We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Kept Secret”

Sunlight Mountain Resort
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Sunlight features 67 named trails covering over 470 acres. In addition to miles of cruising intermediate terrain, Sunlight's East Ridge has one of the steeper runs in the state. Aptly named, The Heathen falls beneath your feet at a breathtaking 52 degrees. Sunlight is home to one of the longest trails in ski country, Ute, a beginner slope that winds more than 2 miles from summit to base. Sunlight also hosts some of the best tree skiing in Colorado with many aspen groves untracked days after snowfall. All trails converge at the base lodge, so friends and family can always keep track of each other
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities, Stairs / lift, Lockers / storage, Wheelchair access
Austin, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best Kept Secret”
Reviewed 17 February 2014

No lines at lifts, good ski lessons, friendly people at lodge, good mix of trails. Great place to learn or hone your skills. Rentals on site but cheaper at downtown store on 9th street. Ski lift tickets are under $50 but can get even better deal on Liftopia.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    245
    70
    12
    5
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“That's the point!”
Reviewed 16 February 2014

If you want to be seen skiing, go to Vail or similar, there are plenty of choices. If you are more focused on actual skiing, give this place a shot. The whole place has a very 70s feel to it. No shortage of locals who've been skiing since birth, great staff who want to keep things fun, and no lines for lifts, even on fresh powder days. Plenty of variety and long runs keep the skiing fun and challenging. Please don't complain about the dated lodge or other such nonsense; you're missing the point. This place is about skiing, having fun, and sharing the mountain. Embrace it for what it is.

Magic carpets? We don't need no stinking magic carpets! Lessons for all ages, group or private, are focused on getting skiers up the lifts and skiing back down the mountain. Remember what it was like when you learned to ski? Yeah, it's like that. Both of our boys (9 & 5) had a blast and can't wait to go back. In fact, we've already scheduled a return trip next month.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank discolemomade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Littleton, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Snow Shoeing”
Reviewed 15 February 2014

We went to Sunlight Mountain and went snowshoeing up Babbage Gulch trail. The beginning 1/2 mile is fairly steep (when you're 68 years old) but after that it levels off. Scenery is lovely.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Chris J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boonville, Missouri
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great as always”
Reviewed 12 February 2014

Just returned from my 2nd trip of the winter to Sunlight. I learned to ski here in 1986 and return every winter. This was the best powder and the most snow I have had at Sunlight in years! Grooming was great and crowds during the week were small. With the small crowds and great prices on lift tickets, I can get in all the skiing I want even with the regular speed lifts. Sunlight never disappoints me.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bob D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Maine
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Don't Skip It”
Reviewed 30 January 2014

I am an Eastern skier and I ski out West for a week every year. I often visit the Vail or Aspen areas and a day or two at Sunlight is always part of the trip. Some of my best skiing days have been there. On a powder day, the untracked lasts a LOT longer at Sunlight than at any of the big resorts. The staff is friendly, the slopes and trails offer something for everyone, and I have never been there when it was crowded. The cost of a lift ticket is a fraction of what you would pay at Aspen or Vail. To be sure, Sunlight is not a mega-resort. The lifts are slower, but the lack of crowds and the nature of the terrain allows a skier to still get a lot of vertical in each day. When I reflect on the best days of skiing I have ever had, more than one of them has been at Sunlight. It is truly a hidden gem.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank runnerskier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sunlight Mountain Resort also viewed

 

Been to Sunlight Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing