We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First time rafters have awesome time!”

Blue Sky Adventures
Ranked #2 of 15 Tours in Glenwood Springs
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Since 1975, Blue Sky has been offering professionally guided whitewater river trips on the Colorado and Roaring Fork Rivers. Conveniently located in downtown Glenwood Springs in the Historic Hotel Colorado and across the street from the famous Hot Springs Pool and Lodge, Blue Sky Adventures is dedicated to providing a whitewater experience that exceeds any of our guests' expectations. Dedicated to safety, service, professionalism and fun since 1975.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Food available for purchase, Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access, Baby buggy parking
Rancho Cucamonga, California, Usa
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“First time rafters have awesome time!”
Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

We have always wanted to raft down the Colorado and didn't know what to expect. I am glad we went with BlueSky. Check in was easy for our 11:15 meet up. We got a safety speech which we all listened to intently. Jake the head trainer and guide was both funny and competent. Not being a very good swimmer I was reassured by the info and the life jacket! The booties are well worth it since your shoes will get completely soaked. They tell you all that ahead of time.
We took a nice bus ride up by Carbondale and got more instruction about how to brace ourselves in the boat. It was a bit difficult for my husband who is 6'4". Myself and my two kids 12 and 15 had no problem so being tall might be an issue for your legs! Jake gave us loads of information about what to look for in the water and what to do. We enjoyed being his minions and doing his bidding as he yelled "all forward". We just wanted to live. Honestly, no worries at all as Jake told us this was mostly class 1 waves but we would encounter class 3. We did and it was exciting as we hit the "cemetary" and the man made wave just near the bridge.
The scenery is to die for on the Roaring Fork River with many Blue Heron and Eagles. Because of high water we weren't able to go through the walls of the Glenwood Canyon so we'll just have to come back again. Jake was an excellent guide and we appreciated his expertise!!

Helpful?
Thank Loonette30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    265
    14
    2
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Westminster, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 attraction reviews
“great fun !”
Reviewed 5 December 2013

Have repeated the rafting with Blue Sky over a few years and every time it gets better. Wonderful guides, top rate treatment and spectacular views. They were able to accomodate our family from age 4 to 90. Just don't ask how deep the river is. Seemed like a good question at the time and Guide Geof really tried not to laugh, but the rest of the rafters couldn't hold it in. Guess they were more experienced than I was. Will certainly return on our next trip to Glenwood Springs and now hope to enjoy a bike ride, too.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank gail f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salado, Texas
Level Contributor
78 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Canyon Walls and Blue Sky: Well Worth the trip from Aspen”
Reviewed 25 October 2013

If you're thinking about rafting out of Aspen on the Roaring Fork, think again. You'll pay twice as much for half the experience and a quarter of the view (which we mistakenly did in 2007). Instead, take the short drive (45 minutes or so) to Glenwood Springs and at the southeast corner of the historic Hotel Colorado you'll find Blue Sky Adventures....and your adventure begins.

Blue Sky has rafting down to a customer focused efficient science that results in an amazing experience filled with thrilling adventure and the stunning beauty of the Colorado River and Glenwood Canyon. Upon our arrival at 8:20, everyone was suited up quickly for our morning 1/2 day trip, the buses are promptly loaded, safety instructions were given on our short ride up, and by 9:00 we (and five other boats on this morning) were in the water. Take the morning trip because it rains almost every afternoon in the mid-late summer.

Once we got past the first sets of rapids (the thrills start immediately upon entering the water), our young rafting guide Zach (19) seemed obsessed with creating this competition of splashing another boat filled with people in full rain gear that any idiot would figure do NOT want to get any wetter than necessary on what was a relatively cool morning. So after being repeatedly egged on and succumbing to 5 seconds of splashing them and the resulting evil looks, we indeed looked like idiots....and that was that. Our young guide made a foolish face at the photographer on a picture we purchased, which ruined that one. Fortunately, not a terrific photo to begin with...but still.

Other than these periodic and somewhat understandable youthful indiscretions, he was otherwise terrific and for a time, let our seven year old son sit up with him and bark orders at all the paddlers...it was priceless and the trip was a memory of a lifetime. Generally speaking though, the guides should learn, know and explain more about the canyon and landmarks along the way where the waters are calmer.

If you have a large group, the photo CD is worth the purchase. Since we had 2 boats, they ONLY charged us $60 for CD's of both of them. Otherwise, it's $45 per boat (about 30 pictures) and $25 for an individual picture.

Overall it was an outstanding five star experience and you can't go wrong with Blue Sky Adventures. We'll be back!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank WeRSunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good times roll on the Colorado river”
Reviewed 2 September 2013 via mobile

First we hired bikes and cycled to station 4 where the rafters launch. Bikes were great and staff were friendly so we booked a morning white water rafting trip as well (get a discount if book twice).
Our guide lili was fun, informative and made us all feel safe with her excellent guidance through the rapids.
The trip is a good mix between peaceful beauty floating along the river and adrenilin pumped riding of the waves.
Great fun for all.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank SallyJessie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sycamore, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“This is the company to choose if rafting!!!!”
Reviewed 1 September 2013

We wanted to go white water rafting and didn't know which company to choose and ended up choosing Blue Sky Adventures. We did the half day trip at 12:15 on 8/17/13. We had 2 adults and our kids ages 9, 13, and 16 along with a couple we met on the boat from L.A.. Our guide Haley was the best. She really enjoys the job, she let the kids move around to different positions on the boat, and she was very informative. I would not choose another rafting company and I would prefer to ask for Haley the next time we go back. This was the highlight of our vacation to Colorado. Everyone who works for BSA that we dealt with was very friendly, helpful, and professional.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Josh K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Blue Sky Adventures also viewed

 

Been to Blue Sky Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing