011

Thank you for bringing your friends to visit! We love the bungee jump -- we're glad that the kids enjoyed it as well! We hope that you can visit again soon and take the cave tour as well. Thank you for the review; we really appreciate it. We love the view, too!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2011

While Glenwood Caverns does not have the most beautiful cave for most of the tour, the guides make up for it with fun information and quips about the old west. The final room of the cave makes the whole tour worth while, with a very good variety of stalgtites and stalamites to admire. The other attractions at the site are great. The mountain coaster ride is a blast, the Zip line ride is fun, and where else can you bunge jump for $10. That's in addition to the $45 adult all day pass, of course. This is an all day event if you bring the kids.

Thank PMA69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlenwoodCaverns, Public Relations Manager at Glenwood Caverns Adventure Park, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2011

Looks like you had a busy day! We are so glad that you enjoyed the tour guides so much and that you were able to experience so many different aspects of the park. Congratulations on bungee jumping -- it's a pretty good adrenaline rush, isn't it? We hope you can come visit again soon, and thank you for the fantastic review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2011

My wife and I paid $44 to ride the tram and then attend the walking tour of the caves. Price seemed reasonable. We arrived at 8:45am and were on the first tram up. Slow ride up, but the ride coming down was fairly quick. The caverns is more of a moderate activity when you factor in the hike up the final leg of the tour... 127 steps. The rest is pretty level. Tour guide, David, was very knowledgeable of the caverns and fielded random questions from adults and kids alike without hesitation. Safe and fun, the walking tour boasts a few different formations. Lots of structures to photograph. Enjoyed it and would recommend it!

Thank 3iron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlenwoodCaverns, Public Relations Manager at Glenwood Caverns Adventure Park, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2011

We are so glad that you enjoyed your visit! We would love to see some of your photographs if you would be willing to post them on our Facebook page. The stairs on the tour are definitely a good climb! We're glad that you liked your tour guide and that he was able to answer all of your questions. Thank you so much for this great review. We hope you can come visit again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2011

Nice place to visit once, but I don't think I will be going back. The gondola ride and cave tour were fun and interesting, but the other stuff is geared more towards a younger crowd, or families. That's not a bad thing - but most of the attractions were not something I personally wanted to see or do. On a whim we decided to see the 4D movie - I felt like I was watching an over-priced cartoon while someone was shaking my chair, blowing in my face and spraying water on me. The cost was $6 per person and the movie was over in less than 8 minutes. Not really worth it. But I would definitely recommend seeing the caves.

Thank SamanthaHunter1888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Glenwood Caverns Adventure Park also viewed

 

Been to Glenwood Caverns Adventure Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing