We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gave Away Our Room But...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Glenwood Springs Inn
Ranked #14 of 23 Hotels in Glenwood Springs
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
169 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
“Gave Away Our Room But...”
Reviewed 10 May 2014

We arrived after a long drive from Topeka through a heavy wind storm that included getting our SUV dented by an 8 ft tall tumbleweed! Coupled with a 2 mile hike to a lovely lake; we were pretty tired. To our surprise when we arrived, they told us they gave away our room! So, why the 5* rating? Well, here's the But...They called around and booked us in the Silver Spruce motel right across the street for the same price. So, what could have been a horrible experience on a Saturday night turned into a great experience...See our Silver Spruce review to find out why!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HikingFoolCincinnati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    102
    122
    54
    17
    12
See reviews for
109
108
26
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glendale, Arizona
1 review
Reviewed 9 May 2014

My family and I stayed at the Glenwood Motor Inn this passed December and would HIGHLY recommend it! Being family owned they are very family accommodating, basic continental breakfast, and clean rooms with a great view. They are also located walking distance to the Glenwood Caverns, Hot Springs pool, and down town.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Justin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Romeoville, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

We've been stayng in this motel for many years and I have to say its very very good place to stay- rooms are clean and always smell fresh. Motel is as close to a lot of Glenwood Springss atractions and restaurants as you dont need to use your car when you staying there- our family love this motel in the middle of very beautiful town:)

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annnsch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canon City, Co
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

My son and I son stayed at this motel on a snowy night. The room was large, clean and comfortable. The bathroom is small but it had all the room we needed to complete our essentials. Overall this place is a great deal for the money. We will be back.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Tunaman65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centennial, Colorado
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

We drove to Glenwood Springs today and tried to get a room for the night. We had checked online for pet friendly hotels and found the Glenwood Motor Inn. We were excited because we could afford it and they accepted pets. We were very happy!

We found the hotel and were very happy with it's location. We tried to check in, but there was no one in the office. Eventually, a Spanish speaking lady came out and in broken English that her boss had left to go to the store and would be back in about an hour or so. Really? We told her we wanted a room and she said she couldn't help us. WHAT?

Now...the smell...it truly smelled like someone had gone to the bathroom and left the door open or that a dog had pooped in the lobby and no one had cleaned it up. It was horrible. The outside looked nice, but we never saw a room because we left.

My theory...if you want guests, you should probably have someone working your front desk. OH...and get rid of that HORRIBLE odor!!! Won't ever stay there...for sure.

We chose this location because of the reviews on TripAdvisor. We are pretty easy to please folks, but this was not a good experience. I hope that others have a better experience and can actually check in!

Disappointed, to say the least!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dnvrdoll1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mfit, Manager at Glenwood Springs Inn, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Hello Thank you for posting a review. We apologize you had a bad experience however there was a city sewer problem we recently had for a couple of days and it unfortunately sent a bad odor our way. As to the front desk we always have a front desk person, She needed to step out because of an emergency issue dealing with the problem with the sewer and since we are in the middle of hiring more front desk I could not get my other girl to come in at such short notice. We are truly sorry for the experience and hope you are willing to try as again as we do have the cleanest rooms in town!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Quiet, clean room! Great, great price for one night.. Quick walk to the Hot Springs and Vapor Caves. WiFi was weak. The computer in the lobby did not work...that was the one negative. If it doesn't work, take it out. I was assuming I could check the Amtrak schedule before I left. I will certainly plan on staying there again!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fremont
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Just got back from spring break in Glenwood Springs and stayed in this motel with family. From the outside it looks decent, clean and safe. Inside was even better. The room was large and the smell refreshing. The sheets smelled heavenly and the bathroom is a good size. There was a microwave and minifridge and ample natural light from windows on both sides of the opposite wall. The view outside the motel is just amazing. The location is also great, 5 mins walk to Glenwood Caverns gondola and 10 mins walk to Glenwood Hot Springs. Now for the not so amazing things. There is no hair dryer so if you hate going to bed with wet hair then you will have to bring one with you. The breakfast is adequate, hot coffee, bagels, raisin bread and you will have to eat in your room as the office is very small (side note - when we first came into the office there was an old lady in the back singing a song in a foreign language - it made me feel safe and happy). Anyway, all these is just fine with us as we are fairly easy going and are used to staying in budget motels and this is one of the best budget motels we've stayed in but ..... My greatest peeve with this motel is their free wifi which was non existent. Inside the room you will have to go round to find the area with the strongest signal (which was 1 to 2 bars) we found it in the corner of the closet area amidst our dirty hanging clothes - ridiculous. And even if you find the signal you couldn't hang on to it for long, it appears and disappears like the wind. We complained to Josie, the manager, who is a nice lady by the way, but the explanation she presented me was it was because of the strong wind outside moving the antenna - what, like a TV antenna? Anyway, by our third night, I just gave up and watched TV, can't stay mad during our vacation and we only needed the wifi at night anyway so there, but still disappointed.

Room Tip: Get rooms 211 or 212, outside the rooms we can get 3 bars of wifi, 218 not so good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cherry5399
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glenwood Springs hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western Antlers
Best Western Antlers
#5 of 23 in Glenwood Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 774 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Glenwood Springs
Hotel Glenwood Springs
#2 of 23 in Glenwood Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 604 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Denver
Hotel Denver
#1 of 23 in Glenwood Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#9 of 23 in Glenwood Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Glenwood Springs
Hampton Inn Glenwood Springs
#3 of 23 in Glenwood Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 656 reviews
1.4 mi away
Glenwood Springs Cedar Lodge
Glenwood Springs Cedar Lodge
#13 of 23 in Glenwood Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenwood Springs Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenwood Springs Inn

Property: Glenwood Springs Inn
Address: 141 W 6th St, Glenwood Springs, CO 81601-2911 (Formerly Glenwood Motor Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Glenwood Springs
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Glenwood Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Glenwood Springs Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As seen on the Travel Channels Hotel Impossible, Located only 2 blocks from Hot Springs Pool and Glenwood Aventure Park. Home of Rosi's Bavarian Restaurant. We offer spotlessly clean and affordable rooms. Within walking distance to all major attractions including downtown Glenwood. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Glenwood Springs Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenwood Motor Hotel Glenwood Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing