We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Disappointment”
Review of Glenwood Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Glenwood Suites
Ranked #7 of 23 Hotels in Glenwood Springs
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
“A Disappointment”
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Was looking forward to our stay (4-nights) in a 2-bedroom king suite. This suite is advertised as being able to accomodate 6-7 people. As the unit had 2 king beds, we were expecting 2 bathrooms, as these were the accommodations discussed earlier when booking with the hotel. When we arrived, we learned that we only had 1 shared bathroom. The hotel could not change our room (or chose not to) as they were expecting guests in the other 2B/2B rooms.

To top it off, the second bedroom had NO CLOSET! I've never even heard of a bedroom (a king bedroom at that) without a closet - especially in a suite where people may be staying for several days! I asked if the hotel had a portable hanging rack (the kind you can roll in for guests), and they had none! There were only 3 small drawers in the TV cabinet. We ended up asking for extra hangers and hanging clothes from the vents, door handles, whereever we could. This issue was totally mind-boggling!!!

In addition, there was NO BUSINESS CENTER - they set up a computer and printer on a SMALL table on the first floor directly in front of the vending machines. It was only good enough for printing boarding passes or maybe quickly checking your e-mail, if you didn't bring another method to do so. If you wanted something more, you could go across the street to the Quality Inn Suites and use their Business Center.

Also, for you folks looking to swim while on vacation - there was NO POOL. Once again, you could go across the street and use QI's. (As I'm writing this, maybe we should have stayed at the QI!)

On the positive side, the size of the unit was nice. There was a nice full kitchen with granite counters and a dining table and chairs, along with a small sofa. The breakfast was the usual "hot breakfast" that many hotels advertise - biscuits and gravy, some egg product, pre-packaged assorted muffings/danishes, along with make-your-own waffles, fresh fruit, yogurt, etc. If you travel a lot, you've seen it before.

One of the nicest things about this hotel was its location - just a few steps from the Colorado River, which had a nice sidewalk along it. It was quiet and peaceful and got some good pictures. Also, the hotel is right next to a Dairy Queen, which was probably one of the nicest DQ's I've ever seen - if that counts for anything. Besides the usual ice cream, they had sandwiches, salads, and sides which made it easy to get a quick meal and bring back to the hotel - as there is no restaurant in the hotel and nothing else close. Also, the hotel is right off I-70, so it's convenient when travelling, and it's not far from downtown. There is a small mall right across the street with JCPenney's and Ross as the anchor stores (I said "small mall, right?").

Overall, this might be a good stop for just 1-2 nights, but if you're looking for a longer stay in the area or have a group of people sharing a room, I would go elsewhere. As I may be coming back to this area of CO in the future, I'm already looking at other suites in the area.

Room Tip: A few of the rooms have a balcony, which would have been nice to have when the weather is warm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anut4maui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    172
    106
    39
    10
    10
See reviews for
133
129
10
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Highlands Ranch, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
90 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

I stayed in this location a few times and really like the staff. I also like the large 2 room suites. Very clean hotel and nice complementary breakfast in the morning. The room was an up-grade and I will always stay at this location.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clair T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Petersburg, FL
Level Contributor
88 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

We stayed for five days and were completely satisfied with the hotel. While the room was a little cramped (two queens) the place was spotless. The linens were nice, the towels were fluffy and generous. Our carpet was clean with no holes! The desk staff (Chad) was so helpful and fun. We had absolutely no complaints. The breakfast was good and we loved the fresh fruit bowl. Food was replaced quickly and the hours were 7 to 10 which was great for late sleepers!

Room Tip: We requested the top floor off highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bennett942
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

On the positive side: nice linens and comfortable bed and rooms are quiet.
The Negatives were that the room carpet was worn ( a large hole) , 2 of the 3 lamps didn't work, the clock near the bed was not one that could be read at night in the dark, the small flat screen tv was messed up - picture format and color made it almost impossible to view - and remote had stuff stuck to it-eww! While the breakfast was plentiful and uncrowded (off season stay) the food was pretty marginal - even for standard hotel fare...sausage patties were pale and greasy, pre-fab "egg" patties were rubbery. That may not be something that staff can control. Glad there was yogurt and toast! Not bad, but we'll look around more next time...somewhere closer to town. This is definitely too far to walk.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank greatplaces1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cedar Springs, Michigan
Level Contributor
63 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Not only the rooms are BIG and the beds are comfy, the breakfast there is awesome. Got the whole family fed and happy to enjoy a day at the Thermal Spa in Glenwood Springs. Hotel has a covered underground garage as well with elevators directly to the guest room floors. Couldn't be happier!

Room Tip: any rooms are fine, but try to get one with bunk beds when traveling with kids
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nzimpfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
Level Contributor
65 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

We stayed for just one night on a trip from Grand Junction to Snowmass. The facility was very clean and quiet. It was also nice that it wasn't right in the middle of the action by the Glenwood Springs. The breakfast in the morning had a pretty good selection but was very crowded. And people took to saving tables and seats for members of their party that were still sleeping but 'might arrive at any time'. The pool is across the street, but it didn't matter to us, as we spent our time at the springs. Overall, a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lovetotravel099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
1,191 reviews
136 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 727 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013

This establishment works hard to earn its three star rating. The delightful staff is friendly and very helpful.
We arrived Friday afternoon in a torrential rain. The desk clerk informed us that we could park in the underground garage at no charge and unload our luggage, to avoid getting soaked. She also gave us a weather report for the weekend and some helpful suggestions about what to do in the rain. We actually phoned the front desk while driving around trying to find an attraction the second day of our stay, and the clerk stopped what he was doing to give us specific directions.
We were informed that Friday evenings from 5-7 p.m. is chili-dog/nacho night. The hotel provides complimentary hot dogs and nachos in the breakfast room. If you're into eating that type of food, it might save you having to buy dinner for the kids. The snack includes potato chips and soda.
Breakfast, parking, and Wi-Fi are free. The first night we stayed, the internet service was down and wasn't working at all. By morning of our second day, Wi-Fi was operating at full speed.
"Hot" breakfast is served till ten a.m. and includes the typical hotel fare - lots of breads and carbs, cold cereals, along with one hot entrée that varies daily.
Surprisingly the little fitness center has a good selection of equipment for different types of work outs. It's open 24 hours and is very clean
Our room was a 3rd floor king suite with a view of the mountain. I was delighted to find organic toiletries. I almost always must use my own to avoid the toxic barrage of chemicals in typical personal care items provided in hotels. Bring your own body wash if you don't like bar soap.
The room had a little balcony with a table and two chairs, facing the mountain - a quaint setting for enjoying a cup of coffee. We brought one of the chairs inside so two of us could sit simultaneously at the large desk in our room and use laptops.
Other amenities include a mini refridge, a tiny microwave, a 2-cup coffee maker, two full length mirrors, iron and board, safe, alarm radio. The sofa is a queen hide-a-bed, if you need to sleep more than two people.
The room is tastefully furnished, has adequate lighting, lots of drawer space, and electrical outlets.
The bathroom is good size and the countertop is large, with plenty of space to spread out your personal care items. Adequate towels are available.
The bed is very comfortable, but the pillows are odd. Four pillows are provided, but they're about half the size of a normal pillow, and they're much too soft. Not at all comfortable. Bring your own pillow.
There is no pool, but I think you can use one across the street at a sister hotel. We don't swim in hotel pools, so that amenity isn't relevant.
Other than pillows, our one issue was the train going by at night three or four times until two a.m. No horn, just noise on the tracks up the side of the mountain. We ran the A/C instead of leaving the door open for fresh air, to muffle the sound. We didn't hear the train after two o'clock though, so either it doesn't run or it isn't loud enough to wake you from a sound sleep. The other side of the hotel faces I-70, so it would probably be noisier.
This reasonably priced hotel is probably ideal for families traveling on a budget. It's cute, quaint, and comfortable.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FancyFree55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glenwood Springs hotels
2.0 mi away
Best Western Antlers
Best Western Antlers
#5 of 23 in Glenwood Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 776 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Glenwood Springs
Hotel Glenwood Springs
#2 of 23 in Glenwood Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 604 reviews
0.0 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#8 of 23 in Glenwood Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hotel Denver
Hotel Denver
#1 of 23 in Glenwood Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 856 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Glenwood Springs
Hampton Inn Glenwood Springs
#3 of 23 in Glenwood Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 657 reviews
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Glenwood Springs
Holiday Inn Express Glenwood Spr...
#18 of 23 in Glenwood Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenwood Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenwood Suites

Property: Glenwood Suites
Address: 2625 Gilstrap Ct, Glenwood Springs, CO 81601-8739
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Glenwood Springs
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Glenwood Springs
#10 Romantic Hotel in Glenwood Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Glenwood Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Glenwood Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenwood Hotel Glenwood Springs
Glenwood Hotel Springs
Clarion Glenwood Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing