We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always very good, great hot bread”

The Italian Underground Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$20
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours
Greenwood Village, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Always very good, great hot bread”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We go there every time we visit Glenwood Springs. Very crowded. Fair prices, good reliable food. And the bread is to die for. I wish that they would offer vanilla ice cream and spumoni for desert. Their meat sauce is just plain good. The chicken is very good. There is always a wait, and you will find out why. I wish that they would open for lunch on the weekends during high season. Lots of people would eat there.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank auroracham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

580 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    298
    139
    88
    32
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Cute Place”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

This is exactly what is says...Underground. Seating is very limited. Food and portions are good. Except if you have children with you make sure you tell them you need a smaller portion for your children as it seems they don't know that children don't eat that much.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank jac32010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Reliable, Good Italian”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We eat at the Italian Underground every time we're in Glenwood Springs. It's not the best Italian food on the planet, but it's good and reasonably priced, served up by a friendly staff. Good bread and good drinks too.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Saltrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Love this place-bread especially!”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

This was my second visit to the great place. I love the environment and the bread is amazing! The staff are so warm and friendly and the food delivery is quick. I also like how most dishes come with spaghetti. The lasagna is super cheesy but not thick on the tomato so if you like thick tomato sauce you might not be a fan. HIghly recommend. This is a small place so plan accordingly if you go during high dine time.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BekaandJason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colorado
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“perhaps 10th visit hasn't disappointed”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

its a small restaurant don't expect to get a table on a busy night without a wait. the food is great, they do offer smaller portions on some menu items this trip we had a shrimp/asparagus special and a ravioli special both very tasty the house salad inc is fine,

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank seniortvlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Italian Underground Restaurant also viewed

Glenwood Springs, CO
Glenwood Springs, CO
 

Been to The Italian Underground Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing