We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Poor Customer Service --Reservation Not Honored”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Glenwood Springs
Ranked #17 of 24 Hotels in Glenwood Springs
Reviewed 24 June 2013

I reserved a 2 queen suite that was suppose to be the larger suite with vaulted ceilings and a bay window. When I went into my room it was the regular queen suite. I brought it to the desk clerks attention and he told me that the room I had reserved MONTHS ago was already occupied. When I told him that wasn't acceptable he basically acted like he couldn't care less and there was nothing he was going to try to do to resolve the situation. It was basically take it or leave it. When I reserve something I expect to get what I reserved just as I would think anyone would. The pool is a joke too. They make it look a decent size on the web site using some kind of magic photography skills but it isn't much bigger than a large hot tub. We ended up swimming at the Glenwood Hotsprings pool and the next time I am in town we will stay at their hotel as well. Glenwood Springs was a great town but this hotel was awful. I should also mention that the breakfast was a mess and over run by the hotel staff that was eating their breakfast there with no regards for the paying customers.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stacey r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glenwood Springs, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2013

Dear Stacey r,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit at our hotel. We are very disappointed to hear about your experience on your recent stay. We would love the opportunity to regain your faith in our hotel and would welcome the opportunity to discuss your stay in further details so we have sent you a private message to obtain additional detail regarding your stay.

Once again many thanks for your feedback.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (266)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

137 - 143 of 266 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2013

This hotel is ideally suited for a vist to the hot springs in Glenwood Springs. It's just a 10-minute walk away; best to leave your car at the hotel and take the short walk rather than look for parking nearer the pool. Overall my family and I had a comfortable stay. Andrew on the front desk was great at check-in. I was pleased that we had been upgraded to a suite even though we were using Priority Club points; a pleasant surprise.

The hotel itself is a little on the old side so the rooms and the facility are showing some small signs of wear and tear. However, the outdoor pool was great especially under a bright moon (although the hot tub jets weren't very efficient). Sitting outside for breakfast was nice, although the staff could have been a little more proactive in keeping the food stocked up. (I'm used to Alamosa's Holiday Inn Express where the dining room staff are always asking if you'd like a refill or offering to clear away your plates. None of that at Glenwood Springs, however.) Also, the staff might want to close the door to the kitchen (full of boxes, etc.) when guests are getting their breakfast (not the most aesthetic sight first thing in the morning). One other suggestion: keep an eye out for the untidy elevator (small pieces of paper no doubt dropped by guests which were still there several hours later). This detracted a little from our arrival.

Overall, however, the staff seem committed to guest comfort and it was interesting to hear the manager giving his kitchen staff a pep talk as I was working on the computer after breakfast.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hixglenwoodgm, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glenwood Springs, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2013

Thank you Nick C for your feedback,

We are working to freshen up our rooms and the hotel in general. Please come see us again, Andrew has been a great employee here and continues to do an excellent job.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2013

We enjoyed this hotel. This hotel was clean, newer and had a great breakfast. The location couldn't have been better. The hotel's backside was right across the street from Glenwood Springs Adventure Park and you could literally walk to it. If it wasn't too hot you could also walk a couple of miles down to the Glenwood Springs hot springs pool. We had a clean room but the maid service was not the best meaning a lot of forgotten towels, soap bars, tissue paper, refilling the coffee packets ... but other than that we had no issues. The pool area was clean and ready. The breakfast was supple and we ate it with no complaints. I would recommend this place and stay here, again, myself.

Room Tip: Bottom floor by the door and you might have to park in the Hampton Inn parking lot (both owned by th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FaylisaFox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hixglenwoodgm, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glenwood Springs, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2013

Thank you for response FaylisaFox,

We have improved our processes with our housekeeping department to eliminate forgotten towels, soap bars, tissue paper, refilling the coffee packets. Please come see us again and have a good day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2013

We stay at these properties due to the consistency, universally good condition, upgraded bedding...in other words their standards are good. Our recent stay in Glenwood Springs may show the chain is slipping.
The lobby, hallways, and elevators were a mess and stayed that way over the entire weekend we stayed. The room was the normal clean and tidy, but the public areas were dirty. The pool was dirty and was only cleaned when a guest complained. The elevator areas showed this problem has been in place a while.
Wake up, Management! You're dragging down the Brand!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pedestrian53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glenwood Springs, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2013

Dear Pedestrian53,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our property regarding your recent stay. Please allow us to apologize for the over all issues you had and any inconvenience the situation may have caused you. We want to assure you that our hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product. For that reason, the comments are troubling and will certainly be looked into. Thank you for staying and we hope you give us another chance to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2013

The room was clean and the bed was comfortable. Everything worked in the room, the only strange thing was the bathroom sink was outside the bathroom? Other than that, very nice place to stay. The front desk was very helpful on places to eat and to have a drink at the end of the day. The price was very good, found it online for under $95.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BTrujillo3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hixglenwoodgm, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glenwood Springs, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2013

Thank you for response BTrujillo3,

Perhaps with our next renovation we can include a sink in the bathroom, please come see us again and have a good day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2013

I frequently stay at Holiday Express and am a platinum member of Priority Club and I am sad to let you know what I found: tile floor very dirty, top of closet shelf dirty, all high areas dirty,toilet flush handle broken, bath room wall paper peeling, rate and safety card missing, hair dryer not working, water in hot tub green with alge growing on walls, pool filtration not on, Believe me I don't usually go around a room checking these things but when water is spilled on the floor and the tissue I used to wipe it up comes back filthy dirty I look around. JG

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glenwood Springs, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2013

Dear John G,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate the conditions of the room prevented you from fully enjoying your visit. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2013

This hotel is like Title says. The room was clean and everything worked. The things that bothered us was they didn't replace any soap,coffee or shampoo. The breakfast was to last until 9:30, but when we got there at 8: 45 there were no hot items left and were told there would be no more. Went to desk to ask why and was told we should have got there earlier. We have stayed here befor and was better than this. Will be back in July and try again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnkenyDavey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glenwood Springs, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2013

Dear AnkenyDavey,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us. It is nice to know that you noticed the cleanliness of the room. Please allow me to apologize for the inconvenience and negative impression you may have had over the lack of room and bathroom amenities and over breakfast hours. Rest assured that these issues will be looked into. I assure you that every comment, no matter how small, is taken very seriously. We hope to get a chance of hosting you again and show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glenwood Springs hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Glenwood Springs
Hotel Glenwood Springs
#3 of 24 in Glenwood Springs
641 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Glenwood Springs
Hampton Inn Glenwood Springs
#2 of 24 in Glenwood Springs
722 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Antlers
Best Western Antlers
#4 of 24 in Glenwood Springs
893 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#10 of 24 in Glenwood Springs
356 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Denver
Hotel Denver
#1 of 24 in Glenwood Springs
919 reviews
1.8 mi away
Glenwood Suites
Glenwood Suites
#7 of 24 in Glenwood Springs
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Glenwood Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Glenwood Springs

Address: 501 W 1st St, Glenwood Springs, CO 81601-2962
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Glenwood Springs
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 24 Hotels in Glenwood Springs
Price Range: £89 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Glenwood Springs 2.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Hotel Glenwood Springs (Aspen Area). Whether traveling on business or on pleasure, this Glenwood Springs Hotel is the perfect choice offering free Smart Hot Buffet Breakfast, free Complimentary Wireless High-Speed Internet and the best hotel value in the Glenwood Springs / Aspen area! Convenient location just four blocks from the famous Hot Springs Pool. Adjacent to the Glenwood Caverns Adventure Park, Glenwood Springs newest area attraction open year around . Conveniently located near Ski Sunlight Resort or enjoy Aspen / Snowmass Ski Resort just 40 minutes from the hotel. Many restaurants and entertainment venues within a few blocks of the hotel. Ask about our packages! Group room rates also available by calling the hotel direct. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Glenwood Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Glenwood Springs Hotel Glenwood Springs
Holiday Inn Glenwood Springs
Glenwood Springs Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing