We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Red Barn Suite was Sweet!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Glenwood Springs
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Four Mile Creek Bed and Breakfast
Certificate of Excellence
Victoria, Texas
Level Contributor
196 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“The Red Barn Suite was Sweet!”
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Our stay at the Four Mile B&B couldn't have been any better, the Red Barn Suite is adorable and the breakfast were all delicious. Located just outside of Glenwood Springs, we felt the location was perfect.....with a small babbling stream running behind the cabins. Our room met and exceeded all our expectations....furnished in an eclectic style of shabby chic memorabilia. It was very clean, with lots of soft fluffy towels after a long soak in the antique claw foot bathtub. The WiFi worked great and television was available. The kitchen was basic, but was stocked with everything you might need to fix a meal.....plus we used the gas grill one night!
Jim and Sharill were the perfect host and made us feel at home. They gave us hints on what to do and where to go.....and entertained us with the history of many of the items in their home. Jim even entertained us one evening with some of his original songs! He is a talented song writer!
No matter your plans in the area this place is the perfect place to stay......you can spend your days exploring this part of Colorado, and the evenings sitting by the stream watching wildlife or talking to other guest. We were treated to a young black bear eating berries in the nearby woods!
I will definitely book another stay when we return to this part of Colorado!

Room Tip: The Red Barn Suite was very private, and cute as a button!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gayla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    108
    6
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
25
73
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We celebrated our 37Th. anniversary at Four Mile Creek Bed and Breakfast in Glenwood Springs, Colorado last week. It was a wonderful overnight get-away. The farm is located on a paved country road that goes from Glenwood Springs up to Sunlight Ski Area. The farm has two cabins, one suite in the reconverted barn, and rooms in the main house. The owners, Jim and Sherril were wonderful hosts. The B & B is located at 6900 feet elevation with beautiful gardens and a creek flowing by the cabins. The owners recommended an excellent eating place in town, Rivers, and were delightful to visit.

Room Tip: We saw the barn suite and our Garden cabin was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 724pamelah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee's Summit, Missouri
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Beautiful place to stay. Jim and Sharill are super sweet people and do whatever it takes to make your stay great! My son and I stayed in the Barn Suite. It was so clean and breakfast was fantastic. The highlight was waking up to a bear cub! Definitely recommend this place and can't wait to return!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alicia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abilene
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Jim and Sharill are truly the perfect, welcoming, and laid back hosts. Their property is tenderly cared for and it is obvious they take a lot of pride and concern in their accommodations. Jim is an artist with music (which I highly recommend!) and Sharill is an artist with food, gardening, and jewelry. Together they make Four Mile Creek a very pleasant place to rest your head and have an incredible breakfast. They also gave great instructions for driving to various places, and were helpful all the way around. I would highly recommend staying there for a unique Colorado experience!
Be sure and pick up at least one of his CD's.

Room Tip: If you stay in the barn room, you will love the claw foot tub with the chandelier overhead! This ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anita2992013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flower Mound, Texas
Level Contributor
146 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

I found this B & B while searching on Tripadvisor-
After reading all the reviews I really don't know what to say (which is a first) (ha) We have stayed in a lot of B &B"s here in the states, Europe & England - This place is wonderful - very unique. If you are looking for a B&B in the Glenwood Springs area....read all the reviews....then try and spend at least 2 nights here.
Jim & Sharill are wonderful host - they are truly a warm sweet couple. Also Jim entertained us one morning after breakfast ... Jim sings,plays & composes his own music - very talented - we bought one of his CD's and have enjoyed listening to it very much!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zabieann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Jim & Sharill are amazing hosts! Four Mile Creek B & B was so much more than we could have asked for. My husband & I spent 2 nights in the main house in June and it was probably our favorite stay at a b & b ever. The property is about a 10 minute drive from the town's center, so it feels like you're in the wilderness rather than the hustle & bustle of the city.

The main house was so cute! Everything was so antique and rustic, much different than the Chicago decor we are used to. The dining area where breakfast is served always has home made cookies and tea to help yourself to. Jim & Sharill do anything they can to help make your stay enjoyable. It truly felt like we were just visiting family :) Breakfasts were delicious and it was so great to talk to Jim, Sharill and the other guests to hear about everyone's trip.

When we return to the Glenwood area, we will definitely stay with Jim & Sharill again, highly recommended!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Islip, New York
Level Contributor
95 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

This was definitely one of the better B & B's I have stayed in. Enough out of town to truly enjoy the country and it's surroundings. Jim and Sharill were perfect hosts, giving us tips on the area from where to eat to back country roads. This was a visit for mother and daughter fun time and the place was perfect. Stayed in the red barn room and was most comfortable. Floors were heated and bed was perfect. Sharill made an amazing breakfast and we even got Jim to play for us, which was a treat. He is very knowledgeable about history and stories which we totally enjoyed. Would highly recommend, just wish we had more time to spend in the area.

Room Tip: Red barn room was perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flyinhi208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glenwood Springs hotels
7.4 mi away
Hotel Denver
Hotel Denver
#1 of 23 in Glenwood Springs
866 reviews
7.9 mi away
Hotel Glenwood Springs
Hotel Glenwood Springs
#2 of 23 in Glenwood Springs
612 reviews
7.8 mi away
Best Western Antlers
Best Western Antlers
#5 of 23 in Glenwood Springs
804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Glenwood Springs
Hampton Inn Glenwood Springs
#3 of 23 in Glenwood Springs
677 reviews
6.3 mi away
Glenwood Springs Cedar Lodge
Glenwood Springs Cedar Lodge
#13 of 23 in Glenwood Springs
318 reviews
7.9 mi away
Residence Inn Glenwood Springs
Residence Inn Glenwood Springs
#8 of 23 in Glenwood Springs
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Mile Creek Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Mile Creek Bed and Breakfast

Property: Four Mile Creek Bed and Breakfast
Address: 6471 County Road 117, Glenwood Springs, CO 81601-4523
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Glenwood Springs
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Glenwood Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four Mile Creek Bed and Breakfast is located in a quiet valley near Glenwood Springs Colorado. Two rooms are available in the main house, two log cabins and a cabin attached to the barn are located nearby. The main house is the original headquarters of Four Mile Ranch, homesteaded in 1885. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing