We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little time traveling”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Glenwood Springs Cedar Lodge
Ranked #13 of 24 Hotels in Glenwood Springs
Reviewed 30 August 2013

Following my wife's request not to stay in any chain hotels during our Colorado trip, booked 2 nights after reading reviews on here. She liked how they kind of embraced the 60's or 70's style. From the carpet in the room to the one big key for the room to the little soaps.
With the low cost of rooms, we booked a larger room so we could have our boys in two double beds in one room with one TV, and my wife and I with the queen bed in another, giving us a nice little break from one another in the middle of a long road trip.
Just a few minutes from downtown, and a supermarket right across the street, the location was fine. After doing the Glenwood Canyon bike ride, rewarded the boys with some downtime in the afternoon and they enjoyed the outdoor pool, and we utilized the laundry.
The breakfast offerings were sufficient.
A solid value for the money.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RAEF715
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (335)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

206 - 212 of 335 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2013

This is a very nice motel. We stayed three nights. Our room was larger than the big chains offer. We had a 2 queen, room 201. The bathroom, sink, fridge, microwave, closet area is separate and away from the entrance, quite large relative to other motels. Having some rental property myself, I always notice little details about upkeep and upgrades. The carpet was in excellent condition, the beds were comfortable, the appliances were clean and worked without issue. The bathroom was redone very well - tile work was top-notch, fixtures in the shower looked nice. The grounds were very well maintained. The indoor pool / hot tub / sauna was wonderful. My daughters and I were in there every afternoon.

This place gets 4.5 stars. The dings are for a sink that drained very slowly and regurgitated scum from previous occupants - a little disgusting. I brought this to the attention of the front desk on our first day, and by day three it still had not been addressed. I was tempted to pull the trap and ream it out myself, because it's such an easy fix. Also, the WiFi didn't work the first night or two, and by the third night we got connected "most" of the time. And I'm not sure why in-room coffee is by request.

Tips - Uncle Pizza is a short walk away, and for a hole in the wall I thought it was great pizza and calzone. Liquor store is on the way to Uncle Pizza. If you have kids, very nice park/playground is also only a couple blocks south. Save a few bucks and buy your hot springs pass from the motel. Lots to see and do around Glenwood and I recommend this motel as your basecamp.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kbbpll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Wanted to save money on an overnight coming from Denver to southwest Colorado. The price fit our budget and got high reviews. Its an older motel, but it is SO worth staying. Both an indoor and an outdoor pool; beautifully landscaped and well kept grounds; outdoor grills with covered patios and picnic tables; little outdoor sitting areas. Each room has its own air conditioner...and the big plus is that it doesn't go on and off all night like some hotel/motel air conditioners. That's always driven me batty!! lol The rooms are clean, the mattresses are comfy, the bathroom fixtures are up-to-date. Little dorm refrigerator and microwave in each room. Free wi-fi. Can't ask for much better for the price and location. I highly recommend it!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leenup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013 via mobile

$80 a night. Clean yet nothing fancy. On the main street minutes from food, grocery stores, springs and mountain adventure. Cheap soap and shampoo, conditioner. Lots of clean, white towels, hand towels and wash clothes. Free WiFi.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

We enjoy staying here. It's very very clean; we can cook and eat at hotel which is a great money saver-the pools are great--and they have a variety of rooms. love the outdoor grills! Very family friendly. nice breakfast No complaints.

Room Tip: Family of five--kitchenette
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 3kidshome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013

Good place for the price. It is on the older side, but maintained extremely well. Everything was very clean, and not just because they replaced with new, but they actually maintained it. Pools were nice, hot tub too. Breakfast was ok. Location was fine but the road it is on is very busy. Our room was a 3 bed - clean and comfortable. Overall, well worth the price if you don't mind being a little ways from the action. Only gripe was wireless internet was very weak but they did attempt to fix it.

Room Tip: Its a small town - don't worry about where the hotel is located go for value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013

We staying in here for two nights and the room was perfect. It was clean and comfortable! What made the stay enjoyable was that the staff were so amazingly helpful and went out of their way to make our trip enjoyable. They offered lots of advice and on the final day personally ran us to to amtrak station as a favour which was so lovely as a traveller with a huge rucksack!! I would recommend a stay in glenwood springs in every trip to the US

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emcarroll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glenwood Springs hotels
1.7 mi away
Hotel Glenwood Springs
Hotel Glenwood Springs
#2 of 24 in Glenwood Springs
646 reviews
1.5 mi away
Best Western Antlers
Best Western Antlers
#5 of 24 in Glenwood Springs
904 reviews
2.9 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#11 of 24 in Glenwood Springs
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Denver
Hotel Denver
#1 of 24 in Glenwood Springs
929 reviews
3.0 mi away
Glenwood Suites
Glenwood Suites
#7 of 24 in Glenwood Springs
364 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Glenwood Springs
Hampton Inn Glenwood Springs
#3 of 24 in Glenwood Springs
731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenwood Springs Cedar Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenwood Springs Cedar Lodge

Address: 2102 Grand Avenue, Glenwood Springs, CO 81601-4118 (Formerly Cedar Lodge Motel)
Region: United States > Colorado > Glenwood Springs
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Glenwood Springs
#8 Family Hotel in Glenwood Springs
Price Range: £53 - £91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Glenwood Springs Cedar Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This small oasis in the middle of Glenwood Springs, Colorado is the perfect hub for your next vacation. Located less than a mile from the Glenwood Caverns Adventure Park, Hot Springs Pool, and Vapor Caves - family entertainment in this Western Colorado town couldn't be any easier to plan. Hiking, biking, skiing, healing mineral waters, horseback riding, river fun and more await you in Glenwood Springs. Our choice Glenwood Springs hotel offers a variety of affordable and clean rooms. Whatever your need, Cedar Lodge can fulfill it. We want your stay to be as comfortable as your own home, that's why we make a microwave and refrigerator standard in all of our rooms. You will also find a flat screen cable TV and have access to our free wireless internet for your convenience. Traveling with family? We offer kitchen unit suites that are already stocked with dishware, silverware, and various pots and pans. If you have a larger group, we have a four bedroom cabin with a fireplace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Glenwood Springs Cedar Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cedar Hotel Glenwood Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing