We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fish on top of a mountain?”
Review of Hanging Lake

Hanging Lake
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located in Glenwood Canyon.
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fish on top of a mountain?”
Reviewed 30 August 2014 via mobile

We took our time walking up, pausing for pictures and rest. I was fine in good sandals too. Bring water! It was great to see the water and don't forget to go above to see Spouting Rock. No swimming, as it is a delicate ecosystem up there!

Helpful?
Thank Hrdcr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

454 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    382
    53
    10
    3
    6
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, CO
Level Contributor
139 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
“A challenge...”
Reviewed 25 August 2014

but well worth in in the end. The climb can be a little difficult in areas, particularily at the top but once your up there... wow what a spot!!
Make sure you wear decent shoes, sneakers, hiking shoes/boots, etc. with good treads. Rocks can be wet in places based on the weather and with the amount of traffic many are worn smooth.
Couldn't believe we saw several people wearing flip flops... was waiting to see a broken ankle or other injury... are these people nuts??
Take water... especially if it is a warm day. You will need it.

Climb down is much quicker...obviously!! You are looking at your feet all the way to make sure of your foot position. One wrong step can send you on a sure to be painful tumble.

This is a must do if you're in the Glenwood Springs area. Parking is an even bigger challenge than the climb. We arrived before 10am on a Sunday and the lot was full. You will need to wait for a spot as people come down from earlier climbs. There are of course the typical obnoxious people who decide to bypass the line of cars waiting and jump spots, park in tow away zones, etc. without care and generally prove that there are plenty of idiots out there. Guess you can't avoid discourteous people anywhere.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank alar1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“worth the effort”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

we knew to go "early or late" to avoid the crowd and get a parking space. We got there at 6:30 pm (in mid August) and easily got a parking spot. We did the climb as fast as possible to avoid darkness - very challenging; narrow, winding, rocky. We were tired but thrilled with the sights when we got to the top. Took many beautiful photos and loved being up there with about only 10 other people at that time. Walk around to the sides and look at the views of the waterfalls. Wear hike appropriate shoes (no sandals or such!) and get your timing right. Late was good but make sure you are done by darkness - too rocky to be there without daylight.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank vhbeck84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holdrege, Nebraska, United States
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Whew!!”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Quite a hike!! My family and my mother did the hike, barely. It's not easy by any means. Take plenty of water and snacks. We had a 5 year old up to a 67 year old, so numerous breaks were needed. Need to start before 10 am if you don't want to have to circle the lot looking for a parking spot since it is very limited on spaces. Beautiful once you make it there though. Be sure to go up the left side of the lake and see the Spout where all the water shoots out of the mountain. Hit the bathrooms before you go up. It took us about 4 hours to go up, view, and get back down.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Heidi A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

After the hike up, you soon realize that the challenging hike was well worth it. The water is clear and the picture opportunities are endless.

Helpful?
Thank Ken B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hanging Lake also viewed

 

Been to Hanging Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing