We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lot's of potential; lot's of disappointment!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Glenwood Springs Hostel
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lot's of potential; lot's of disappointment!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2010

I have stayed in this hostel once before and it has gone downhill! It's a rambling building with an add-on out back. It has a big common room with cool records and the dorm rooms are ok. Just a place to sleep. They charge for blankets and top sheets. My husband and I stayed here in the private room recently. Yuck!! A bunk bed with a double on top and less-than single on the bottom. The mattress was more of an illusion than an actual comfort. We would've been more comfortable on a Therm-a-rest. The carpet hadn't been vacuumed in who knows how long, the ceiling (2 ft above our heads on the upper bunk) had some disturbing stains and the bathroom was slimey. The place has such potential if they would invest in some bleach, a Hoover and a mattress. Having stayed in hostels in several other states and countries that are all along the spectrum, I would place this one on the "not worth it" end. Some of the staff is friendly and some not so much.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tentisbest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    8
    5
    2
    8
See reviews for
1
7
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
n/a
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2010

Really nice and friendly hostel. I was really worried after reading reviews about coming here. I dont like staying in hostels much, because they are usualy dirty and crowded, but I really really enjoyed my stay here. It is very clean and there were not many people staying here(maybe because it is the winter). Everyone here was here to ski and were really friendly. Its like a big house and I didnt really notice much that we were sharing it with other people because it was so quiet. Our room was not in the main building, as we had a private room. Dorms are in the main building. Being in the other building meant we did not have to leave the room in the day time and there is a dog here but he didnt come in our building at all. I hardly saw him. Glenwood Springs is a lovely area and you can go for beautiful bike rides. I would definately advise this hostel. It is also so cheap.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WinstonHaroldJamima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2009

This Is a fantastic Little hostel that really does care about its guests,

Everyone around Glenwood is really friendly and positive anr you are able to meet some really nice people at the hostel. Everyone at the hostel seemed very respectfull of other guests which was fantastic.

Enjoy

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank borrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2009

It was a blast to socialize with all kinds of people every night. With poeple coming and going there was never a dull moment

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
st. louis
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2007

Im at the Glenwood springs hostel unfamiliar with what they are actually but there are people in the kitchen downstairs cooking their owns meals I have not met them yet you have options you can book a private room I learned this or you can bunk with others Im just learning about hostels about an hour ago 2 young kids took off for their adventure with backpacks and my gear is all wrong no hiking boots and you need them or shoes. The kitchen is for hostellers I bought the starving tourist package even though I was here 2 years ago it was snowing and 12 degrees . The kitchen has a refrigerator you shop for and label your own food the hostel overlooks the rocky mountains and I found lodges in the area for a one nights stay. The kitchen is for your use I think maybe not sure even if you rent a private roomfor you to save cash so that you from london and new zealand and japan or wherever you can save cash to see Glenwood Springs Colorado.

I would recommend that you put together a menu before you get here stuff restaurants would have and cook it here .

The main house is closed from 10 am to 5 pm you have to bring anything your going to need out of the main house but you can use the lower sectionof the hostel to store your luggage and your things bring all your stuff food and clothing downstairs from 10 to 5 you get a combination to enter the hostel and must have one.
I would recommend a bike a mountain bike.
From the Greyhound Bus terminal it costs 12.00 one way in a taxi cab its about 2 felt like 5 miles from the bus station to the hostel a long way with a bike it would be easier to carry a fold up bike there is an ironing board and an iron and a microwave the kitchen is fully equipped and I see a barbecue grill if you want to barbecue your food outside and a smoking section .

Im here doing work and brought my work with me its heavy and I have to finish it here I bought the starving tourist package which is $48.00 for 4 days and 4 nights lodging and accomodations, recommend it for groups of teens want to see stuff normally could not see it at all ever at all and for couples and for children and families. Theyy have one permenant resident she was here when I was here 2 years ago. Im on my way to needles and found a permenant place wanted to see glenwood have work to do i have to lighten my load just cannot carry anymore.

I would recommend at night kind of cool but not that cold and mountain gear a bike would be great i see some bikes dont know if those are for guests or belong to guests they have everything that you need .

You just go grocery shopping about 5 blocks from here and I know there is a hot springs 3 blocks from here and a 7-11 next door to the hostel,

If you had a bike you could save $24.00 by biking from the Greyhound station a fold up bike but you could and invest in a storage unit with public storage the first month is $29.00 if you are internationally travelling on the Greyhound Ameripass this would help to find these on your path. I found no lockers for travellers at all. You may need more than one storage unit if you are travelling internationally

I found car rentals as low as $12.00 per day need a lot of cash for deposits along the way huge discounts on the web like Priceline.com

I found the hostels is for very young people but they are for the very young and the elder hostels age requirement is 55 at least years of age so if your 35 and up not going to fit into the hostels at all but you wont any of them very young travellers . Even families would be fine in the bunks but might as well rent a hotel room by yourselves the hostel would charge you per person its worth it to bring your children to the hostel a few times see what its like.

I found a cuban restaurant next door and a spa across the street too and the hostel is sitting in the rocky mountains very huge sets of mountains around the hostel but finding the winter more interesting with the snow during the holidays . Toilet paper is provided and you share the bathrooms with others no one in the bathrooms and they have a stove in the kitchen you can make quiche or cookies no one is but I would have it all planned out and would run to the store or take the public transit that picks up virtually in front of the hostel and will take you to the grocery store it is very cheap not like canada 5.00 butter a stick and 7.00 gallons of milk and 15.00 pouches of Top tobacco if you smoke it is 1.99 here just compare not just the tobacco its everything you can find cheaper in the grocery store the margarine is .79 cents for 4 sticks of butter not in canada 5.00 for one stick, but you can find deals in Vancouver the bakery sells 3/1.00 rolls in Chinatown , but glenwood springs colorado is very small I found 1 grocery store and it is very good prices.

You can charcoal gas grill with safe environmental briskets and cook anything at all. I was very late the bus became stuck in Denver Broncos football game traffic and there was an oil truck crash and spill. I missed an entire day of my reservation on my way to needles, CA.
I would bring nothing to the hostels the shampoo is only .79 cents very large bottle of it and the conditioner too but going to find very young people in the hostels its like staying at a fully furnished efficiency it has electric

The hostel has wifi internet access also if you bring your laptop you can access this 24 hours a day.

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank jingle62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, NY
Level Contributor
30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2005

This hostel is great for those on a tight budget. The price is way below other hotels are in the area - with a private room being about 1/2 the cost of the cheapest motel room we could find. Its friendly with the typical mix of hostel travellers. There are games to play in the common areas, cheap internet access, and laundry. That said, the place could use some cleaning. The rugs were a little dirty and the shower was almost unusable - BRING FLIP FLOPS! For $1 you get rough but clean sheets and a small towel. Note that even the private rooms use a loft, so that if you want to sleep next to your honey - be prepared to climb up and down a ladder and hit your head on the light. Note that there are no air conditioners. For us, the nights were cool enough with a fan, but it might not always be the case. The owner is a very friendly person - as are all who work there. The best part of staying here was hanging out in the common areas at night - talking to people and playing games. They also have a great album collection (LP) which is really fun to flip through and think of younger days. In the evening, there is usually a LP being played - FUN! It was very relaxing.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank slroth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2004

What a great place to stay if you are on a tight budget. They have discounts for some of the best local activities and the hippy dips are sooper for an evening after hiking. The mountains are incredible and the hostel is clean and cosy. I would definately recommend a stop over at this hostel.

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glenwood Springs hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Denver
Hotel Denver
#1 of 23 in Glenwood Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 844 reviews
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Antlers
BEST WESTERN Antlers
#5 of 23 in Glenwood Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 763 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Glenwood Springs
Hotel Glenwood Springs
#2 of 23 in Glenwood Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Glenwood Springs
Hampton Inn Glenwood Springs
#3 of 23 in Glenwood Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 636 reviews
0.8 mi away
Glenwood Springs Cedar Lodge
Glenwood Springs Cedar Lodge
#13 of 23 in Glenwood Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
0.7 mi away
Silver Spruce Motel
Silver Spruce Motel
#18 of 23 in Glenwood Springs
3.5 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenwood Springs Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenwood Springs Hostel

Property: Glenwood Springs Hostel
Address: 1021 Grand Ave, Glenwood Springs, CO 81601-3603
Region: United States > Colorado > Glenwood Springs
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Glenwood Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Glenwood Springs Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenwood Springs Hotel Glenwood Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing