We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Guess We Will Always Come Back”

The Italian Underground Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$20
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Johnstown, Colorado
Level Contributor
286 reviews
244 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Guess We Will Always Come Back”
Reviewed 3 October 2013

We have eaten at the Italian Underground many times over the years, mostly with the kids when they were growing up and we would come to town for the Hot Springs during the summer. I have never reviewed it before on TA.

Wife and I spent one night in Glenwood while in route to Grand Junction. Even though it was the last of September, we got one of the last available tables shortly after 5 PM. The menu hadn’t changed much, if at all, over the years, and that was comforting. Service was quick, but not overly friendly; it never was really. Salads were just plain lettuce with a few extras, but the blue cheese dressing was very tasty. The basket of bread with garlic butter is quite good. Wife had the Spaghetti and Putanesca sauce. I don’t think she has ever ordered anything else in all these years. She said it was as good as always. I had the Linguini with Clams. I already knew that the clams were canned, but being not overcooked and combined with a rich butter and garlic sauce really hit the spot. We had a very good lemon sorbet for dessert; they were apparently out of the spumoni.

Maybe it’s just the fond memories of the years spent there with the kids, but we just love to come here, even though the food and service and prices are just above average. Funny thing was that we Messaged an interior photo of the Underground to both the kids and they knew right away where we were.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jim6918
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

551 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    284
    130
    84
    31
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Cute, but won't do again”
Reviewed 30 September 2013

We travel a lot for business and pleasure, and spend time in Glenwood a couple of times a year. Have wondered about this place for years, so opted to take a client out to dinner there. It is busy enough...small and cozy and a bit pricey, and yes, underground - with original stone walls and red checked vinyl tablecloths- to be fair, it's cute. Decided to put in the wait-time for a table, and were pretty much sorry we did. The waitress couldn't be bothered with telling us about the specials, or anything else about the menu or wine list. The meals include salad, bread, and dessert...salad was warm and wilted iceberg with a few slivers of carrot - removed slimy lettuce. The bread was warm, but a sort of sandwich bread with a nasty garlic/ margarine spread. The combination plate was heavy on the pasta, meatball and sausages were overcooked and hard/dry. Marinara was pretty good, but didn't care for it ladled over the doughy cannelloni (which had an old tasting sausage/piece of green pepper inside). Lasagna was chewy cheese/hamburger between noodles. Dessert ( a small scoop of sherbert) was the tastiest thing we had. Should've stayed with the brewpub up the street...or the mexican place across the river.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank greatplaces1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shellman, Georgia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Loved the entree, but the pre-packaged lettuce has to go”
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Salad should be washed. Spinach lazagna was dry. Good flavor!ice sorbet was great. It was recommended to us.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jeanettefromGA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loveland, Colorado
Level Contributor
34 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Worth the Wait”
Reviewed 23 September 2013

We had to wait for 45 minutes but worth the wait. The food is plentiful and their bread is fanstastic. According to their website we should have had more dessert options but that was okay. Only drawback was watching them set up the tables for the group and they grab the utensils by the eating end and not the handle. Not sanitary in my opinion. Will go back though.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rhondy50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waxahachie
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Yummy donner after a long day.”
Reviewed 20 September 2013

This is by far our favorite Italian Restaurant in Glenwood. Portions are huge and easily shared. I have never had a bad meal there and we always make it a point to stop in. Can get very busy try to be there when they open.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank WestwindColorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Italian Underground Restaurant also viewed

Glenwood Springs, CO
Glenwood Springs, CO
 

Been to The Italian Underground Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing